12 Best Books Like Infinite Jest Update 05/2022

Books Like Infinite Jest

Infinite Jest is the best-known work by David Foster Wallace, an award-winning and accomplished author. One of the best novels of the 20th century, according to Time Magazine, this book covers a wide range of subjects including entertainment, addiction, family life, and sports. It’s easy to see why.

For those who want to read more books like Infinite Jest, we’ve got you covered! You’ve landed in the right spot.

Here are 12 books like Infinite Jest that will keep you riveted to the page until the end.

Check the price and add one to your shopping cart if you like any of these titles.

Infinite Jest Summary

David Foster Wallace’s 1996 book, Infinite Jest, is a masterpiece of literary prose. A large cast of recurring characters populates the story, most of whom are members of a bizarre tennis academy and the people who surround it. Infinite Jest, on the other hand, is frequently referred to as a post-modern allegory.

New Hampshire, New York City, and southern Quebec all feature prominently in Infinite Jest’s fictional Enfield Tennis Academy in a near-future North American version of the United States.

People in this future world are subject to “halflife,” a system in which they agree to give up all but fourteen hours of their waking hours in exchange for a steady IV drip of food and other necessities for a predetermined period of time. People who attend the Enfield Tennis Academy appear in the novel.

Infinite Jest was written by David Foster Wallace to be read as a single, immersive piece of literature, like Walt Disney’s Epcot Center in the future.

The novel examines how corporations use entertainment and consumerism to hypnotize the public into accepting a constantly shifting status quo, commenting on how people struggle with these forces.

Books Similar To Infinite Jest

I’ve compiled a list of 12 books similar to Infinite Jest by authors like David Foster Wallace or in the same genre. These books will appeal to fans of Infinite Jest.

Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West, by Cormac McCarthy

Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West, by Cormac McCarthy

The Kid, a fourteen-year-old from Tennessee, runs into Glanton’s gang of scalp hunters as they prepare to embark on a murderous journey through Texas and Mexico in Blood Meridian. These two years of his life in the mountains and on the plains are chronicled in the story.

During this time, he develops into an expert killer. A chilling account of how men can become desensitized to violence and death, even to murder is also presented in this book. In Blood Meridian, McCarthy has written one of his most ambitious novels ever.

Read 8 books that are similar to Blood Meridian

Gravity’s Rainbow, by Thomas Pynchon

Thomas Pynchon wrote Gravity’s Rainbow in 1973. The V-2 rocket that destroys Roger Mexico’s house early in the novel is referenced in the title.

During World War II, Benny Profane, a young American soldier, joins the Royal Navy in order to hunt down and kill Germans.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, by Hunter S. Thompson

Hunter S. Thompson’s classic novel Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas tells the story of Raoul Duke. For the Mint 400 motorcycle race, he and his attorney Dr. Gonzo (aka Samoan) fly out to Las Vegas. He is a journalist.

Because of their drug and alcohol abuse, the pair is arrested and put on probation.

Because it captures an era of American history so well, this book is widely regarded as one of Thompson’s best.

The Savage Detectives, by Roberto Bolaño

Roberto Bolao’s The Savage Detectives. The author of The Third Reich, Secret Agent, and Nazi Literature in the Americas has released a new novel.

Three teenage boys and a Mexican poet are the stars of this film, which follows their journey through Mexico. Cesárea Tinajero is the poet they are looking for.

During the 1960s, they were part of a group of left-wing guerrillas fighting the Mexican government. Throughout the story, we see how these young people deal with all of life’s ups and downs, including love, sex, drugs, and violence.

This is a book that is a lot like Infinite Jest because of the genre they both fall into.

The Crying of Lot 49, by Thomas Pynchon

The Crying of Lot 49, by Thomas Pynchon

Thomas Pynchon’s 1966 novel The Crying of Lot 49 is a post-modern novel. In this story, we follow young California housewife Oedipa Maas as she embarks on a quest to track down the owner of a long-lost postal stamp from the late 1800s.

The book explores themes such as paranoia, entropy, communication breakdowns, and alienation while incorporating elements of detective fiction, historical fiction, postmodernist prose, and science fiction.

Pale Fire, by Vladimir Nabokov

Volodymyr Nabokov’s 1962 novel “Pale Fire” is the subject of this article. John Shade wrote a poem about the death of King Zog of Albania and Charles Kinbote, an editor and scholar, believes that it foretells Shade’s own death.

Among the novel’s many features is Kinbote’s interpretation of “Pale Fire,” which he attributes to John Shade. Notes written in Kinbote’s invented language, Zemblan, are scattered throughout these two stories. On this list, you’ll find some of the best books like Infinite Jest.

Underworld, by Don DeLillo

In this gripping, darkly comic novel, a college dropout finds himself on the verge of becoming a terrorist after a series of unfortunate events.

At an upstate New York liberal arts college in the fall of 2001, a disillusioned young man named Colin joins a group of students plotting a mass terrorist attack. David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest is one of the best books ever written, and this is one of the best.

V. by Thomas Pynchon

Thomas Pynchon wrote the 1963 novel V. According to critics, the novel is a masterpiece of twentieth-century literature. the late 1950s and the early 1960s in and around New York City.

Benny Profane, an unemployed ex-serviceman who becomes entangled in a massive conspiracy involving V., the woman he loves, and Herbert Stencil, a man with obsessions that take him around the world.

Mason & Dixon, by Thomas Pynchon

Mason & Dixon, by Thomas Pynchon

Postmodern novel Mason & Dixon by American author Thomas Pynchon, which was released in 1997. A nod to the surveyors of the 18th century who drew the Mason–Dixon line between Maryland and Pennsylvania is made in the title of this book.

Mason & Dixon tells the story of two astronomers, Charles Mason and Jeremiah Dixon, who were hired to settle a boundary dispute between Pennsylvania and Maryland during the French and Indian War (the Seven Years’ War). Infinite Jest is one of the books that are similar to this one.

The Corrections, by Jonathan Franzen

The Corrections, by Franzen, is a three-generational story about the Lambert family.

Each generation has its own set of problems and issues to deal with as they try to maintain their own sense of identity, Franzen explains. In 2001, Franzen was awarded the National Book Award for Fiction for his work.

The Recognitions, by William Gaddis

The Recognitions, by William Gaddis

This novel about forgery, fraud, and a search for artistic authenticity is truly remarkable. Love and hate, art and religion, money and power all play a role in this story set in the contemporary art world, which makes it all the more fascinating.

Wyatt Gwyon, a minister in an unnamed New England town, is the focus of the story. When he gets involved with two other men who share his enthusiasm for fabricating religious artifacts—and their desire to create one final masterpiece—his past comes back to haunt him.

If you enjoyed Infinite Jest, this is a must-read.

Inherent Vice, by Thomas Pynchon

Thomas Pynchon’s Inherent Vice is a 2009 novel. Investigating the disappearance of his ex-girlfriend Shasta Fay Hepworth, private investigator Doc Sportello uncovers corruption at all levels of society, from the police to real estate.

Final Words:

They were as enjoyable for us as they were for us. If you’re looking for a new book to read, we’ve got your back.

Take a look at Amazon prices before buying any of these 12 best books like Infinite Jest if the cost is a deterrent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.