8 Best Books Like Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine Update 05/2022

Books Like Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

Affiliate links may be used in this post. A small percentage of your purchase will go to me if you click on the link and complete the transaction. If you have any further questions, please see the disclosures.

Make a reading list that includes books like Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine. Similarities to Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine can be found in these books, which feature loners, women dealing with trauma, and unlikely friendships.

Eleanor Oliphant’s quirky observations, blunt and amusing interactions, and heartwarming journey toward happiness have captivated so many readers.

“Up-lit,” or uplifting literature, began with “Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine “by Gail Honeyman. It’s not all sunshine and rainbows in these books. Most of them have a dark undertone, so when their protagonists finally find happiness and contentment, it’s all the sweeter.

This list includes some up-lit as well as some fiction that doesn’t necessarily fall into that category but is similar in other ways to Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.

Many are about loners, some of whom are happy to be alone while others are looking for companionship; others are about people dealing with the effects of trauma from their pasts.

It doesn’t matter what you like about Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine; there are many excellent books to follow.

Books Like Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

How Not to Die Alone

How Not to Die Alone

Author: Richard Roper

In the course of his work, Andrew is required to enter the residences of the recently deceased in order to locate their next of kin (or money for a funeral). Coworkers have been led to believe that he has a wife, family, and home. He is, in fact, all by himself, grieving over old wounds and losses. His life becomes less lonely when a new coworker comes along with him on his outings.

Is Completely Fine and Eleanor Oliphant have some things in common:

In search of human connection as a lonely British office worker

Traumas from a previous life

Friendships formed out of the blue

Eggshells

Author: Catriona Lally

She spends her days wandering the streets of Dublin, searching for the doorway to the other world her parents claimed she came from. The search for a friend, specifically one named Penelope, becomes too much for her, so she posts an ad in the local paper. It’s difficult for Vivian to know how to respond to Penelope when she reaches out.

If Eleanor’s awkward, quirky voice appeals to you, you might enjoy Vivian, who goes even further off the rails.

Is Completely Fine and Eleanor Oliphant have some things in common:

A story about a lonely, socially awkward woman told through the eyes of the characters in the story.

Mental health issues in adulthood can be traced back to childhood trauma.

Friendships are difficult to form.

A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove

Author: Fredrik Backman

Ove is a reclusive cynic who is unyielding in his disapproval of anyone who gets in his way. In reality, he’s a soft-hearted man who’s committed to his morals and whose world is about to be rocked by several people (and a cat) who refuse to be held back by a few cranky words. Ove is a wonderful mix of lightheartedness, sadness, and love.

Is Completely Fine and Eleanor Oliphant have some things in common:

Past wounds are still fresh in the mind of a lonely soul.

Friendships formed out of the blue

Awkward and amusing encounters

The Language of Flowers

Author: Vanessa Diffenbaugh

Now that she’s grown up and left the foster care system, Victoria has landed a job at a florist. She comes to realize that it is her ability to match people with the perfect flowers that makes her so special. As she gains more self-assuredness, she finds it more difficult to build relationships and trust other people.

Is Completely Fine and Eleanor Oliphant have some things in common:

On her own and struggling to make friends, this is a woman

Trauma inflicted on a child as

The Rosie Project

Author: Graeme Simsion

What he calls The Wife Project is an Australian genetics professor’s quest to find the woman of his dreams. A scientific approach will be the best way for Don to find someone with Asperger’s syndrome.

In his travels, he runs into Rosie, a woman he quickly eliminates from The Wife Project but who intrigues him with her quest to find her biological father. As soon as Rosie shows up in his life, he jumps right into The Father Project. This is just the beginning of many unexpected outbursts of energy and excitement.

Is Completely Fine and Eleanor Oliphant have some things in common:

Lonely soul looking for a friend

Observations on the world that are both quirky and amusing.

Friendships formed despite all odds

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

Author: Abbi Waxman

Nina is a recluse, a voracious reader, and a nerd at heart. She is content with her small, routine life as a librarian and a member of a trivia team (and trying to decide how she feels about an intriguing competitor). When she is named in the will of a father she has never met, her life is upended and she is forced to deal with a large and complex family.

If you like books about introverts, this one is a better fit for you than Eleanor. Nina is more confident in herself and the life she’s chosen.

Is Completely Fine and Eleanor Oliphant have some things in common:

Women who are more reclusive and stick to a schedule

The present is being shaken by the effects of issues from the past.

Eleven Books on Grief and Loss That Will Make You Tear Up

Boop and Eve’s Road Trip

Author: Mary Helen Sheriff

Her best friend and cousin Ally’s well-being is a concern for Eve as a college student. Signs are pointing to trouble for her because she hasn’t heard from her in a while. There are many signs that Eve’s grandmother Boop, Eve’s mother, is concerned about Even, and she knows something about major depression. Once on the road, Eve hopes to find Ally and Boop debating whether or not to tell her family’s long-kept secret.

Is Completely Fine and Eleanor Oliphant have some things in common:

Women who are depressed

Relationships that make you smile.

Secrets of the past.

The following is a list of 15 books that are sure to lift your spirits:

Harry’s Trees

Author: Jon Cohen

Harry, 34, a Forest Service employee, takes refuge in the trees after his wife, a 34-year-old mother of two, is unexpectedly killed. There he meets a young girl and her mother, both of whom have lost their fathers and husbands and are in the process of grieving.

Because of her faith in magic and fairy tales, the young woman, Oriana, is certain that she and Harry are on a mission. In order for them to come out of their grief, they must finish it.

Is Completely Fine and Eleanor Oliphant have some things in common:

Grieving and grappling with the past, lonesome

Friendships that are unexpected and uplifting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.