10 Best Books Like Freakonomics Update 05/2022

Books Like Freakonomics

Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner’s best-selling book Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything was a revelation when it was published. As a result, it made economics accessible to a wide audience by applying it to interesting topics like drug dealing, baby names, and cheating partners. Since I first read Freakonomics, I’ve been on the lookout for more books that are as groundbreaking as this one.

If you’ve just finished Levitt & Dubner’s monumental Freakanomics, you may be wondering what other books you should read. This list of ten books that are similar to Freakonomics is sure to deliver!

Books Like Freakonomics

Superfreakonomics by Steven D.Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

Superfreakonomics by Steven D.Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

Those looking for more books like Freakonomics will be pleased to learn that Levitt and Dubner followed up their first book with Superfreakonomics: Global Cooling, Patriotic Prostitutes, and Why Suicide Bombers Should Buy Life Insurance a few years later.

As with Freakonomics, Superfreakonomics applies economic theory to a new set of issues.. Superfreakonomics is a fascinating book that holds its own against the original in terms of its examination of issues such as prostitution, gender fluidity, and terrorism.

Think Like a Freak: Secrets of the Rogue Economist explores Levitt and Dubner’s economic work in greater detail, so if you still can’t get enough of their work, make sure to check out Think Like a Freak: Secrets of the Rogue Economist.

Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell

A similar style to that of Freakonomics, Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers: The Story of Success aims to discover what motivates high achievers to outperform their peers. So, is it all down to chance?

Alternatively, is there a scientific explanation for why Bill Gates and the Beatles were able to accomplish what they did?

If you liked Levitt and Dubner’s work in Freakonomics, Outliers is a great book to read if you’re looking for more books like that.

Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

Daniel Kahneman’s Nobel Prize-winning work, Thinking Fast and Slow, explores how the human mind works and what biases exist when people make decisions. As a result, there is a lot of attention paid to the reasons why people make the decisions they do.

If you’re looking for a book like Freakonomics that goes into greater depth about various economic and psychological principles and how they apply in real life, I highly recommend Thinking Fast and Slow.

The Undercover Economist by Tim Harford

The Undercover Economist by Tim Harford

The book by Tim Harford, The Undercover Economist, that most closely resembles Freakonomics is The Undercover Economist.

This book, like Freakonomics, aims to shed light on the mysteries of the world through the lens of economic theory. Economic fundamentals are introduced through topics like health care, Starbucks coffee prices, and high rents in big cities covered by Harford.

The Undercover Economist is an excellent choice if you’re looking for a book that uses economics to shed light on more pressing issues, similar to Freakonomics.

Predictably Irrational by Dan Ariely

Irrational: The Hidden Factors That Shape Our Decisions Dan Ariely’s book, Behavioural Economics, takes a deep dive into behavioral economics.

This book, which has some similarities to Thinking Slow and Fast, investigates why people make irrational decisions. Core principles such as the impact of something being free, procrastination and emotions in decision-making are broken down by him in his writing.

I highly recommend Predictably Irrational to anyone interested in understanding why we make the decisions we do, despite our claims to be intelligent and rational people!

Fooled by Randomness by Nassim Nicholas Taleb

Nassim Nicholas Taleb: Fooled by Chance: The Hidden Role of Chance in Life and the Markets Author Nicholas Taleb delves into the mysterious world of chance and how humans are prone to mistaking chance for good judgment or their own efforts.

A reissue of a book originally published in 2005, the Global Financial Crisis of 2008 gave traders a false sense of security as markets rose and then crashed.

If you enjoyed Freakonomics and want to learn more about randomness and how it affects our daily lives, you should read Fooled by Randomness.

The Geography of Bliss by Eric Weiner

The Geography of Bliss by Eric Weiner is not a travel book, but it shares many similarities with the books on this list, despite not focusing solely on economic principles. This is despite the fact that Weiner doesn’t write about economics.

Weiner visits a number of countries in an attempt to determine why some people live happier lives than others. Bhutan, Switzerland, Iceland, and Moldova are just a few of the countries he visits on his travels.

Freakonomics and Weiner’s book share many similarities, so if you enjoy the Freakonomics books and are looking for an interesting travel book, Weiner’s book is worth a try.

Gang Leader for a Day by Sudhir Venkatesh

Gang Leader for a Day by Sudhir Venkatesh

Rogue Sociologist Sudhir Venkatesh’s Gang Leader for a Day provides a fascinating look into the world of drug traffickers and gangs. While researching a college paper about poverty, Venkatesh meets a drug dealer called JT who gives him access to his world of crack selling and allows him to delve deeper than any outsider previously has.

In Venkatesh’s book, you’ll learn a lot about what it’s like to live in a gang and how gangs use economic principles. While Freakonomics has touched on the subject of drug trafficking, Venkatesh has spent the better part of a decade immersed in it.

Moneyball by Michael Lewis

Michael Lewis’ book Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game recounts the history of baseball’s statistical revolution.

It’s safe to say that when Billy Beane was appointed head coach of the struggling Oakland A’s In contrast to many other teams in the league, where he had a smaller budget. Beane and his team shifted the focus of player selection from traditional scouting methods to a wide range of statistics.

After a long winning streak, Beane’s method was adopted by other major baseball teams.

In the movie adaptation, Beane is played by Brad Pitt and is a great choice for people who are looking for more Freakonomics books.

Soccernomics by Simon Kuper and Stefan Szymanski

Simon Kuper and Stefan Szymanski’s Soccernomics is a must-read for anyone who is interested in economics and has a deep passion for sports.

You’ll learn why some countries do well in soccer and others don’t, how FIFA is corrupt, and what happens psychologically in penalty shootouts.

The most recent edition of Soccernomics, published in 2018, includes information about the 2018 World Cup, such as Iceland’s triumph.

If you’ve finished Levitt and Dubner’s Freakonomics, you’ll be able to easily find a new great book to read in their place. Whatever your interests are, this list should provide some food for thought when it comes to furthering your knowledge in various fields such as economics and related subjects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.