12 Best Books Like Agatha Christie Update 05/2022

Books Like Agatha Christie

One of the greatest mystery writers of all time is Agatha Christie. The following are seven books for Agatha Christie fans who have read all of her 80+ novels and are still craving more wacky characters and twisty plots.

Death by Dumpling by Vivien Chien

Death by Dumpling by Vivien Chien

Lana Lee returned to her family’s restaurant as a waitress after a devastating breakup and career setback. Nonetheless, the death of Mr. Feng, a known shrimp-allergy sufferer, raises suspicions among everyone. On the case, a police detective is more interested in the daily special than the investigation. Before she becomes the next victim, Lana must uncover the murderer of Mr. Feng.

The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey

While Scotland Yard Inspector Alan Grant is recovering from a broken leg, he becomes enamored with a contemporary portrait of Richard III that is in stark contrast to any he has ever seen. While the accused killer of his brother’s children appears cold and callous in this photograph, the man depicted appears caring and noble. In order to solve this historical mystery, Grant decides to turn it into a new case.

Still Life by Louise Penny

Armand Gamache and his team are called to investigate the death of Jane Neal, a beloved member of the community who had been missing for a while. Gamache suspects something far more sinister than a hunting accident.

A Judgement in Stone by Ruth Rendell

A Judgement in Stone by Ruth Rendell

Eunice Parchman, the Coverdales’ housekeeper, has murdered the entire family on Valentine’s Day, and Detective Chief Superintendent William Vetch is on the scene. There is more to the story, however: Further investigation by Vetch reveals something sinister that Parchman has been trying to conceal.

Green for Danger by Christianna Brand

There are German rockets raining down on the English countryside in World War II. General anesthesia fails miserably on Dr. Barnes’ latest patient, a postal worker with a broken leg. When the coroner requests an inquest, Dr. Barnes, who has lost patients in the past, is devastated. Even so, Cockrill insists that this was not an accident, and he must find the murderer before he or she kills again.

The Chinese Shawl by Patricia Wentworth

Although a family feud keeps Laura Fane from ever meeting Tanis Lyle, a glamorous movie star, she knows everything there is to know about Tanis, from her electric charm to how she affects men. In the wake of Tanis’s death, Miss Maud Silver is assigned to the investigation and begins her search for the killer.

The Iron Gates by Margaret Millar

The Iron Gates by Margaret Millar

Lucille Morrow appeared to have it all, from her looks to her home to her husband. Lucille’s downward spiral was triggered by a mysterious package that arrived at her doorstep. This is a case Inspector Sands is ill-equipped to handle.

Penumbra by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay

It’s the first time out-of-work journalist and writer Prakash Ray has ever met his unknown uncle, so he decides to pay a visit. The relative’s bungalow is located far away from the city, making it virtually unreachable. When a murder occurs in this house, Ray enlists the help of his uncle’s friend to solve the case and clear his name in the process. It’s safe to say that the detective team of Hastings-Poirot and Dr. Watson-Holmes in Janardan Maity’s first novel, Penumbra, will be a familiar sight to fans of those classic series. Janardan Maity’s series gets off to a great start with this book, which is full of red herrings and intriguing characters.

A Murder On Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey

In 1921, Perveen Mistry becomes India’s first female lawyer. She has joined her father’s law firm because the bar does not allow women to practice law in court. To her surprise, she meets Farid Omar’s widowed three widows at the estate executor’s office where she is working. Perveen decides to help the three women who have spent their entire lives in purdah because something is amiss with their will. When a murder occurs, things quickly go from bad to worse, so she needs to act quickly before there is another one. Additionally, Sujata Massey has cleverly woven Perveen’s past into the mystery. This fast-paced novel features a taut narrative and a strong female lead that will keep you turning the pages.

The Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

The Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

With its clever writing and homage to Christie’s style, The Magpie Murders is one of the best books ever written. Mary Blakiston, a housekeeper at Pye Hall, was found dead at the bottom of the stairs. Detective Atticus Pünd is tasked with solving her murder. When you realize that the final piece of the puzzle is missing, everything goes as planned! Due to Alan Conway’s best-selling (yet thoroughly unlikable) novel, which we both read together with his editor, Susan Ryeland, the murder took place (who is equally unhappy over the missing pages). Susan is determined to learn the truth about what happened to Conway after he is discovered dead, presumed to have committed suicide. This is a must-read for any fan of Agatha Christie’s work.

A Death In The Himalayas by Udayan Mukherjee

Set in the small Himalayan village of Birtola, A Death In The Himalayas is a very contemporary mystery that blends elements of the socio-political scenario with the central plot. Neville Wadia has settled in the remote yet picturesque village of Birtola after a long police career and is trying to find some peace. But when internationally-acclaimed author and activist Clare Watson is murdered, this idyllic village comes under a spotlight and Neville finds himself involved in solving the case. The suspects are many, with different motives, and as the novel progresses, we find ourselves surrounded by a puzzle and a mystery.

Malice by Keigo Higashino

When it comes to plot twists and clever mysteries, there are few contemporary authors who can match Keigo Higashino. It is one of his most cleverly crafted and well-planned mysteries. Kunihiko Hidaka, a best-selling Japanese novelist, was found murdered on the eve of his departure from Japan for Canada. Only his wife and his best friend, Osamu Nonuguchi, are the only suspects. Detective Kaga quickly uncovers evidence that casts doubt on Hidaka and Nonuguchi’s friendship. Is Nonuguchi envious of the success of his friend? Was Hidaka murdered by him? Kaga and Nonuguchi are on a cat-and-mouse chase in this novel, each one trying to outwit the other’s schemes. If you haven’t read it yet, you’re in for a real treat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.