20 Best Books Like Crazy Rich Asians Update 05/2022

Books Like Crazy Rich Asians

If you’ve just finished the wildly entertaining Crazy Rich Asians trilogy and are looking for more books about the opulent lives of the wealthy, this list of recommended reads will satisfy your craving.

1. The Wangs vs the World by Jade Chang

The Wangs vs the World by Jade Chang

One of the most engrossing books like Crazy Rich Asians that I’ve read in the last year or so is this one. In a lighthearted way, this book pokes fun at both the story of an immigrant family in America and the American capitalist system as a whole.

Forget rags to riches; this isn’t the tale of a man who went from being poor to rich. In the wake of a wealthy immigrant family’s demise, they take a cross-country road trip. And, as you might expect, chaos ensues.

2. Sarong Party Girls by Cheryl Lu-Lien Tan

Emma’s vivacious debut is a modern Asian take on the classic story. Satirical look at hypocritical beauty standards and the clash between old traditions and new money in Singapore, set in Singapore’s glitzy moneyed city.

3. American Royals by Katharine McGee

This book is for you if you’re one of those people who is always keeping tabs on Harry and Meghan or Kate and William.

You’ll be captivated by the implausible but plausible premise of an American royal family akin to one from a soap opera.

4. The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

The story of four siblings and how their shared inheritance has led them to where they are today is a light-hearted read that will soon be made into a major motion picture. A satisfying family saga that’s perfect for lounging on the sand.

5. Five Star Billionaire by Tash Aw

This kaleidoscopic novel, which has been longlisted for the Booker Prize, gives us a rare glimpse into the glitz and glamor of urban Shanghai. Five migrants’ stories are intertwined in this beautifully written depiction of the conflict between old and new.

6. The Windfall by Diksha Basu

An uptight family in Delhi is the subject of this hilarious comedy of errors. This is the funniest novel to come out of India in a long time, according to Gary Shteyngart. That alone should persuade you to pick up a copy and give it a try.

7. Primates of Park Avenue: A Memoir by Wednesday martin

I recommend this book if you want to learn more about the ostentatious, vacuous world of the ultra-rich. In this entertaining book, Martin uses anthropology to analyze the affluent mothers of New York City’s Upper East Side.

8. Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton

Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton

This is a more sinister look at the inner workings of Manhattan’s affluent society and the struggles they face in order to maintain their opulent way of life. A sinfully sultry about toxic friendships and women’s insecurities, Gossip Girl meets The Talented Mr. Ripley in this

9. Fatal Inheritance by Rachel Rhys

A mysterious inheritance has been left to Eve by a wealthy stranger, but she must first travel to the glistening French Riviera in order to learn more. The decadence of 1940s France is the setting for this delicious thriller, making it an irresistible beach read.

10. The Pool House by Tasmina Perry

During the summer, Jen and her husband will be spending time with new friends in a private Hamptons house-share. If you’ve seen Revenge or Riviera, you’ll love this. There is just the right amount of glamour and racy scenes as well as relationship drama in The Pool House.

11. The Party by Elizabeth Day

“Brideshead RevisitedmeetsThe Talented Mr. Ripleywith a dash ofThe Riot Club” is a sophisticated page-turner. This is a darkly sinister story about betrayal and privilege that revolves around two men who have known each other for 25 years.

12. Swan Song by Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott

Swan Song by Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott

Truman Capote and his six swans, the most glamorous and influential women of their time, are the subject of this book, which bravely blends fact and fiction. They trusted Capote with their most intimate secrets because he was a well-known member of society.

13. What We Were Promised by Lucy Tan

This gripping tale of a newly wealthy American family returning to China after two decades in the United States is set in contemporary Shanghai. This novel makes important points about globalization and cultural assimilation by accurately depicting the lives of the wealthy in both countries.

14. Free Food for Millionaires by Min Jin Lee

The story of a woman of Korean American descent trying to break into Manhattan’s elite inner circle is told here by the author of National Book Award FinalistPachinko.

15. The Wives by Lauren Weisberger

The Wives by Lauren Weisberger

Newcomer Emily Charlton quickly learns that this is a town built on big lies, despite its small size.

According to the author of Devil Wears Prada, this novel is a cross between Real Housewives and The Good Wife.

16. The Windfall by Diksha Basu

In the search for books like Crazy Rich Asians, you can’t miss The Windfall, a lighthearted and heartfelt novel about a poor family in India who unexpectedly inherits a large sum of money.

17. China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan

To find out what happens next to Rachel and Nick, you don’t need a Crazy Rich Asians sequel. There’s always the next book in the series to dive into! Even so, the movie has a slightly different ending, so I recommend reading the book first.

18. Everything Was Goodbye by Gurjinder Basran

Everything Was Goodbye by Gurjinder Basran

She is torn between her Indian family’s traditional values and the newfound freedoms of life in the United States. After falling in love with Liam, she is forced to make a life-altering decision when he asks her to flee with him.

19. Rich People Problems by Kevin Kwan

Oh, did I mention that Crazy Rich Asians is a trilogy? Because Crazy Rich Asians is a trilogy. And obviously, you need to pick up the third installment, too.

20. Number One Chinese Restaurant by Lillian Li

When you finish reading Number One Chinese Restaurant, the story of the staff of the Beijing Duck House, you’ll want more.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.