5 Best Books Like American Dirt Update 05/2022

Books Like American Dirt

Got through American Dirt yet? If you enjoyed American Dirt, here are five books you should read.

We’ve all experienced the feeling of emptiness that comes with finishing a great book like American Dirt. As always, we’re here for you, Team Dango. If you enjoyed American Dirt, here are five more books to check out.

A Woman Is No Man: A Novel

By Etaf Rum

“We’ve learned to keep our thoughts to ourselves in my home country. Silence has been taught to us as a means of saving ourselves. I grew up in a place where people don’t tell each other these stories. Unheard of—dangerous and shameful—to tell the outside world.”

Palestine in the year 1990. It is Isra’s preference to read books rather than entertain the suitors her father has selected for her at the age of 17. A week later, the naive and idealistic young lady finds herself engaged and married, and she is soon settling down in Brooklyn. Her mother-in-law Fareeda and her new husband Adam put a lot of pressure on Isra, who has four daughters instead of the sons Fareeda insists she must have.

Brooklyn, New York, in the year of 2008. Even though she only wants to go to college, Isra’s oldest daughter, Deya, is forced to meet with potential husbands at the insistence of her grandmother, Fareeda. As an eight-year-old, Deya wonders if her life would be different if her parents had survived the car accident that claimed their lives. However, Deya’s grandmother is adamant that the only way to ensure a bright future for her granddaughter is through marriage.

In spite of this, fate has a plan of its own, and soon Deya will find herself on an unexpected path that leads to shocking truths about her family—information that will force her to question everything she thought she knew about her parents and the past, and her own future.

The Vanishing Half: A Novel

By Brit Bennett

New York Times bestselling author of The Mothers returns with a stunning new novel about identical twin sisters who were inseparable as children and who now choose to live in two very different worlds, one black and one white.

For all time, the Vignes twins will remain identical. When they were teenagers, they ran away from the small, southern black community where they grew up and formed a new identity as a black person in the United States of America. After all these years, one of the sisters still resides in the same small southern town from which she fled with her black daughter. Other than her white husband, the other woman pretends to be white. Even though they are separated by thousands of miles and an equal number of lies, the twins’ stories are intertwined. When their daughters’ stories intersect, what will happen to the next generation?

Brit Bennett weaves together multiple generations and strands of this family, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, to produce a story that is at once a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant examination of the American history of passing.

More than just an examination of race, The Vanishing Half considers how the past shapes our decisions, desires, and expectations today. It also examines some of the many spheres and reasons why people feel compelled to live outside of their true selves.

It’s a compelling read about family and relationships that’s compassionate and wise, like Brit Bennett’s New York Times bestseller The Mothers.

The Island of Sea Women

By Lisa See

Two girls, Mi-ja and Young-sook, who live on the Korean island of Jeju are close friends despite the fact that their upbringings are very different. Young-mother sook’s leads the village’s all-female diving collective when the girls are old enough. Baby divers begin a life of both excitement and responsibility, but also danger, as the girls assume their positions.

While Mi-ja and Young-sook are in love, they can’t help but notice their differences.

Japanese colonialism in the 1930s and 1940s is followed by World War II and Korea, as well as a time when women divers could use cell phones and wet suits in The Island of Sea Women. The inhabitants of Jeju are caught in the middle of two warring empires during this period. Japanese collaborator Mi-daughter. ja’s She was born into a family ofhaenyeo, and she will inherit her mother’s role as the village’s diving chief. The two friends have no idea that forces beyond their control will strain their bond.

“This vivid…thoughtful and empathetic” novel (The New York Times Book Review) depicts a world in which the women rule and the men take care of the kids. Publishers Weekly calls The Island of Sea Women a “wonderful ode to a truly singular group of women.” It’s a “beautiful story…about the endurance of friendship when it’s pushed to its limits, and you…will love it” (Cosmopolitan).

The Dutch House: A Novel

By Ann Patchett

New York Times Bestseller |A Book Club Pick for the Jenna Today Show |A Notable Book from the New York Times Book Review |TIME Magazine’s 100 Must-Read Books for 2019

Oprah Magazine, Real Simple, Good Housekeeping magazine; Vogue magazine; Refinery29 magazine; and Buzzfeed magazine have all named it one of the year’s best books.

This is the most powerful novel Ann Patchett has written to date: a richly moving story about the indelible bond between two siblings, the house of their childhood, and a past that won’t let them forget it.

Iconic tale of a paradise lost, The Dutch House explores questions of inheritance and love, as well as how we want to see ourselves and what it really means to be ourselves.

Cyril Conroy’s family rises from poverty to great wealth after the Second World War thanks to a combination of good fortune and a single smart investment. The Dutch House, an opulent estate outside of Philadelphia’s city limits, is his first purchase. The house, which he built as a surprise for his wife, has the unintended consequence of destroying everything he holds dear.

When their stepmother banishes Danny and his older sister Maeve from the house where they grew up, Cyril’s son Danny tells the story of their exile. They are forced to rely on one another after being thrown back into the poverty from which their parents had escaped. Together, they form an unbreakable bond that saves their lives while also obstructing their plans for the future.

The Dutch House is a dark fairy tale about two intelligent people who can’t get over their past, taking place over the course of five decades. It’s only when they’re with each other that Danny and Maeve feel at ease. Every day, they return to the familiar tale of what they’ve lost with both humor and rage in their veins. Their relationship is tested to its limit, however, when they are finally forced to confront those who have abandoned them.

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek: A Novel

By Kim Michele Richardson

THE TIMES BESTSELLER IN THE UNITED STATES This is a best-seller on USA Today!

For the people of Troublesome Creek, everything is a struggle — except for books. To thank Roosevelt’s Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Cussy Mary Carter has been assigned as Troublesome’s traveling librarian.

Because of her unique appearance, Cussy isn’t just a bookworm; she’s also the only one of her kind. A Blue is frequently blamed for any mishaps that occur because of Cussy’s family or the Library Project. In order for Cussy to be able to share her love of reading with the people of the mountains, she will have to face prejudice and suspicion that are as old as the mountains themselves.

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creekis a story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman’s belief that books can carry us anywhere—even back home. Inspired by the true blue-skinned people of Kentucky and the brave and dedicated Kentucky Pack Horse library service of the 1930s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.