15 Best Books Like Atlas Shrugged Update 05/2022

Books Like Atlas Shrugged

Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged is often compared to a slew of other works.

If you’re an avid bookworm who enjoys stories with a similar tone and theme, I’ve compiled a list of 16 titles that you should check out.

Novels from the 20th century, as well as those that made the New York Times Best Sellers list, offer a unique perspective on contemporary society.

It’s my hope that this blog post will help you discover some new authors and books that you’ve never heard of!

It also includes summaries of each book so that readers can decide whether or not they want to read it for themselves before purchasing it.

Atlas Shrugged Summary

Creative thinkers, scientists, and artists go on strike and flee to an isolated mountaintop hideaway to build their own free economy. This is depicted in the dystopian novel “Atlas Shrugged.”

Man’s existence is defined by his thoughts and feelings. This is the perfect time to read a book that wants to get into your head and shake things up a little bit while you’re sitting at work daydreaming about everything under the sun.

One man named John Galt leads a small group in Ayn Rand’s epic philosophical fantasy to save the world from a top-heavy government bureaucracy and a strangling social system in the epic philosophical fantasy of Ayn Rand.

John Galt is the protagonist of Rand’s novel, which she wrote as an implicit rebuke of Karl Marx’s economic ideas.

No matter your level of education or interest in philosophy, Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand is a must-read for anyone who wants to gain a better understanding of human nature and the world we live in. Why don’t we find out.

More Books Like Atlas Shrugged

Here are 15 books that are either similar in genre to Atlas Shrugged or written by authors who are influenced by Ayn Rand.

Objectivism: The Philosophy of Ayn Rand, by Leonard Peikoff

Objectivism The Philosophy of Ayn Rand, by Leonard Peikoff

Objectivism: The Philosophy of Ayn Rand by Leonard Peikoff is a comprehensive introduction to Ayn Rand’s philosophy that has been a source of inspiration for many.

It is in this book that Peikoff lays out the core ideas of objectivism—the philosophy that holds life and reason to be the only standards of value and truth.

Objective philosophy differs from other philosophies, why it is relevant to us today, and how we can live our lives in accordance with these beliefs.

The author of Atlas Shrugged, ‘Ayn Rand,’ is the subject of this must-read book like Atlas Shrugged.

I, The Jury by Mickey Spillane

Mickey Spillane’s novel, I, the Jury, is based on a true story about a criminal trial. In 1954, Fawcett Publications published it in hardcover for the first time.

As Mickey Spillane’s debut novel, it cemented his reputation as the first author to write about a tough-guy private eye. He created one of the most enduring characters in crime fiction in Mike Hammer in this book.

The story of a man on trial for his life is told in a gripping courtroom thriller. In the event he is sentenced to death, he vows revenge on the jurors who he believes let him down. Our hero races against the clock to find out who is responsible for the deaths of the jurors so that he can stop them before they reach him.

I, The Jury, which was published more than 60 years ago, is still one of the most popular and influential crime novels ever written.

This is one of the classic books that might interest you in the same way that Atlas Shrugged did. As a result, I’ve included it on this list.

The Road to Serfdom, by Friedrich A. Hayek

Among Friedrich Hayek’s best-known works is The Road to Serfdom, which examines the rise of totalitarianism during the interwar period. The University of Chicago Press published it in 1944.

During World War II, Austrian School economist Ludwig von Mises (1881–1973) developed the concept of the “road to serfdom” (der Weg zur Sklaverei).

Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley

Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley

Dystopian fiction can be found in Aldous Huxley’s novel Brave New World. There have been numerous adaptations for film, radio, and television since it was first published in 1932.

Dehumanization, social stratification, and psychological manipulation are major concerns in the book.

After a director at Hatcheries and Conditioning decides to try out sleep learning and hypnopaedia, everything begins to take shape (the art of learning while asleep).

When this happens children are raised to be content with their status as second-class citizens from an early age.

“Hatcheries” in Brave New World are places where citizens are genetically engineered to be physically perfect specimens lacking any emotions or feelings that would interfere with their roles in society.

People in the “World State,” a man-made environment, have jobs that keep society running smoothly.

Check out these ten dystopian novels that are similar to Brave New World.

1984, by George Orwell

The dystopian novel 1984, written by George Orwell and published in 1949, is a classic. Rather than taking place in Great Britain, which is now a province of Airstrip One, the action takes place in London, the city that serves as the capital of Oceania.

The main character, Winston Smith, lives in London in 1984 under the control of a totalitarian government that monitors his every movement.

The fact that Winston knows they are lying to him about their true intentions has turned him against this government and everything it stands for.

Winston is ultimately compelled to betray Julia in order to demonstrate his unwavering love and devotion to Big Brother.

You should read this book if you want to learn more about authors like Ayn Rand.

The Law, by Frédéric Bastiat

François Bastiat’s The Law: The Law, an essay on political economy published in 1850, is considered one of the most influential and significant works of its kind.

All government systems are subject to what Bastiat called “the legal plunder,” and this book takes aim at that practice.

Catch-22, by Joseph Heller

Catch-22, by Joseph Heller

The unsolvable logic puzzle known as a “double bind” is sometimes referred to as a “catch-22” in English.

During World War II, Joseph Heller writes a satirical novel titled The Catch-22. While serving as a B-25 bombardier stationed off the coast of Italy with the U.S. Army Air Corps, Captain John Yossarian must balance his moral obligation to avoid killing people with his military obligation.

Crime and Punishment, by Fyodor Dostoevsky

In Crime and Punishment, a work by Fyodor Dostoevsky, readers will find themselves in the fictional Russian country. Russian Messenger published it in twelve monthly installments beginning in 1866.

Single-volume editions were later issued. As a major work of existentialist literature, Thomas Mann’s Crime and Punishment is widely regarded as a masterpiece.

We follow Rodion Raskolnikov’s story as an impoverished St. Petersburg pawnbroker assassination plan is carried out by the poor ex-student.

Raskolnikov claims that by using the pawnbroker’s money, he will “redeem” his sin by doing good deeds in order to balance out the bad.

Definitely, Crime and Punishment is one of the best-known classics, alongside Atlas Shrugged.

The Old Man and the Sea, by Ernest Hemingway

Ernest Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea is set in the Gulf Stream off the coast of Cuba.

Old Cuban fisherman struggles for days to catch fish while a younger man hooks and lands a giant swordfish that is as long as his boat, all on the same day in the story.

In 1953, the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel was published.

The Art of War, by Sun Tzu

The Art of War, by Sun Tzu

The Art of War is one of the oldest and most important military texts ever written. Leaders such as Mao Zedong and General Vo Nguyen Giap relied on this strategy guide written thousands of years ago.

Animal Farm, by George Orwell

From the point of view of farm animals, George Orwell’s Animal Farm is a novel that chronicles the Russian Revolution. Several films and stage plays have been adapted from the original 1945 publication.

Written during the Second World War, the book was about animals who revolt against their human owners and form an idyllic society in which all animals are treated equally.

Book of the Karamazov Brothers, written by Fyodor Dostojksy

Fyodor Dostoevsky’s novel The Brothers Karamazov: At the end of the nineteenth century, an unjustified murder took place in a small Russian town.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky is the author of this novel. Fyodor Pavlovich Karamazov’s murder serves as a major inspiration for this work, which, along with Crime and Punishment (1866) and The Idiot (1904), is one of his most well-known works (1869).

The Ethics of Liberty, by Murray N. Rothbard

“Anarcho-capitalism,” or “natural order” anarchism, is the political philosophy espoused by American economist and social theorist Murray N. Rothbard in his 1982 book The Ethics of Liberty.

Human Events Associates published the book in 1982, and Fox & Wilkes reissued it in 1991 as part of their Modern Classics series. Spanish, French, and Russian versions are available.

Some of the ideas in this book have parallels to those in Atlas Shrugged, which I find interesting.

Captain Blood: His Odyssey, by Rafael Sabatini

Captain Blood His Odyssey, by Rafael Sabatini

Adventure, romance, and betrayal in the turbulent 17th century are all featured in this classic tale.

He rises from poverty to command a pirate ship and lead an audacious campaign against the mighty Spanish Empire in Captain Blood’s story.

12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos, by Jordan B. Peterson

Psychiatrist, cultural critic and former Harvard professor Jordan B. Peterson is a public intellectual. For the most part, he is interested in the psychology of belief and how it affects people’s daily lives.

Nearly a hundred scientific papers and more than twenty books have been written or co-authored by him, including Maps of Meaning: The Architecture of Belief (1999), A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age (2004), and 12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos (2005). (2018).

The subject matter of his book, on the other hand, is how to live a meaningful existence. It’s about the lessons we can take away from our mistakes.

Being aware of what doesn’t work and knowing that you don’t know much else is the key to success. In other words, if you want to learn how to live well, reading this book will be beneficial to you.

Slaughterhouse-Five, by Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

Any bibliophile should read Kurt Vonnegut Jr.’s Slaughterhouse-Five. And it’s an antiwar novel about an American soldier named Billy Pilgrim who finds himself “unstuck in time,” making it one of the most unusual war novels ever written.

As a prisoner of war, Pilgrim witnesses the Dresden firebombing from afar, and the story shifts back and forth between these two events. Definitely one of the “books like Atlas Shrugged” that you should read.

Final Words:

All of the books listed here are well worth your time. An interesting storyline or an alternative perspective on life will keep you reading.

Atlas Shrugged, the best-selling novel of 1970, and a number of other classics are included in this list of “must-read” books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.