8 Best Books Like Annihilation Update 05/2022

A group of female scientists journey into the dangerous Area X in Jeff VanderMeer’s vivid and hallucinatory sci-fi adventure novel Annihilation. Only a handful of humans have been into deep space before, and all of them perished in the process. The 12th trip is underway, and the new team’s primary purpose is to map the landscape, document their findings, and avoid contamination. While they’re there, they discover that Area X is home to more than just unusual wonders, and that it also harbors unspeakable evils.

In February 2018, VanderMeer’s novel was made into a film starring Natalie Portman, Gina Rodriguez, and Tessa Thompson. If you like Annihilation and the two books in the Southern Reach Trilogy, Authority and Acceptance, which won Nebula and Shirley Jackson Awards, then you’re sure to enjoy the 14 books listed below.

Hothouse

By Brian W. Aldiss

One hundred and twenty years into the future, Aldiss’ science fiction classic depicts a world where our sun is poised to explode and our planet has slowed to a standstill. The remnants of human civilisation have long since faded away, and the beautiful greenery that covers them has replaced them. Plus, what else? As a species, we’ve now degraded into short, stocky, and green savages.

Hothouse is an eye-opening examination of how species evolve. World-building, an imminent global catastrophe, and odd small creatures who were once human are all part of this Hugo Award-winning novel.

Midworld

By Alan Dean Foster

Midworld is a remote jungle world where people have learned to coexist peacefully with the natural world. As the humans descend from the sky, they have no idea how intelligent individuals could coexist peacefully with the natural world.

When the two humans first arrive in Midworld, a smart resident named Born introduces himself and offers to take them on a tour of the area, showing them how they might thrive in such a natural environment.

It wasn’t long before Born saw the error of his ways when he opened his home to strangers. Now he has to pay the price for what he’s done. To the point that you feel like you’re actually in Midworld, Alan Dean Foster’s tremendous world-building will take your breath away.

Babel-17

By Samuel R. Delany

In Delany’s Babel-17, the use of language as a weapon has been elevated to a new level. In order to crack a mysterious language that appears to be related to sabotaging weapons and ships across the galaxy, the military has sought the help of Rydra Wong.

For Delany, 192 pages is a short period of time in which to establish a world in which language is the only means of making sense of the world. The perils and rewards of communication are examined by him.

Eden

By Stanislaw Lem

Everyone on this six-person crew is immediately enchanted when they crash land on Eden, the fourth planet from another sun. Naturally, kids want to see the world. Doublers: The gang discovers colossal plants and factories that make unusual things, as well as cities full of never-before-heard-of huge characters. It turns out to be an eye-opening journey—until they run into some of the natives.

There are a lot of traces of death around them as they go deeper into this world. They are compelled to battle for their life as a result of their efforts to communicate with the outside world. Lem creates a universe that’s familiar enough for readers to feel at ease, but weird enough that they’ll never feel fully at ease. Eden is a book that will keep readers guessing.

The Flight of the Silvers

By Daniel Price

Electricity has failed on Earth, infrastructure around the world is crumbling, and it appears like there is no hope left. For a time, that is, until weird, shining white beings descend in the sky and place a silver bracelet on the Given sisters’ wrists If this is the ticket to get them out from this fading earth, where will they end up?

The girls soon discover that they aren’t the only ones transported to this strange place from Earth. Their suspicions grow as they settle into what at first glance looks to be their new home.

Now, their only hope of surviving is to track down a mysterious individual who only a select handful are aware of and have the means to locate. ‘The Flight of the Silvers’ is Daniel Price’s debut novel in a new genre-bending series. The book’s world-building is engrossing, and the writing is exquisite. The characters in this film, like those in Annihilation, are thrown into an unfamiliar environment with no idea what will happen next.

A Darkling Sea

By James L. Cambias

Under a thick layer of ice on the planet Ilmatar, a species of blind aliens dwells. Researchers have been granted permission by the Sholen, their first extraterrestrial contact, to investigate these beings, but only if they do not harm their ecosystem.

The Ilmatarans’ dissection of a reckless explorer, however, presents a severe problem. Tensions rise as battle looms, despite the Ilmatarans’ claims that they meant no harm and were only curious.

Author James Cambias follows a group of scientists as they venture into unexplored area, encountering difficulties and making discoveries. It is depicted in A Darkling Sea how conflict can arise when miscommunication is allowed to escalate.

Oryx and Crake

By Margaret Atwood

Snowman is having a difficult time adjusting to his new surroundings. In the wake of Crake’s and Oryx’s deaths, he is mourning the loss of the two people he loved. Snowman, formerly known as Jimmy, ventures out into the forest that now covers what used to be a human society in search of solace. The green-eyed Children of Crake will also be joining him.

A brilliant writer, Atwood conjures up visions of a near-future in which previously prevalent technologies have largely disappeared, leaving the planet all but uninhabitable. Humans’ reactions to science’s ability to fundamentally alter the course of history are central to her investigation. You’ll empathize with Oryx and Crake if you’re a fan of Annihilation, because they’re just like us in their eccentricity and foolishness.

Embassytown

By China Mieville

China Mieville’s latest novel, Embassytown, is a work of art in and of itself. An entirely new viewpoint on language is presented by the author.

Humans have settled on the planet once inhabited by the Ariekei, an alien race known for their highly sophisticated language, which only a small number of genetically modified humans are able to communicate in. An Avice Benner Cho is a human colonist who has just returned from deep space travel after a few years away from Earth. Even though she had recently returned to Embassytown, the reception she received was tense.

Avice finds herself in the middle of a romance that is on the verge of falling apart as tensions rise between humans and Ariekei. Mieville is a master at making readers feel the weight and fragility of their own humanity via haunting, exhilarating, and thought-provoking stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.