9 Best Books Like Mortal Instruments Update 05/2022

Books Like Mortal Instruments

Worldwide, the Mortal Instruments series is a must-read for teen readers. Clary Fray’s journey into a world of demons and angels, which stays just beyond the reach of the average person, has enthralled millions. Shadowhunters, the Netflix TV series based on the book series, has become so well-known that you may recognize it. Despite the show’s cancellation, Cassandra Clare’s books have been devoured by fans since. If you’ve finished Clare’s trilogy, what additional books are there to read?

Books like The Mortal Instruments

Battle Angel Alita, by Yukito Kishiro

Battle Angel Alita, by Yukito Kishiro

It’s a pleasure to read books like City of Bones that don’t always reveal what’s going to happen to the reader. Alita’s creator Kishiro eloquently challenges our understanding of the difference between human and artificial intelligence (AI).

The story revolves around a cybernetic doctor who discovers a cyborg’s head in a landfill. Alita, now armed with formidable fighting skills, is eager to learn more about her origins as he rebuilds her.

Battle Angel Alita, although being a visual novel, is well worth reading. Alita, like Clary Fray, is on a quest to figure out who she is and what she’s here to do.

Orpheum, by D.S. Murphy

A character who gains access to hitherto unimaginable abilities? Check. Like the Mortal Instruments series, Orpheum takes a look at the darker aspects of fantasy.

With the combination of Greek mythology and fantasy, Samantha’s story is likely to pull readers in as she realizes that her musical abilities may be used to harm and kill others.

Despite her many flaws, Samantha is a fascinating character. The violinist realizes that the music school where she’s been enrolled intends to use her talent for darker reasons, so she turns to the dark side.

Anyone who like The Mortal Instruments will enjoy Orpheum.

The Empress Game, by Rhonda Mason

Books like City of Bones relish the opportunity to build suspense from the very beginning of the narrative. The Empress Game does a great job with this.

The Council of Seven, the top ruling council of the Sakien Empire across the galaxy, has an opening. In order to win, one must participate in a ritualized fighting tournament.

Kayla Reinumion, a seasoned fighter who has been assigned by a stranger to battle it out in the arena, is one of many women of the empire who will stop at nothing to win political dominance for their worlds.

This novel goes beyond the standard YA cliches and throws spies, conspiracies, political intrigue, romance, bloodshed and more at the reader while plagues and occupations are going on in the background.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone, by Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and Bone, by Laini Taylor

The Mortal Instruments and other books like it typically incorporate religious imagery and tales to give their narrative a magical feel that many readers enjoy. In Daughter of Smoke and Bone, angels and other supernatural beings coexist in a way that seems impossible.

When it comes to your favorite characters, Karou and Akiva will be your go-tos, and their relationship is one you’ll want to keep an eye on. As Karou discovers that the creatures she’s been drawing in her notebook may be real, the plot is compelling enough to keep you reading.

The fact that she is also fluent in languages from other planets is a wonderful nod to a hero who has yet to realize the full extent of her ability. It’s safe to say that anyone who enjoyed City of Bones will fall head over heels in love with Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

Certain Dark Things, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

When an apparently ordinary character is thrown into a fantasy world alongside our own, books like City of Bones relish the opportunity. This is a skill that Certain Dark Things have in spades.

Atl, a gorgeous and intelligent Aztec blood drinker, has arrived in Mexico City, a city rife with vampires, as Domingo soon discovers. A rival clan is after Atl, but Domingo may be the human she needs to help her survive.

Vampires, cops, criminals, and other shady characters collide in Mexico City on an exhilarating and engrossing ride. If you’re a fan of the Mortal Instruments series, this is a must-read.

Her Dark Destiny, by Dave Ferraro

Even though Shanna Hunt isn’t as well-known as Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Ferraro’s portrayal of her is compelling enough to hold your interest. Unlike books like The Mortal Instruments, Her Dark Destiny has a female protagonist at its heart.

Unlike Buffy, Shanna is a demon hunter who is out for vengeance. As a result of the deaths of her parents, she has spent her life searching for the demons that killed them. She is accustomed to operating alone but is pushed into a group of hunters.

It is obvious that they must work together if they are to survive in this situation.

Hush, Hush, by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush, by Becca Fitzpatrick

Angels have been a popular theme in the YA market for a long time. It’s not necessarily a bad thing that books like City of Bones employ them so frequently. Nora Grey, the protagonist of Hush, Hush, resembles Bella Swan more than Shanna Hunt.

For those who enjoy reading about the supernatural, this book is a must-read. Not only does Nora find herself entangled in the eternal war between fallen angels and their still-alive counterparts, but she also finds herself in love with an angel herself.

If you were swooning over the romance in The Mortal Instruments, you’ll love Hush, Hush.

Have you already read and enjoyed this book? Consider some of the titles on this list of books that are similar to Hush, Hush.

The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater

Friendships that aren’t working meet their maker in the hereafter. Those were my initial thoughts after finishing The Raven Boys. When it comes to death, books like The Mortal Instruments don’t mess around, and this book is no exception.

In the churchyard, Blue Sargent stands beside her clairvoyant mother as the departed walk by. They are invisible to Blue until a young man named Gansey emerges from the shadows. Gansey is a Raven Boy from the exclusive private school Aglionby.

With each passing day, Blue begins to question whether or not what she has been taught about making a real love die is true.

When it comes to magical romance, this book is for you.

Maximum Ride, by James Patterson

In spite of the book jacket’s claim to be a thriller, Maximum Ride is more like The Mortal Instruments in its use of supernatural motifs and gently shifting the reader’s perceptions. They are a group of six children that have no relatives or homes.

Max Ride, the protagonist of the story, is able to fly like her buddies. That’s only the beginning of their abilities, and they’re curious as to whether or not they’re here to help or destroy humanity. A pleasant surprise awaits those who expect Maximum Ride to disclose that Max and her buddies are the same creatures we’ve already explored.

Maximum Ride combines elements of Harry Potter’s good against evil conflict with Ender Wiggins’ belief in a predetermined fate from Ender’s Game. If you liked City of Bones, you’ll appreciate this one because it’s fast, fun, and fierce.

Fantasy, romance, and the paranormal all come together in books like The Mortal Instruments, which are sure to have you turning the pages. At least one of the titles we’ve selected will keep you occupied if City of Bones was your favorite.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.