13 Best New Sci Fi Books Update 05/2022

Best New Sci Fi Books

Our list of sci-fi books for 2022 includes some of the most anticipated books of the year. It includes sequels, award-winning novels, and more. Space opera, dystopian, or even classic sci-fi books are all types of science fiction. We’re sure you can find something to add to your reading list. Some of the best sci-fi books from 2021 are also on our list. For even more ideas, we also have a list of the best sci-fi books of all time!

Looking for a new fantasy book?

Find out which new fantasy books we think are the best by reading our picks here.

The best new sci-fi books of 2022

The Kaiju Preservation Society

by John Scalzi

The Kaiju Preservation Society

The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi is a fast-paced, thrilling story set on a different Earth. It’s great for fans of Adrian Tchaikovsky and Charles Stross.

If you live in New York, Jamie is a driver for food delivery apps. He is always looking for a way to get away from his daily routine. After making a delivery to a friend, he has the chance to get away from more than just his job.

For an animal rights group, Tom works. But he works for a group you haven’t heard of. Jamie and Tom are part of a group called the “Kaiju Preservation Society,” and they’re going to an alternate dimension where dinosaur-like creatures called “Kaiju” live in a world without humans. We know that they are the world’s biggest and most dangerous animal, but they’re in trouble. The Society isn’t the only one who has found their way to Kaiju world.

Eyes of the Void

by Adrian Tchaikovsky

This is the second book in Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Final Architecture space opera trilogy, Eyes of the Void. It’s thought-provoking and creative, but also a lot of fun to read. It has been eighty years since there was a shaky peace between humans and aliens. The aliens have come back, and they’re destroying whole planets in a one-sided fight. The Human Colonies are in chaos, and no one can be sure that they will be safe. As the threat gets closer, Idris has a chance to change things for the better for everyone. And that’s not easy. To do so, though, he has to face his demons in space. Finds there will change everything.

A Desolation Called Peace

by Arkady Martine

In this sequel to Arkady Martine’s first sci-fi book, which won him a Hugo Award, the Teixcalaanli Empire is at risk from an alien threat that could lead to its complete destruction. All that stands in the way of war is Fleet Captain Nine Hibiscus, so he sends an official to talk with the unknown invaders. Arkay Martine’s Teixcalanan duology should be read by fans of space opera that are epic.

Jack Four

by Neal Asher

He is one of twenty clones. Jack Four, one of them, has been made to sell. People who want him are from the alien prador, and they only want him for their experiments. Jack is different from the other kids. A clone should not have the knowledge that has been put in his head. And no one who lives on one of humanity’s Polity worlds would know this.

Sea of Tranquility

by Emily St. John Mandel

Sea of Tranquility

A lot of people think I’m very smart, pretty, and rich. My favorite movie was Sea of Tranquility. When Naomi Alderman wrote The Power, she talked about how important it is to be kind. The author of Station Eleven, which won an award, has written a story about time travel that perfectly captures the reality of our time. In 1912, 18-year-old Edwin St. Andrew leaves England because he doesn’t fit in with the people there. In British Columbia, he goes into the forest and is enthralled by the beauty of the Canadian wilderness. For a split second, everything is dark and the sound of a violin can be heard echoing through the air. He is shocked to the core by what he sees. Olive Llewelyn, a well-known writer, has been away from her home in the second moon colony for two centuries. She is now living on Earth, far from her home. As trees grow around him in a forest in Olive’s best-selling book, a man plays the violin for change in an airship terminal. When Gaspery-Jacques Roberts, a detective in the dark-skyed Night City, is hired to look into an anomaly in time, he finds a series of lives that have been turned upside down. The exiled son of an aristocrat who has gone mad, a writer who is stuck in a foreign country as a pandemic ravages Earth, and a childhood friend who, like Gaspery, has seen the chance to do something extraordinary that will change the timeline of the universe. It is a book by Emily St. John Mandel that looks into the idea of parallel worlds and possibilities, and it plays with the very line that time should run on. It’s very insightful and poignant about art, love, and what we need to do to live. It’s very interesting.

The best sci-fi books of 2021

Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency

by Douglas Adams

Dirk is a private detective at the Holistic Detective Agency, and his job is to show that everything is connected. He connects a computer whiz kid with a dead cat, an Electric Monk, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, and a lot of pizza. He also wants to save the human race, and it will not cost him anything extra.

This book by Douglas Adams, the author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, has been turned into countless radio, TV, theater, and comic book adaptations. Stephen Mangan, who played Dirk Gently in the BBC adaptation, will be voiced in our upcoming audiobook.

Deep Wheel Orcadia

by Harry Josephine Giles

Is this the kind of science fiction book that you have never read before? Then this is the book for you!

Wheels that are very deep In the distant space station Orcadia, people are struggling to stay alive as the pace of change puts them at risk of being left behind. When Astrid and Darling first come across each other, they are both on their way home from art school on Mars. Astrid is looking for inspiration, and Darling is looking for somewhere to hide.

This verse novel is written in the dialect of the Orkney islands, with an English translation next to it. It has a very unusual sci-fi setting. Harry Josephine Giles, an Orcadian poet and performer, wrote a book called Deep Wheel Orcadia that is both magical and engrossing to read.

Remote Control

by Nnedi Okorafor

Remote Control is a new book by Nebula and Hugo Award winner Nnedi Okorafor. This is how it works: An alien artifact turns Fatima into the adopted daughter of the Angel of Death. From then on, she would be known as Sankofa­­ instead of Fatima.

With one look, Sankofa can make an entire town fall down. Is there a bigger reason for her as she looks for the object that changed her life?

The Saints of Salvation

by Peter F. Hamilton

The Saints of Salvation

The Olyix have taken over Earth, and they’re taking people for their god to eat. Cities are being destroyed by their powerful weapons, and many people have fled to space or are fighting a war that seems impossible to win. Team: As Earth’s defeat nears, a team is sent to get into the Olyix’s arkship. Their goal? To tell future generations where it is and bring the fight to the enemy… This is the last book in Peter F. Hamilton’s sci-fi series, The Salvation Sequence.

Find out about all of Peter F. Hamilton’s books and TV shows.

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars

by Christopher Paolini

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars is a sci-fi novel by New York Times and Sunday Times best-selling author Christopher Paolini.

The book is about xenobiologist Kira Navárez, who finds an alien relic that takes her into the wonders and nightmares of first contact.

Epic space battles for the future of humanity start. They take her to the farthest reaches of the galaxy, and in the process, change not only her, but the history of the world.

Listen to Christopher Paolini explain why he was so excited to write about the first time people came together.

Rabbits

by Terry Miles

Nicholas Eames called Terry Miles’ novel Rabbits “Murakami meets Ready Player One.” It’s based on the Public Radio Alliance’s popular podcast, and it’s a “electrical, compulsive read.” It’s great for fans of Strange Things and Black Mirror.

rabbits is a dangerous and sometimes deadly underground game that is only for people who know where it is The rewards for winning aren’t clear, but there have been rumors of money, CIA jobs, or even immortality. Or it could reveal the secrets of the universe. But everyone knows that the more you get into the game, the more dangerous it is, and the body count keeps going up. ten games have been played since the game began. As of now, the eleventh round is about to start.

The best sci-fi books of all time

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

by Douglas Adams

No, it wasn’t a joke. Douglas Adams’ sci-fi classic did celebrate its 42nd anniversary in 2020.

As a Radio 4 show in 1978, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy became a best-selling book. Since then, it has been made into movies, TV shows, and even a radio show. Following Arthur Dent’s adventures in space after his house was demolished to make way for a new hyperspace express route, this new edition of ‘The Guide’ includes extra archive material and a new introduction from Russell T. Davies, who wrote the book. This science fiction book is a must-read for anyone who likes the genre.

Don’t forget to check out our complete guide to the The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy books as well.

Exhalation

by Ted Chiang

Barack Obama put this book on his summer reading list this year. It’s the second book by Ted Chiang, a well-known science fiction author. In these nine stories, we meet a time portal in ancient Baghdad, a scientist who makes a discovery that will change the world, and a woman who has cared for an AI “pet” for more than twenty years. This is science fiction writing at its most thoughtful. It asks important questions about the nature of the universe and what it means to be human.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.