9 Best Books Like Behind Her Eyes Update 05/2022

Books Like Behind Her Eyes

Has the Netflix adaptation of Sarah Pinborough’s enthralling novel Behind Her Eyes piqued your interest in reading more suspenseful works? However, the many plot twists in the novels on this list aren’t surprising!

Two women tell the story: Louise, a single mother who also works as a personal assistant for therapist David Ferguson, and Adele, David’s stylish stay-at-home wife. As she struggles with her feelings for David at work and makes friends with Adele over their shared interests in exercise, fashion, and coffee, Louise finds herself caught up in a bizarre love triangle.

It’s almost as if she’s having an extramarital affair with them both, not realizing she’s being played for fools. There are elements of fantasy woven seamlessly into this incredibly creepy tale about the lengths people will go to keep their secrets. It is a story about obsession and jealousy, as well as the dark side of love.

As you try to figure out who’s telling the truth in books like Behind Her Eyes, I guarantee you won’t see the endings coming! Don’t put your faith in anyone before reading this list.

Books like Behind Her Eyes

The Silent Patient, by Alex Michaelides

The Silent Patient, by Alex Michaelides

Alex Michaelides’s The Silent Patient, a 2019 novel, explores the intricacies of marriage and what lies beneath a seemingly perfect facade.

When Alicia Berenson shoots her famous fashion photographer husband five times in the face, no one can believe it or understand it. To the outsider, her life appears to be perfect. A few days after the incident, Alicia has refused to speak to anyone, leaving the public to speculate as to why she committed such an obscene act of self-defense.

Faber’s determination to uncover the truth about the shooting death of his wife’s husband, however, takes him down an unexpected path that forces him into questioning his own motives for wanting to find out what happened to her husband in the first place.

The Silent Patient is a psychological thriller with a shocking twist that ticks all the boxes for fans of books like Behind Her Eyes!

Has this book already been read by you? Check out our list of books that are similar to The Silent Patient! ‘

The Shining, by Stephen King

As with Behind Her Eyes, I’m confident that you’ll enjoy The Shining’s fantastical elements that are so expertly tied to the real as to defy the very nature of reality.

Having just been named caretaker of the Overlook Hotel, Jack Torrence is looking forward to the opportunity to spend more time with his family and with his writing.

It appears that strange forces are at work as the harsh winter sets in, cutting off the hotel’s access to local amenities, initially offering a fresh start for him and his family.

There are some strange happenings going on in the hotel where Jack and his five-year-old son Danny are staying, and the hotel cook Mr. Hallorann warns Danny that the hotel is a dangerous place for someone like him, a “shiner,” who glows with psychic power. During Danny’s trip to the Overlook, where he attempts to sort out what’s real and what’s not, this seems to be true.

The Shining is Stephen King at his best, a terrifyingly brilliant read that explores themes of isolation, insanity, violence, family, and the paranormal.

Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn

For a fast-paced page-turner like Gillian Flynn’s 2012 thriller Gone Girl, you won’t want to put this book down once you get started!

The Dunne family appears to be content. They fell in love in college, got married, and returned to Missouri to care for Nick’s mother while she recovered. Amy vanishes as they prepare to mark their fifth wedding anniversary.

The only clues the police have are entries in Amy’s diary and Nick’s suspicious behavior, neither of which are typical of a grieving husband worried about his missing wife, which makes him an obvious suspect.

We learn the truth about Nick and Amy’s relationship and what really happened to Amy in a twist ending that you won’t believe (or see coming).

Those who enjoy Behind Her Eyes’ dual narratives and the destructive side to love will enjoy Gone Girl, which is a follow-up to Behind Her Eyes.

Has this book already been read by you? Here’s a list of books that are similar to Gone Girl.

Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier

Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier

Rebecca, which was published in 1937, has shocked readers with its dark, Gothic, and psychological plot ever since. Even though I know what is going to happen, I enjoy reading it again and again.

Our narrator, newlywed to the handsome, wealthy, and charming widower Mr. Maxim de Winter, moves into his magnificent Cornish estate, Manderley, with him. She quickly finds herself living in the shadow of his first wife, Rebecca, who died under suspicious circumstances, after their honeymoon period.

Our narrator’s self-doubt is stoked by the devilish housekeeper, Mrs. Danvers, who reminds her of Rebecca. In her search for answers about Rebecca’s death, she comes across a shocking truth that neither she nor we expected.

Those looking for a new thriller like Behind Her Eyes should check out Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca.

Has this book already been read by you? Take a look at our selection of books that are similar to Rebecca.

The Guest List, by Lucy Foley

The Guest List by Lucy Foley takes us to Ireland for the wedding of the century.

Will Slater, a rising television star, and Jules Keegan, an ambitious magazine publisher, are getting married today. The venue, the ideal gown, the sumptuous cake, the guest list, and every other aspect of the wedding are flawless.

Of course, there are the usual hiccups like drunken groomsmen, a ruined bridesmaid dress, petty jealousies, and a dead body turns up before the cake is even cut.

Who did it, and why? We’re stranded on a remote island with no phone service, and we’re trying to figure out who did it and why.

With a modern twist on a classic murder mystery, readers of books like Behind Her Eyes will be captivated by The Guest List’s suspense and intrigue.

Has this book already been read by you? See our selection of similar titles below!

Trust No One, by Paul Cleave

During the course of Trust No One by Paul Cleave, the protagonist begins to question his own fiction as his mental faculties begin to deteriorate.

Henry Cutter, the pseudonym used by Jerry Grey, is a well-known crime novelist known for his brutally gruesome stories. He is diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s disease at the premature age of 49, ending his long and successful writing career.

He is shocked to confess to all of the crimes he has written about in his books, a confession that his family and friends attribute to his illness, leaving readers to wonder what really happened as Jerry does.

Even our narrators aren’t as trustworthy as they appear in Cleave’s aptly titled novel Trust No One, so it’s best to err on the side of caution when reading this shocking list of books.

Fight Club, by Chuck Palahniuk

Fight Club, by Chuck Palahniuk

Chuck Palahniuk’s mind-bending Fight Club, now a popular film starring Brad Pitt and Edward Norton, is our next novel with an ending that will shatter all perceptions.

Protagonist suffers from sleep disorders. He attends support groups for the terminally ill because he is fed up with being unable to sleep and the monotony of his life. Until he meets Tyler Durden, a charismatic soap salesman with an infectious enthusiasm for life and making trouble.

As a team, they found Fight Club, an underground bare-knuckle fighting club where similarly disenfranchised men gather every weekend to fight their way out of their humdrum existence.

It’s only when Tyler and the narrator fall for the same girl that Tyler’s friendship is tested to its breaking point, causing the narrator to question whether or not he and Tyler are truly friends.

Fight Club, by Pulitzer Prize-winning author Chuck Palahniuk, is a must-read for anyone looking for a book similar to Behind Her Eyes.

Has this book already been read by you? Our list of books similar to Fight Club is here!

And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie

One of the hallmarks of a good crime or mystery story is the plot twist (it’s almost always someone you least expect).

As far as I’m concerned, When ten strangers stranded on an island are brutally murdered, one of the best ways to solve a mystery is to turn to Agatha Christie, the Queen of Crime, and her novel And Then There Were None, which contains one of the novel’s best plot twists. Although the ten people appear to have no connection to one another, each of them has a dark secret to hide.

Because there is no way to leave the island, how can they find out who is doing this to them before they or someone else dies…?

For fans of novels like Behind Her Eyes, And Then There Were None is a great read that will keep you guessing until the very end and reveal the dark and devious secrets that each character carries.

Has this book already been read by you? Visit our And Then There Were None-inspired reading list!

Shutter Island, by Dennis Lehane

Shutter Island, Dennis Lehane’s gripping 2003 novel, is another book like Behind Her Eyes that has been made into a successful film.

When Teddy Daniels and Chuck Ale arrive at Ashecliffe Hospital on Shutter Island, they find themselves investigating a mysterious case at the spooky asylum for the criminally insane. Rachel Solando has vanished without a trace, and authorities are actively looking into her disappearance. She was sentenced to life in prison for drowning her three children, so her disappearance is suspicious to say the least.

As the Ashecliffe is battered by a hurricane, Teddy and Chuck’s search for Rachel and the man Teddy believes to have killed his wife is hindered by the storm’s destructive power.

As a conclusion to this list of shocking books, Shutter Island’s setting in 1954, when there were no mobile phones or other modern technological advancements, makes it an excellent choice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.