10 Best Star Wars Books Canon Update 05/2022

Star Wars has changed a little since Disney first bought the rights to the movie. Their plan to change the continuity that fans were used to was very controversial. They have since made a canon timeline that allows for new and exciting stories to be told. As a result of these big changes, their platforms have made the most of them.

There are a lot of must-read novels from the Lucasfilm project that help people understand how these books fill in the gaps left by movies, games, and animated shows (and even Walt Disney Parks). These books are not only great for fans of the galaxy far, far away, but they are also great for understanding how today’s canon is put together.

Honorable Mention – Doctor Aphra: An Audiobook Original (2020)

The Doctor Aphra edition of Dooku: Jedi Lost was the first time that Lucasfilm tried out audiobooks. It was this edition that really showed off the full potential of this format. Sarah Kuhn wrote the piece, and it really showed why Aphra needs a live-action movie.

There are so many comics about the adventurer that it’s hard to figure out where to start. Fortunately, this Audible project sums up some of the most important parts of her story from the graphic novels, as well as her complicated relationship with the Empire and Vader. In this case, she’s an archeologist who got caught up in a fight that she doesn’t belong in.

Dark Disciple (2015)

After the end of “The Clone Wars,” the writing team had a lot of stories they wanted to tell that were left on the cutting room floor. They wanted to show them. Asajj Ventress left Count Dooku and became a Bounty Hunter after this story was written by Christie Golden, who is very good at what she does.

It’s a storyline that the show eventually picked up on, but the novel goes a step further than that. Instead, Quinlan Vos, a Jedi, forms a friendship with Ahsoka Tano. As a bonus, it gives fans a real ending to her story and adds more to the under-appreciated Jedi knight who is tempted by Ventress and the dark side of the Force.

Aftermath: Empire’s End (2017)

Empire’s End is the last book in Chuck Wendig’s well-known Aftermath trilogy. It adds the most to the canon timeline and really sets the stage for the next phase of Star Wars. The trilogy itself looks at the complicated politics of making the New Republic while tracking Nora Wexley and her son on a dangerous mission across the galaxy. This is what the trilogy is about.

It’s a good ending to the story and shows why people should read the other two novels. It also shows what happened on Jakku, how the Empire’s remnants found Exegol, and how they restructured to become the First Order. It’s also a fun story for fans of Wedge Antilles, and it adds some depth to theSquadrons video game.

Thrawn (2017)

He is so important in the Legends timeline that it wasn’t surprising that Lucasfilm asked Timothy Zahn to make a version of the Chiss leader in this new canon world. Thrawn is a great way for new fans and longtime fans to get to know each other. The loyal servant of the Emperor gets his start in the glorious Empire.

A lot of attention is paid to the original works that made the character famous. It also allows for two more novels, three prequels, a Rebels appearance, and a possible live-action adaptation. In light of how important Thrawn is to the timeline, this book is a must read.

The High Republic: Light Of The Jedi (2021)

The High Republic is the new Star Wars era in which Lucasfilm is trying to make a project that covers all of its production. There are many different books in this series. The first one, called “Light of the Jedi,” talks about the conflict in space that has thrown the Republic into chaos and made it hard to work.

Charles Soule wrote the book, and it talks about the Hyperspace disaster that has shaken the very core of the galaxy. The events of this book are mentioned in all the other books in the High Republic canon, which makes this book a must-read for fans.

Rebel Rising (2017)

Rogue One was a show of how Disney was going to move away from just the Skywalker Saga and try to make interesting stories outside of the characters that fans were so familiar with. As an experiment, it worked. Beth Revis’s prequel, Rebel Rising, adds more to the story.

When viewers only see a small amount of Jyn Erso’s father on screen, they don’t get to know her very well. SawGerrera is also one of the best characters in the book, and she is so important in Disney’s version of the Star Wars storyline that the relationship between the student and master has to be seen by more people.

Bloodline (2016)

The political landscape of Star Wars has always been a big part of the movie’s story, and fans were curious to see how the galaxy changed from the Empire to the New Republic. Getting people there is a good job done by Aftermath, but Bloodline does most of the work when it comes to Leia Organa’s story.

There hasn’t been a time in a long time when diplomacy has tried to take the place of war in a galaxy far away. Claudia Gray, the author of the new Star Wars canon, makes a novel that is important to the future of the galaxy and answers a lot of questions for fans.

Galaxy’s Edge: Black Spire (2019)

Galaxy’s Edge might be the most detailed thing that Disney has ever made for its parks. Stories are important in these new lands, and the Black Spire Outpost has been given many chances to shine in the new canon.

Galaxy’s Edge: Black Spire by Delilah S. Dawson is the book that does the most to set up Batuu as a mysterious smuggler’s paradise. The book also serves as a sequel to Dawson’sPhasmanovel. Star Wars fans can really feel how important this new place is because of the great writing here.

Battlefront II: Inferno Squad (2017)

Battlefront II is now a huge hit because of the work that EA and Dice did to make sure the game kept working. Fans were excited when the single-player campaign starring the Inferno Squad and Iden Versio came out. It was set after the fall of the Empire and took place after the events of that time.

The book “Inferno Squad” by Christine Golden helps explain the Inferno Squad’s found family and Iden Versio’s role on the team. It adds to the canon storyline that was set out in Battlefront II and continues to fill in the gaps about what happened to the Empire after their great leader died.

Ahsoka (2016)

At the end of The Clone Wars, fans didn’t understand how Ahsoka was able to survive Order 66 and return in Star Wars Rebels. Before the return of the Clone Wars, E.K. Johnston had to step in and add to the story, so this is what happened.

It is still a part of the canon timeline and only adds to the end of the Clone Warsseries. With Ahsoka Tano getting her own live-action show, this is a must-read book for fans to understand her point of view in Rebels, The Mandalorian, and more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.