6 Best Books Like Eleanor And Park Update 05/2022

Books Like Eleanor And Park

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, released in 2013, has received a slew of positive reviews as well as some harsh criticism. One of the most honest and realistic novels for young adults, it deals with issues like adolescent love, domestic violence, bullying, and the feeling of being an outsider. This list is a great place to look for more books like Eleanor & Park if you’ve just finished reading it.

6 Books like Eleanor & Park

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Looking for Alaska by John Green

You should read Looking for Alaska, the debut novel from the current king of young adult literature, if you’re looking for books like Eleanor & Park

As he prepares to transfer from his Florida suburban high school to a small boarding school in Alabama, sixteen-year-old Miles “Pudge” Halter is the focus of the book’s narrative. He makes new friends and falls in love with Alaska Young, a wild and troubled girl.

The first half of the book, which is divided into two sections, sets the stage for a pivotal moment in the protagonist’s life. Since its release in 2004, Looking for Alaska has sparked a great deal of debate by exploring themes such as adolescence, drinking, depression, loss, and sex. Because of its “inappropriate content,” the book has been removed from several school libraries, but it is still an excellent read that accurately portrays the difficulties that teenagers face in the modern world.

Hulu is adapting Looking for Alaska into a limited web series. One of the best contemporary young adult novels on the shelves if you want to read something like Eleanor & Park.

Is this your first time reading it? Find more books like Looking for Alaska on our recommended reading list.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

If you enjoyed Eleanor & Park for its straightforward prose, 1980s setting, and deep exploration of themes, you’ll love Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower just as much.

Introverted and reclusive Charlie has to get through his first year of high school in this 1997 novel, which takes place in the years 1990 and 1991. Charlie’s life at school is made a little easier by a dynamic group of new friends he meets after the suicide of his best friend the previous school year.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, which deals with sexual assault, abortion, homosexuality, mental illness, and underage drinking and drug use, is frequently the subject of heated debate and is frequently included on lists of books that should be avoided.

If you’re looking for books like Eleanor & Park, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a wonderful novel.

Is this your first time reading it? Consider some of the following titles: The Perks of Being a Wallflower:

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

As a follow-up to Eleanor & Park, which explores issues like mental illness, grief, and abuse through the lens of a teenage love story, Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places is an excellent choice.

Violet, a popular cheerleader at her high school, is struggling to come to terms with the recent death of her sister, while Finch, an introverted outsider, is battling an undiagnosed bipolar disorder. After making the decision to end their lives in the same place, the two run into each other.

Their relationship blossoms after they talk each other down from the ledge and begin working together on an academic project. Grief, abuse and depression are just some of the issues they face as they try to navigate the shifting tides of high school.

Since its publication in 2015, All the Bright Places has received a lot of critical acclaim and is currently being developed into a feature film to be released in 2019. Books like Eleanor Park and All the Bright Places are great choices because they both deal with similar themes.

Have you already finished reading this book? More books that might interest you are included on our list of All the Bright Places-like titles

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider is a wonderful and heartbreaking teen romance novel to read if you liked Eleanor & Park.

Ezra Faulkner, a popular high school student, loses his girlfriend and injures his leg in a car accident in the book, which follows.

A leg injury ended Ezra’s promising athletic career, and he must now deal with the loss of what had been an important part of his identity. Cassidy Thorpe, a wacky and intelligent woman, helps him deal with the loss of his mother.

Ezra meets new people and gets to know a different side of himself thanks to Cassidy. An excellent alternative to Eleanor & Park, The Beginning of Everything explores themes such as coming-of-age, first love, and dealing with loss.

The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharpe

The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharpe

Tim Tharpe’s 2008 novel, The Spectacular Now, is a great choice if you’re looking for something along the lines of Eleanor & Park.

Sutter Keely, a popular senior at his high school, is the focus of the novel. Sutter has no idea what he wants to do after high school because he only thinks about the present.

Everything changes when he meets Aimee by chance. Aimee is a smart, driven, shy, and introverted person who is very different from the Sutter family in terms of personality. They become friends despite their differences.

A great coming-of-age novel, The Spectacular Now explores a variety of themes, including young love, loss, and the relationships between parents and children. It’s an excellent choice if you’re looking for something along the lines of Eleanor & Park.

As well as the Sun, there is also the Star, the work of Korean-American Nicola Yoon.

Nicola Yoon’s The Sun Is Also a Star is an excellent choice if you’re looking for a novel that explores the themes of young love and current issues faced by teens.

Daniel and Natasha’s relationship is the focus of the novel, which follows a young woman of Jamaican descent who is proud of her logical thinking and intelligence. A whirlwind romance develops between Natasha and Daniel in the backdrop of New York City.

A deportation order has been issued against Nicola’s family as well. The novel, which has won numerous awards and garnered much critical acclaim, does an excellent job of addressing racial prejudices and adolescent love. As a feature film, it is scheduled to be released in May 2019.

The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon is an excellent choice for fans of Eleanor Park and other books about teen relationships dealing with external issues.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, released the same year as Eleanor & Park, is a worthy addition to this list.

Cath, an introverted and socially anxious young woman, is the protagonist of the novel, which follows her as she begins her freshman year of college. Cath is dealing with a rift in her relationship with her twin sister and the sense that she is living in the shadow of her.

She devotes most of her free time outside of school to writing fanfiction for a fantasy novel. After meeting and falling in love with Levi, Cath gradually withdraws, becoming increasingly anxious.

For those looking for a book similar to Eleanor & Park, Fangirl is an excellent choice because it addresses issues of mental illness and other challenges faced by young adults today.

Has this book already been read by you? The following is a list of similar books to Fangirl.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.