8 Best Books Like Eragon Update 05/2022

It has been more than a decade since the debut of Christopher Paolini’s fantasy quadrilogy. To find a similar drink, where should you go? Trying to decide which fantasy book to read next isn’t an easy task. So we’ve done the hard work for you. Please check out our list of fiery books if you enjoyed Eragon.

1. The Fork, The Witch, and the Worm, by Christopher Paolini

The Tales of Alagasia series began in 2018 with this collection of three short stories. The stories follow Eragon and his companions as they build a new home for the Dragon Riders, with a mix of new and familiar characters. Many fans were disappointed by the short length of this much-anticipated project, but if you care about Paolini’s characters and want to know how they’re doing, pick up a copy of The Fork, The Witch, and The Worm.

2. Ezaara: Riders of Fire, by Aileen Mueller

Dragon fans of all ages will find this story enthralling and engrossing. Ezaara is a fantasy coming-of-age tale about a young healer who is both naive and competitive. Ezaara forms a close bond with Zaarusha, the Dragon Queen, after being kidnapped. She is thrown into the thick of a political nightmare as her chosen rider. Ezaara soon discovers she has more ties to her new home than she realizes, despite her upbringing in the remote and superstitious backwater of Lush Valley.

Two-time winner of New Zealand’s Sir Julius Vogel Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy, Ezaara combines betrayal, political intrigue, and monsters in an enticing combination. In order for Ezaara to succeed, she must take control of her own destiny, and she will charm you and keep you engrossed in her thrilling story until the very end.

3. The Last Wish, by Andrzej Sapkowski

Geralt of Rivia, an assassin, outcast, and freak, is the enigmatic and potent natural force responsible for slaying the forest’s monsters. As the White Wolf, Geralt sets out on horseback to avoid human intrigue… until he inevitably gets caught in the crosshairs.

Henry Cavill’s character Henry Cavill stars in the multi-award winning video game and Netflix series, The Last Wish, which is part of the Witcher series. Dark and intricate, Sapkowski’s universe is awash in silver swords, savage sorcery, and feuds. This fantastic mix of brooding characters and angry ones proves time and again that true monsters often hide behind fair faces. The Last Wish serves as an excellent introduction to the world of The Witcher, offering a fresh perspective on morality and monsters.

4. The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkein

Since Tolkein’s Lord of the Rings, countless other fantasy authors have drawn inspiration from it. This timeless fantasy classic, in print since 1937, is a must-have for any fan of the genre.

The Hobbit tells the story of a hobbit named Bilbo Baggins, who is content with his quiet existence and has no desire to venture out into the world. Bilbo’s life is forever changed when Gandalf, a tall wizard, and a band of hungry dwarfs arrive at his door and demand his services as a burglar. Despite being a children’s tale, Bilbo Baggins’ perilous quest to find a legendary dragon’s hoard of riches continues to captivate readers today.

5. His Majesty’s Dragon, by Naomi Novik

Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series may be just what you’re looking for if you’re a fan of dragons in a less traditional setting. During the Napoleonic Wars, Captain William Laurence and his dragon, His Majesty’s Dragon, embark on a world tour. Laurence, who has been at sea since the age of 12, has risen through the ranks of the Royal Navy, gained the respect of society, and won the hand of a stunning fiancée. However, as the conflict worsens, Laurence seizes a French ship whose cargo includes an unexpected surprise: a hatchling dragon. It has the potential to turn their fortunes around if properly trained, but Laurence’s entire career will be on the line.

Novik has wowed readers such as Stephen King and Peter Jackson with her alternate take on military history in HMD. Sentient dragons and ships make for an interesting combination, but the book’s real heart lies in the relationship between a naive dragon and its proud rider.

6. A Natural History of Dragons, by Marie Brennan

As a pioneering spirit, Lady Isabella Trent risked her reputation and fragile body to satisfy her scientific curiosity. One of history’s most revered figures was once an avid bibliophile who defied convention to pursue an idea that would change the world.

The narrator’s wit and sarcasm make this book hilarious and truly extraordinary, avoiding the melodrama of books set in the Victorian era. Lady Trent’s memoir, which features stunning illustrations, not only challenges gender stereotypes but also offers a rare scientific perspective on dragons. Described by Christopher Paolini as “superb in every respect,” Marie Brennan’s sci-fi/fantasy novel has elevated her to the top ranks of the genre.

7. The Rage of Dragons, by Evan Winter

Evan Winter’s novel, which was included in Time Magazine’s list of the 100 greatest fantasy novels of all time, sets a high bar for aspiring authors. For centuries, the characters in Zulu-inspired fantasy The Rage of Dragons have been trapped in an unwinnable war. Dragons can be summoned by some Omehi people, while others have the ability to transform into even more terrifying creatures. Everyone else is nothing more than a sandbag.

Tau Tafari’s dreams of a better life are dashed when the people he cares about are brutally murdered. After that, he is consumed by rage. Tau is prepared to die a thousand times in order to become the greatest swordsman who has ever lived. It’s a tragic tale, but one that moves quickly and unexpectedly. Fellow author David Dalglish called Winter’s novel “a visceral and bloody masterpiece,” and it will leave you breathless.

8. A Game of Thrones, by George R.R. Martin

If you haven’t heard of A Game of Thrones, you must be living under a rock. George R.R. Martin’s series has sold millions of copies worldwide and is widely regarded as one of the greatest fantasy epics of our time. Trouble is brewing in a land where summers can last for decades and winters can last for a generation. As the seven kingdoms are fought over in Martin’s epic, several courts are depicted as they compete for power. Apocalyptic events are unfolding beyond the northern wall of civilization as the wheel of fortune spins.

You won’t want to miss out on Martin’s political tensions, sex, and murder plot twists, which will leave you reeling. Deathly enemies must band together in the face of ominous prophecies, and the novel’s characters are nuanced and unique.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.