5 Best Books Like Animal Farm Update 05/2022

Books Like Animal Farm

George Orwell’s Animal Farm is perhaps one of the most well-known allegories ever written, and as a result, many readers are continually on the lookout for new works that share its themes. Animal Farm: A Fairy Story was written by Orwell as a response to the oppression he witnessed in communist Russia, although the subtitle is rarely associated to it when it is discussed today.

Mr. Jones, the farm’s owner, appears to treat the animals unfairly in this short story. Animals rise up against Mr. Jones, hoping to manage the farm in a way that is fair – but this isn’t exactly what happens, as with all uprisings, of course.

With the rise of fascist nations like Italy and Nazi Germany, the fable serves as a political parody warning of the dangers of communism and totalitarianism. As with all allegorical novels, such as Animal Farm, the following works convey a moral or political message to their audience through the medium of fiction.

Books like Animal Farm

Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury

Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury

Fahrenheit 451 is a dystopian novel by Ray Bradbury set in the 1950s, amid the height of McCarthyism in the United States. Guy Montag, the protagonist of the novel, is a firefighter who, along with his wife, is hired to destroy the possessions of people who refuse to stop reading illegally published books.

A teenage neighbor, Clarisse, prompts Guy to reassess his work path and to wish for more time spent with Clarisse, who is liberal and more free-thinking than he is.’

That is not to say that Guy doesn’t have reservations about his place in the world; rather, he seeks out little rebellions whenever he can. There was an illegality of some books and ideas during the McCarthy era similar to Nazi Germany, where actual book burnings were used to disseminate particular views and even erase history to some extent. Bradbury makes this point in this work.

To Bradbury’s allegory in Fahrenheit 451, reading is essential, as is preserving our collective memory of the past. This allegory, like those in books like Animal Farm, is intended to frighten readers, and it succeeds admirably.

Lord of the Flies, by William Golding

Golding’s novel, published in 1954 at a period when the Cold War was building between the United States and the Soviet Union, addresses postwar society’s worries.

The narrative serves as a warning tale since the superpowers appear to be capable of mass annihilation by atomic means. When a British aeroplane crashes into the Pacific Ocean, only a handful of young boys survive and must learn how to govern themselves efficiently on a remote island in Lord of the Flies.

With enough food on the island for everyone to live on if they stick to a strict diet, this story is an allegory for political, psychological, and theological issues. There is chaos and factions among the guys as they try to follow a democratic system.

As an excellent sequel to Animal Farm, Lord of the Flies illustrates what could happen if people don’t put an end to their squabbling and find common ground.

Never Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro

There are three friends in Never Let Me Go who grew up in the same private school, where they were often told they were special, but never quite grasped what that meant.

Ishiguro’s dystopian novel Kathy and her pals realize that they have been clones, made to donate their organs to “genuine” people, and that they will either “complete” or die in their early thirties as a result of these transplants.

Even though it appears to be science fiction, it is an allegory for how average people in the actual world spend their lives: we are aware that our time here is limited, and while the clones’ lives are considerably shorter than ours, they experience it in much the same manner.

When it comes to making the most of their lives, do they love, laugh, and reflect about the past too much? Is that what we’re saying? We’re left scratching our heads about the very real facts these novels represent, just like we were in books like Animal Farm.

Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley

Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley

Frankenstein, like many of the books on this list like Animal Farm, contains aspects of magical realism. Scientists and religious leaders were at odds in the nineteenth century, and this story is an allegory for those same anxieties.

When Victor Frankenstein’s mother died, he turned to experimenting as a way to deal with the loss. Eventually, he realizes he has the capacity to give life to inanimate stuff, which leads to his most difficult challenge yet: constructing a human being from scratch.

Although he succeeds, Frankenstein’s creation is not what he expected and he is horrified when it awakens. As in Animal Farm, Frankenstein’s monster and the author’s inner anguish echoes British society’s worries at the time.

Shelley’s story also explores the anxieties of parenthood, as she had already lost her first child at the age of two months after giving birth prematurely. For its day, Frankenstein is a highly competent work that explores the genuine responsibility and anguish of motherhood, as well as the conflict between science and faith.

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, by CS Lewis

The Chronicles of Narnia series includes a number of books, but The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is the most well-known and deals with the question of good vs evil the most effectively. In spite of the fact that Lewis did not create this series as an allegory, it is nonetheless considered one because several characters are clearly shown as Biblical characters.

When the Blitz breaks out during World War II, four youngsters are transferred to a professor’s house in the English countryside, where they spend their time exploring the property. Lucy, the youngest of the group, accidentally enters a wardrobe while playing hide & seek and is whisked away to the fantastical land of Narnia.

A conflict between the White Witch, the embodiment of evil, and Lord of the Rings character Aslan, the ideal of good is unwittingly fought by her siblings. The wolf army and the way Narnia has become a totalitarian state under the White Witch’s rule are both reminiscent of Nazi Germany and the SS in the novel’s biblical imagery.

Many see Aslan as Jesus, who dies for the sins of his followers, while the White Witch can be considered as the Devil. The betrayal of Edmund, like that of Judas, has a striking resemblance. Even though it seems impossible, good always prevails over evil in this story. For anyone who like Animal Farm, this book is a must-read. It uses talking animals and fantasy aspects to convey its message.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.