7 Best Books Like Bobiverse Update 05/2022

Books Like Bobiverse

The Ten Thousand Doors of January

The Ten Thousand Doors of January

Alix E. Harrow

An “absolutely enchanting love letter to stories and storytellers, as well as to the doors they open for us.” Alice and Lost Boys author Christina Henry New York Times and Los Angeles Times best-selling author It’s the early 1900s, and a young woman finds a mysterious book that sets her on a fantastical journey of self-discovery. January Scaller is an anomaly in a vast mansion stuffed to the gills with oddities. She is like the artifacts that decorate the halls: meticulously preserved, largely ignored, and utterly out of place as the ward of the wealthy Mr. Locke. Then she comes across an odd book. An ethereal novel about hidden doors and the perils of love, adventure, and passion. January’s story becomes more and more intertwined with that of the world around her with each page turn. Alix E. Harrow’s debut novel is lush and evocative, a tale of impossible journeys, unforgettable love, and the enduring power of stories. Step inside and discover its mystery.

We Are Legion (We are Bob) | Dennis E. Taylor

We Are Legion, the first book in the Bobiverse Trilogy, is a good bet if you enjoyed Andy Weir’s The Martian.

That’s correct. Rather than Bobiverse, I used the term.

In addition to being hilarious, this is a book that is clever and resonated with me on a deep level.

Celebrating the sale of his software company, Bob Johannson is in attendance at Comicon. At lunchtime, he crosses the street and BANG! To his disbelief, he wakes up 130 years later in post-climate-collapse America, where the Handmaid’s Tale-like society has been replaced by an AI owned by a theocracy.

If you read the entire series, you’ll have a lot of laughs and a few sad tears. To say this is one of my all-time top five books is an honor.

Space Force | Jeremy Robinson

If you recall, a certain president had the idea of creating a Space Force.

It’s possible the aliens showed up on the same day he disbanded his lame-as-a-duck Space Force.

Based on their knowledge of Earth from 1990s video games, these aliens look like choads (Google it).

All of your base is ours.

Jeremy Robinson’s Space Force isn’t for everyone, but it was one of my favorite books of 2019.

People started staring at me as I walked down the street because I was laughing so hard while listening to this audiobook.

Columbus Day (Expeditionary Force Book 1) | Craig Alanson

Columbus Day (Expeditionary Force Book 1) Craig Alanson

Skippy, the super-intelligent AI that we monkey-shaped meat sacks can’t even begin to comprehend, will be on display at Columbus Day, and you won’t want to miss it.

By the way…Skippy has a beer can-like appearance.

This is the series for you if you enjoy military sci-fi with a sense of humor, lots of black-ops action, and plenty of explosions.

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy | Douglas Adams

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adam is a must-read for any fan of humorous science fiction.

Look, I doubt there’s much more I can say about it.

In the end, I’d like to leave you with one of my favorites from the Guide and the main reason why you should never leave the house without a bath towel—

An animal from the planet Traal known for its ravenous appetite and baffling incompetence as the Ravenous Bugblatter Beast of Traal. The Beast’s main characteristic is that it assumes you can’t see it if you can’t see it yourself. Because of this, it has been ranked as one of the least intelligent species in the universe.

The Vacuum of Space (Space Janitor Book 1) | Julia Huni

The Vacuum of Space (Space Janitor Book 1) Julia Huni

On the other hand, I recently picked up the entire series on sale, and it sounds like something I’d enjoy reading.

You can leave a comment if you’ve read it and want to share your thoughts.

The short version is as follows:

It’s a filthy galaxy that needs to be cleaned up.

Avoiding the station’s wealthy residents on the upper floors Triana, the bot programmer, has one rule: no Kelly Kornienkos. Well, after “eat all the chocolate,” this is number two.

When one of her cleaning robots discovers a dead body, all the rules are thrown out the window. Triana’s routine is disrupted by a well-connected security agent who tells her stories about missing bodies. She can’t ignore him; either she cooperates with him or she finds another job. Even in a squalid studio apartment, a girl has to pay the rent.

Triana lends her programming expertise to Agent O’Neill’s investigation because working with a shiny detective is better than working on a shuttle. The two of them work together to uncover new victims and evidence of a widespread cover-up.

In order to stop the killings, save her job, and possibly even her life, Triana’s technical skills, most of O’Neill’s connections, and some seriously delicious croissants will be required.

Armageddon by Craig Alanson

Uraba and Tierra are two countries at war with each other in this trilogy. Gunpowder, hot air balloons, and the discovery of previously unexplored continents and oceans all play a role in this world similar to early modern Europe’s. Both countries go on the offensive to gain an advantage over the other. Finding Terravitae’s sacred land is one of those goals. While this fanatic religious war is reminiscent of the Crusades, in which Christians and Muslims fought for control of the Holy Land, it is also reminiscent of a more recent historical period, that of the Middle Ages when Christians and Muslims fought for control of the Holy Land, resulting in an escalating series of atrocities. There is a striking similarity between Medieval attitudes toward Jerusalem and the series’ Holy City of Insalaem, the place of worship for both religions, which is coveted by both countries at all costs.

Final Thoughts:

I’m sure John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War will be brought up at some point. I’ve read it, too. Although I did enjoy it, I couldn’t help but think it was just average.

In the past, I’ve been asked, “Who hurt you as a child?” when I’ve said this.

There isn’t anyone because I wasn’t interested in it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.