4 Best Books Like Captain Underpants Update 05/2022

Books Like Captain Underpants

Superheroes! Humor! The bathroom is the best place to make toilet jokes! Flip-O-Ramas! Children have been entertained for a generation by this riotous combination of elements.

The Captain Underpants series is a popular one, but what if your child has already read the entire series, from the first Captain Underpants adventures all the way to Captain Underpants and the Purple Potty People? Then what? You have to find a way to keep your readers engaged.

You discover another show that they’ll enjoy just as much as their current one. Many of the hundreds of Captain Underpants fans who visit my library return time and time again to check out books from this list of the best books with similar reading levels.

1. King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor by Andy Riley

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor by Andy Riley

You have to fall in love with the name. In King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor, we get a story about a young king who is trying to outsmart the evil emperor while also getting a lot of laughs. Offbeat and unexpectedly dry, the humor lacks the gross-out humor of Captain Underpants, a series of books for beginning chapter book readers.

The story begins with King Edward (whose crown has a crown on each of its points, indicating that he is a king) distributing candy purchased with his weekly spending money to the peasants of his kingdom (the merry, plump, and smiling type of peasants, not the kind who dress in sacks and boil nettles for dinner). When the money runs out, the kingdom is left vulnerable to the evil emperor down the road, who threatens with the ominous sound of “Foo Hoo Hoo Hoo” because the other ominous sounds, such as “Mwahahaha,” have already been claimed by the enemy.

The story continues in a light-hearted, jovial tone.. The following are a few of my favorites: By sending his guards to search for spare change on the couches of the kingdom, King Edward tries to solve his financial woes. Because of this, they encounter a problem. Six additional guards needed to free them from the sofa tassels after some of them got their chain mail caught in the tassels.

The evil emperor decides to curse the kingdom with a dragon at another point, but all he can come up with is a green cow with candles on its nose painted to look like a dragon. Only Natasha, the little girl, realizes that the cow is a ruse all along. She screams, “It’s not a dragon!” “It’s a cow with a nose full of candles. That much is obvious! And there were no crop losses as a result. While trying to eat some grass, it accidentally smooched on a dandelion. Little Natasha, on the other hand, is ignored by everyone.

There are a lot of comical situations depicted in the illustrations. A quick and enjoyable read, with the promise of more to come in the series.

2. The Bad Guys by Aaron Blabey

This is a picture book with a lot of unusual humor. “Look Inside” over the book cover will give you a taste of what you can expect from this book’s illustrations and text. There are full-page illustrations and dialogue on each page, so you can see how the book is laid out.

When we first open the book, we are greeted by a silhouette of a wolf, his eyes glowing with a tinge of danger. He whispers, “Psst!” “What’s up, you?”

The next time we turn the page, we’ll see that he’s more like a fluffy ball who thinks he’s been misinterpreted. The man is attempting to convince us that his actions are morally acceptable. As if that wasn’t enough, he also wants to convince people that the snake, the shark, and the piranha are actually good guys.

Mr. Wolf, on the other hand, is eager to change his ways, but the other baddies aren’t as eager to do the same.

When it comes to reading, The Bad Guys is an excellent choice for kids who want to laugh at the misguided efforts of wolf and his sidekick heroes. Their “good guy” car rolls up to a tree where a cat is trapped, and the terrified feline climbs up the tree in response.

For our amusement, there are also a smattering of dry asides. The wolf wonders aloud at one point why his friends aren’t wearing their “good guy” hats. The snake says, “I don’t really have a head.”

It’s good to know that if this book is a hit with your children, they can look forward to more in the series.

3. Dog Diaries by James Pattersone

Dog Diaries by James Pattersone

What could be better than a diary written by a young person? Of course, it’s a diary kept by a dog.

James Patterson’s “Middle School Novels” books contain a subseries called “Dog Diaries,” but it stands on its own.

The narrator, a dog named Junior, has the kind of personality you’d expect from a dog, enthusiastic, positive, and easily distracted, especially by raccoons, which will entice children. In addition to being “in on the jokes,” young readers will also enjoy discovering that Junior sees the world in a very different way than they do.

It begins with an excited hound greeting us when we first open the book. He exclaims, “OOOOOH!” “Incredibly, you even took the time to open my book! A human-youngling is finally reading the beginning of my story after a long wait.” Later, he gives the reader a gift of his favorite stick, which he reveals to be his personal favorite. “I insist,” he says, “that it’s yours.” “Although one end has been chewed, the rest of it tastes great! It’s best not to do it all at once when crunching the numbers.”

Then, he begins to tell his story, beginning with the day he adopted Rafe Ketchadorian as his “pet human.” ” (which his doggy ears hear as “Ruff Catch-a-Doggy-Bone.) Mrs. Stricker, a rule-obsessed woman, threatens to return Junior to the pound unless he improves his behavior.

While this plot has been used in countless dog stories, the perspective of the dog gives it a new twist. There are only a few tenths of a point difference between the AR reading level for this book and Captain Underpants. With its large font and numerous illustrations, this book is a good choice for beginning chapter book readers.

4. Dog Man by Dav Pilkey

A mother and her 8-year-old son were just in my library the other day. Dog Man came to his mind when she asked him which book he wanted to buy. His friends told me that he had already read the first four books in the series and was looking forward to the upcoming release of the fifth. “Since we’re here, what other book do you want to get?” his mother inquired. “Dog Man,” he replied. In his opinion, this was the perfect book. He gave the impression that he would read every book in the series if there were a hundred of them. This is the first time I’ve seen kids this enthusiastic about a series since Captain Underpants.

At the beginning of the book, there is a preface about George and Harold’s desire to create a new graphic novel. They come up with this: A police officer and his dog are killed when a bomb goes off in their patrol car. When the police officer’s head and the dog’s body are on their last legs, the hospital has no choice but to sew the dog’s head to the man’s body, giving us a dogman. A rather gory introduction for the main character, but kids seem to be unfazed by the content.

A new story is told in each of the book’s short chapters. On top of everything else, you’ve got your trusty Flip-o-ramas. In addition, there is a cat villain. The cat uses an invisible spray in one of the chapters, which leads to all sorts of mischief. Basically, they’re stories that two kids would concoct. Many children will be inspired to create their own Dog Man comics after seeing the tutorials in the back of the book that show how to draw the characters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.