10 Best Books Like Call Of The Wild Update 05/2022

To curl up with a good book at this time of year is a great idea. Try Jack London’s Call of the Wild if you’re looking for a book about dogs.

In the Klondike gold rush in Canada, Buck, a domesticated sled dog, was stolen and sold into service as a Sledge-dog.

If you’ve read Jack London’s Call of the Wild, do you know of any other books along these lines? If that’s the case, then read on! Here are ten books that are similar to Call of the Wild that you might enjoy.

The Call of The Wind Summary

The author of the book is none other than American author Jack London. The book was first serialized in the Saturday Evening Post in 1903, and later published in the following year.

One of the first books written for adults to sell more than a million copies is considered a classic of American literature.

Buck, a dog who was kidnapped from his California home and sold as a sled dog during the Klondike Gold Rush in the Yukon Territory, is the subject of this classic American novel.

It’s considered an early example of adventure fiction because it was based on London’s own experiences as a hobo in 1897. In 1903, Harrison Cady illustrated the book’s first edition.

Books like Call of The Wild

In the spirit of Jack London, here are ten books that are either in the same genre or written by the same author as Call of the Wind.

Where the Red Fern Grows, by Wilson Rawls

Where the Red Fern Grows, by Wilson Rawls

When Wilson Rawls published “Where the Red Fern Grows” in 1961, it was a children’s book. Billy Colman’s story is told in the book, which details how he saves up to buy two redbone coonhound puppies.

Eventually, he wins a large prize for himself and his dogs after training and entering them in various dog-related events. Grandpa was played by Arthur Penn and James Whitmore in the 1974 film adaptation of the book.

In 1999, the Walnut Street Theatre in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, premiered a stage adaptation of the novel. If you’re a fan of Call of the Wild, this is a must-read.

Black Beauty, by Anna Sewell

Anna Sewell’s “Black Beauty” is a children’s book. Published for the first time in 1877, The life of a horse named Black Beauty is chronicled in this book from the time of his birth until his death.

The author describes how Black Beauty is treated by everyone he encounters and what happens to him as a result of those encounters.

Get a free 30-day trial of Audible or Kindle Unlimited to listen to an audiobook or download unlimited books.

White Fang, by Pauline Francis

This is the story of a wild canine that was captured by Indians and sold to a man named Beauty Smith, who named him White Fang. White Fang was a victim of abuse until he met a dog named Chief, who saved his life.

To become an Indian dog, Chief taught White Fang how to behave like one. Towards the end of the novel, White Fang and his companion Chief had many adventures together. As he travels, he encounters numerous canine companions. Happy ending! All the dogs live happily ever after in this book.

To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

The first thing you need to know about this book is that it is a well-known literary classic. The Pulitzer Prize for fiction was awarded to this book in 1960.

It’s also important to keep in mind that the book is a work of fiction rather than a nonfiction account of events. Dill and Scout Finch, their father Atticus and their friend Dill as they grow up in Alabama during the Great Depression.

This time, Atticus Finch is taking the stand for an African-American man accused of rape. However, people in his town attack him for winning the case because he defended the man. Both Scout and Jem have been impacted by this attack.

Check out these eleven timeless classics like To Kill a Mockingbird.

Treasure Island, by Robert Louis Stevenson

Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island is one of his best-known works. To find buried treasure, the story of Jim Hawkins, the son of an innkeeper, is told.

Long John Silver, one of the most infamous pirates in the world, joined him and his companions on their quest to find it. This is unquestionably one of the books like Call of the Wild on the list.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, by Mark Twain

First published in the UK in December 1884 and the United States two months later, this novel by Mark Twain is a classic of American literature.

Huck Finn, a young boy who flees his alcoholic father and sets off down the Mississippi River with Jim, the runaway slave is the subject of this adventure story.

Despite some critics calling Twain’s writing style “awkward,” later readers have praised it for its lively rhythm and expressive dialogue.

This is another one of those timeless classics like The Call of the Wind. If you enjoyed Huckleberry Fin, there are nine more books to check out.

Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea, by Jules Verne

Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea, by Jules Verne

Published in 1870, Jules Verne’s classic science fiction novel is widely considered one of the best ever written. “Nautilus” and Captain Nemo are depicted by one of his passengers, Professor Pierre Aronnax in this tale.

Previously, this ship was referred to in the original edition as technologically advanced. Later editions, on the other hand, removed the description.

Among Verne’s best works, this novel is regarded as one of the earliest examples of the submarine genre.

King of the Wind, by Marguerite Henry

The true story of a young colt who grew up to be one of the greatest racehorses in history is told in the book King of the Wind.

His birth, training, and racing career are documented in the book he wrote. In addition to the Newbery Medal, this book has won numerous other awards, including a Pulitzer Prize and an honorable mention in the National Book Critics Circle. A finalist for the National Book Award was also selected for the book.

Oliver Twist, by Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens’ novel Oliver Twist, also known as The Adventures of Oliver Twist, is one of his best-known works. The story follows the life of an orphan boy who grows up in a workhouse before being sold into an apprenticeship as an undertaker.

There were two editions of the book: a serial 1837–39 from Richard Bentley and a hardcover in 1838.

Around the World in Eighty Days, by Jules Verne

This is a synopsis of Jules Verne’s Around the World in Eighty Day (1828-1905). Some excerpts from well-known reviews are also included in the summary.

For Phileas Fogg, the stakes are high: £20,000 on his ability to complete an 80-day world tour. Passepartout, his valet, is always by his side. Their journey is the focus of the story. This is one of the books related to Call of The Wind on this books list.

Final Words:

Looking for something different from The Call of the Wild but still in the same genre? Take a look at our list below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.