6 Best Books Like And Then There Were None Update 05/2022

Books Like And Then There Were None

Books like And Then There Were None, written by Agatha Christie 44 years ago, nevertheless have a cult following because of the thrill of finding out “whodunnit” in one of these suspenseful mysteries.

After all the guests have arrived, the mysterious affluent host is nowhere to be seen, leaving them to fend for themselves on their private island off the coast of Devon for the weekend. They all have a lot in common, but they don’t realize it at first; they all have deep, dark secrets. To make matters worse, a particularly disturbing nursery rhyme is being sung to them as a means of extermination until they are all gone.

You don’t have to be a fan of crime fiction to appreciate a good murder mystery, but you should be aware that it may pique your interest in the genre, since solving the crimes and learning some of the slang and detective lingo that originated in works like And Then There Were None may become fascinating.

Books like And Then There Were None

A Study in Scarlet, by Arthur Conan Doyle

A Study in Scarlet, by Arthur Conan Doyle

First up on our list of books like And Then There Were None is none other than Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, the world’s most famous detective partnership!

You think I’m being too elementary, don’t you? (I thought so, too), right?

A Study in Scarlet, their first collaboration, was published in 1887 to mixed reviews and is a good place to start if you intend to read their subsequent works. Introducing Holmes’ inventiveness, A Study in Scarlet lays the framework for their working relationship and their time spent together on Baker Street.

A puzzling murder at Lauriston Gardens is the first time a magnifying glass has been used as an investigative instrument in a detective novel (paving the way for many detectives to come).

A Study in Scarlet is a rare opportunity to see Doyle’s brilliant Sherlock Holmes and his astounding deductive powers up up and personal, despite the abundance of film and television versions.

The Yellow Room, by Mary Roberts Rinehart

Often considered to as an American Agatha Christie, Mary Roberts Rinehart is the author of the term “the butler did it,” and her work The Yellow Room is a worthy addition to this list of novels like And Then There Were None.

In the Spencer family’s summer house in Maine, Carol Spencer becomes the prime suspect when she and her mother arrive and the house appears to be unoccupied. Who else could have put the body in the mansion, which is now locked up, if all the servants and phones have vanished?

Carol enlists the help of Major Jerry Dane to solve the riddle and establish her innocence before it’s too late, with war raging across the seas and a killer on the free in the grounds of their estate.

However mild compared to other of Christie’s descriptions, The Yellow Room though emotionally explores themes of loss and early death yet manages to keep you engaged in finding out the truth.

The Cuckoo’s Calling, by Robert Galbraith

First in the Cormoran Strike mystery series, The Cuckoo’s Calling is penned by Harry Potter creator JK Rowling under the alias Robert Galbraith, a modern crime tale that no doubt draws inspiration from the aforementioned titans while still remaining classic in spirit.

When we first meet Strike, he’s recently divorced, living in his office, and barely scraping by as a private investigator after losing one of his legs to an Afghan landmine. After the death of his sister, which the police have declared to be the result of suicide, John Bristow contacts Strike and asks him to dig into the mysterious death. Things begin to look up for Strike.

The Cuckoo, as those who knew her well call her, was the iconic supermodel Lula Landry, and when Strike accepts the job, he is immediately pushed into a world of multimillionaires where nothing is impossible.

If Strike is to find out what really happened to the famed Cuckoo, he must ignore the many temptations, pleasures, and distractions of the wealthy. If you enjoyed books like And Then There Were None, you’re going to love The Cuckoo’s Calling.

Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier

Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier

Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier’s eerie and mysterious gothic tale, is on this list of novels like And Then There Were None because psychological dramas and thrillers typically go hand in hand with the genre of crime fiction. When it comes to mystery novels, there is nothing better than a tale of love and obsession, and Rebecca is at the core of this one.

An anonymous second wife of handsome, affluent widower Maxim de Winter finds herself living in the shadow of her flawless first wife Rebecca who died in unexplained circumstances after a passionate relationship and a quick marriage proposal. The specter of Rebecca haunting the newlywed bliss of the second Mrs. de Winter slowly and inexorably drives her insane.

Christie lovers (and crime novel readers) will be delighted to discover an incredible mystery in Rebecca.

No, I haven’t read it yet. If you enjoyed Rebecca, you might enjoy any of the following titles on our list:

In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote

Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood, the first real crime novel, is a great place to start if you’re looking for a crime novel.

Four members of the Clutter family were murdered in Holcomb, Kansas, on November 15, 1959, by shackling them to their beds and shooting them in the head. Police were stumped by the cold-blooded murder, which had no obvious motive and few hints.

Capote and Harper Lee traveled to Holcomb, Mississippi, to begin reconstructing the murder and the investigation, which astonishingly led to the capture, prosecution, and execution of the perpetrators.

It took six years to complete and was Capote’s final novel, In Cold Blood is a groundbreaking piece of non-fiction and a must-read for aficionados of murder mysteries!

All the Missing Girls, by Megan Miranda

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda is a riveting tale that will keep you on your toes from beginning to end.

After her best friend Corinne went missing, Nicolette Farell decided to leave her community. When Corinne returns ten years later to help take care of her dying father, old wounds slowly begin to reopen as she is reintroduced to some old individuals from her past who are intricately linked to Corinne’s life and character.

As soon as Nic returns, she can no longer evade her demons and begins investigating the latest disappearance coupled with what happened so many years before. Readers are kept guessing by the engaging storylines and backwards timeline, which is narrated over the course of 15 days and gradually reveals commonalities between the two disappearances.

All the Missing Girls is a page-turner with a creative plot that mystery enthusiasts and And Then There Were None devotees alike will enjoy reading.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.