8 Best Books Like Lonesome Dove Update 05/2022

Books Like Lonesome Dove

Choosing the right book can be a challenge for anyone who enjoys reading.

These eight books are a must-read for fans of Lonesome Dove. Each one of them is a classic, and they all have the same Western feel as Larry McMurtry’s masterpiece So mount your steed and prepare for some old-fashioned exploration!

Make sure to check out “Books Like Lonesome Dove” and add one of these books to your cart if you’re interested.

Lonesome Dove Summary

In 1989, an epic novel that would captivate the nation was released. Augustus McCrae and Woodrow Call, two ex-Texas Rangers, set out from Austin on a cattle drive to the Montana Territory in Larry McMurtry’s Lonesome Dove.

Adventure, romance, and suspense abound as the men cross rivers, evade outlaws, and encounter all manner of perils. As a fan of westerns or a fan of good stories, Lonesome Dove is a must-read. Because it’s one of the all-time greats,

Books Similar To Lonesome Dove

Lonesome Dove-related books by authors like Larry McMurtry and others, as well as books that follow a similar plot line, are included in this list.

Shōgun, By James Clavell

Shōgun, By James Clavell

John Blackthorne, an English sailor who was shipwrecked in feudal Japan, is the focus of the story. Throughout this novel, Clavell paints an accurate picture of Japanese culture at the time, including various rituals, customs, and traditions.

Blackthorne’s interactions with people from a variety of backgrounds help the reader learn more about Japanese culture. Toranaga’s side and Ishido’s side are warring factions, and he must deal with the political upheaval that results from their conflict.

For those who enjoy historical fiction novels, Shgun is a must-read because you won’t be able to learn about many aspects of Japanese society otherwise.

It is recommended that you read seven historical novels, such as Shogun.

True Grit, By Charles Portis

Mattie Ross, a fourteen-year-old girl in the novel True Grit, sets out on a mission to catch the killer of her father. She encounters numerous obstacles that test her bravery and willingness to take risks as she moves forward.

Download an audiobook for 30 days for free with Audible or sign up for Kindle Unlimited and download unlimited books for 30 days to see if you like it.

Unique dialect, humor and memorable characters challenge the reader in this omniscient third-person narrative. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading Lonesome Dove.

Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West, By Cormac McCarthy

Cormac McCarthy wrote the novel “Blood Meridian or the Evening Redness in the West.” Originally published in 1985, the book was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1986.

Scalpers who hunt Apache and Mexican bandits are the focus of the story, which centers on 17-year-old John Grady Cole. McCarthy’s “Blood Meridian” is widely regarded as one of his finest works.

Several reviewers have lauded the book’s dark and bloody tone, as well as its poetic language. “Blood Meridian” is a must-read if you’re looking for something intense to read.

This is, without a doubt, one of the must-read Lonesome Dove-style westerns on this list…

Take the time to read eight westerns, such as Blood Meridian.

The Thorn Birds, By Colleen McCullough

The Thorn Birds, By Colleen McCullough

From 1920 to 1961, Colleen McCullough chronicles the Cleary family’s life in Australia with her novel The Thorn Birds. The book was released in 1977 and was a popular choice for readers around the world. Both a miniseries and a feature film have been produced.

From beginning to end, The Thorn Birds is an epic tale of love and betrayal that will keep you riveted. The Thorn Birds is an engrossing read if you’re looking for something to keep you up at night. You won’t be sorry!

Roots: The Saga of an American Family, By Alex Haley

Even if they haven’t read Alex Haley’s Roots: The Saga of an American Family, many people are familiar with the book’s story.

The book was adapted into a miniseries, which was a huge hit and is still remembered today. However, few people realize that Haley drew inspiration for his book from his own family history.

A slave from Africa who was brought to America and enslaved is the subject of Roots, a film that tells the story of Kunta Kinte. A riveting tale that will stay with you long after the final page is turned.

Centennial, By James A. Michener

In “Centennial,” the second-largest state in the U.S. chronicles its history since its declaration of independence as an independent republic in 1836.

As their homeland undergoes rapid transformation, the book chronicles the lives of a diverse cast of characters who come from all walks of life.

NBC turned the novel Centennial into a miniseries in 1978 after it was published on September 1st, 1974 and spent over two years on the New York Times bestseller list.

Not only is it regarded as a monumental historical novel, but it also captures a great deal of what it means to call the United States “home.”

East of Eden, By John Steinbeck

East of Eden, By John Steinbeck

East of Eden by John Steinbeck is one of the most lauded works of literature of all time. There are two families in this novel, one of which is Trask, and the other of which is Hamilton. The story revolves around their battles for power and dominance.

Love, hate, war, peace, and so much more can be found in this book. This is a must-read if you’re a literary fan or just looking for a great book to read.

No Country for Old Men, By Cormac McCarthy

Cormac McCarthy tells the tale of a man on a treasure hunt in “No Country for Old Men.” Llewelyn Moss, the protagonist, discovers this treasure and must then decide what to do with it.

In the course of his journey, he encounters a number of difficulties that have put him in trouble. Like Lonesome Dove, this is a classic that will keep you spellbound until the very last page.

Final Words:

With so many books on the market, it can be difficult to find a good one. This is why The Price has come up with an eight-book recommendation list for fans of Lonesome Dove.

Take a look around and see if there’s anything that piques your interest. Our blog is constantly updated with new book recommendations, so keep an eye out for new posts. Prepare some reading material for your leisure time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.