13 Best Books Like Alice In Wonderland Update 05/2022

Books Like Alice In Wonderland

Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, as well as the Disney film adaptation, have captivated me since I was a child. Reading Carroll’s classic multiple times, I reached for books like Alice in Wonderland if the book was put aside.

The tale of a naive young girl who stumbles into a magical world full of fantastical (and occasionally dangerous) creatures and characters has a certain allure. A tea party based on Alice’s adventures in Wonderland has become a popular pastime, and there are numerous movie adaptations of the story to choose from.

I don’t mind the Alice In Wonderland craze, because if Alice and her friends are involved, I’m all in. To be honest, I’m most excited about books based on the original story.

Years of retelling Carroll’s book by storytellers have yielded tales nearly as enthralling and enthralling as Alice’s Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass. This list is for Alice In Wonderland fans like me who can’t get enough of the story.

1. The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

Redd, the evil queen of Wonderland, wants to usurp Alyss Heart’s throne. To get out of the pool of tears and into victorian London, Alyss has to go through the pool of tears. To restore the rightful king, Hatter Madigan, Alyss’s bodyguard, is searching everywhere. Lewis Carroll makes an appearance in this book, which takes place in both Wonderland and Victorian London.

2. Alice In Sunderland by Bryan Talbot

In this book, you’ll find a mix of fiction and nonfiction. Everything from British history to Alice Liddell and Lewis Carroll is covered in this book. It’s like going down the rabbit hole at times, but it’s always interesting.

3. Coraline by Neil Gaiman

You can’t go wrong with Coraline if you’re looking for a darker take on Alice in Wonderland. Whenever I read Neil Gaiman’s work, I’m reminded a little bit of Lewis Carroll’s whimsical writing style. This tale of Coraline, a young girl, and her Other Mother is both magical and unsettling.

4. The Looking Glass House by Vanessa Tait

The Looking Glass House by Vanessa Tait

The author of this book is Alice Liddell’s great-granddaughter, who is also known as the girl who served as inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland. Mary Prickett, a governess, is the focus of this story, which takes place before the fictional Alice falls into the rabbit hole. Not fantasy, but written in a whimsical style that will surely appeal to Alice fans, this is historical fiction.

5. Jabberwocky by Daniel Coleman

A boy named Tjaden and a girl named Elora are the focus of Coleman’s novella “Jabberwocky,” which deconstructs the poem line by line. An enjoyable read for fans of Alice and her witty verse.

6. Alice In Verse: The Lost Rhymes Of Wonderland by J.T. Holden

Fans of the poetry in Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass will be pleased to learn that there is a new book for them. Carroll’s original nonsensical poems serve as the basis for Holden’s new poems, which feature many well-known characters and stories.

7. Beware The Little White Rabbit by Shannon Delany And More

Beware The Little White Rabbit by Shannon Delany And More

Alice in Wonderland is the inspiration for many of the stories in this anthology of short stories for young adults. This collection has it all, from steampunk romance to thrillers.

8. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Alice in Wonderland fans will enjoy The Night Circus if they are drawn to the wacky details. Magical and beautifully written, this story about a dueling illusionists and a circus that appears out of nowhere will satisfy all of your Wonderland whims.

9. Namesake by Isabelle Melançon And Megan Lavey-Heaton

A woman with the ability to travel to magical lands like Wonderland and Oz is the focus of this comic. As a webcomic, you can either read it online or purchase a print copy.

10. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

This Alice in Wonderland prequel by Lunar Chronicles author Marissa Meyer focuses on the Queen of Hearts. Everyone expects the King of Hearts to propose to Catherine any day now that she is his favorite. Jest, a handsome and mysterious jester, is Catherine’s only goal, and she wants to become a baker and open her own shop. You can pre-order this retelling now, which will be released in November 2016.

11. Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown

Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown

A little bunny sleeps soundly in a lovely green room, curled up in a blanket. Saying goodnight to one’s room and to the moon is an age-old tradition. All the familiar things in the softly lit room—the picture of three little bears sitting on chairs, the clocks and socks, the mittens and kittens—the little bunny says goodnight.

The gentle, lulling illustrations and the quiet poetry of the words in this beloved classic of children’s literature have made it a favorite for generations of readers and listeners.

12. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

One of the most beloved children’s books ever written is “just about perfect” by E. B. White, the author of Stuart Little and The Trumpet of the Swan. Colorful illustrations by Rosemary Wells are included in this high-quality paperback!

There is a Pig in there somewhere. Humble. Radiant. High in Zuckerman’s barn, Charlotte’s Web says these words. To tell Wilbur’s story in Charlotte’s spiderweb is to tell Wilbur’s story in Charlotte’s spiderweb.” When Wilbur was born the last of his litter, Fern stepped in to save his life, and her love for Wilbur is one of their most heartfelt tributes.

Newbery Honor Book by E. B. White depicts the joys of friendship, love, life and death through the eyes of a young girl. Garth Williams, best known for his work on E. B. White’s Stuart Little and Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House series, has provided all-new color illustrations for this edition.

13. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell

He is surrounded by friends and cared for by his owners as he grows up in a loving environment. However, when things take a turn for the worse, he realizes that not everyone is so kind. Black Beauty has seen love and cruelty, wealth and poverty, friendship and hardship… as she is passed from one person to the next. Is the handsome horse going to be able to find a long-term, happy home? Children will fall in love with these classic tales, which have been retold in contemporary language and accompanied by enchanting illustrations. These books are perfect for children because they simplify the story and make it more interesting for them to read. The colorful illustrations also make it easier for them to understand what is being said. There is a strong gift appeal to the Black Beauty series of collectibles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.