9 Best Books Like Everything Everything Update 05/2022

Books Like Everything Everything

When Everything, Everything was first published in 2015, it was adapted into a film about a teenage girl with an immunodeficiency disease. Everything, Everything isn’t just a story about first love in desperate circumstances; it’s also about how your past can affect your future and how far someone is willing to go for the ones they love.

The plot: Maddy Whittier, a teenage girl with SCID (severe combined immunodeficiency), is on the verge of death if she leaves her mother’s house, her books, or her nurse. Maddy’s mother is extremely protective, but Maddy understands why.

Olly moves in next door, and she’s not happy about it. In the beginning, they communicate by way of her window, but Maddy decides she wants something more.

On her journey into love, Maddy is confronted with an incredible revelation, which will change her life forever.

Books like Everything, Everything

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green

In the vein of Everything, Everything, this book tells the story of a love that perseveres despite adversity. According to reports, Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar Act 1 Scene 2 served as inspiration for the title.

As a result of being encouraged to join a support group, sixteen-year-old Hazel Lancaster, who has thyroid cancer, meets Augustus Waters and Isaac, a fellow group member. Gus and Hazel develop a strong connection despite their first encounter being tense..

While reading her favorite book, Gus meets the author and they travel to Amsterdam together.

Despite the fact that their relationship will never end happily, Green still manages to tell their story with a mix of heartwarming emotion and wry humor.

This is why The Fault in Our Stars is an excellent choice if you liked Everything, Everything. Keep a box of tissues close at hand!

Do you like John Green’s writing? Find more books like Looking for Alaska on our recommended reading list.

Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott

Everything is Five Feet Apart is another book in the same vein. In 2019, a film adaptation of this novel was released. Although sad stories are common, this one was inspired by a real-life couple.

Because both Stella and Will have cystic fibrosis, they must stay at least five feet apart to prevent the spread of disease that could be fatal to either of them.

She’s a rule follower, whereas he’s a rule breaker. A date is eventually agreed upon by her. On their date, Will learns that Stella has a lung transplant waiting for her, but she refuses to tell him.

Whether it’s happy or sad tears, make sure to stock up on new tissues.

Opposite of Always, by Justin A Reynolds

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Justin A Reynolds is a must-read if you’re a fan of Everything, Everything and the mystery of time travel.

Jack and Kate, our young lovers, meet at a party and instantly click, but Kate has something to hide from Jack.

After Kate’s death, their relationship continues to grow. She kept her illness a secret from Jack. His fall sets off a time loop in which he attempts to go back in time and save her, but he will have to deal with the consequences of time travel.

Similar to the story in Everything, Everything, this one asks the reader: how far would you go to save those you care about?

If you’re looking for “fantasy” and “engaging love story,” Opposite of Always might be the book for you.

A Quiet Kind of Thunder, by Sara Barnard

A Quiet Kind of Thunder, by Sara Barnard

Having to deal with adolescent angst and social awkwardness is difficult enough, but when you add in the fact that neither of you can speak, it becomes even more difficult.

Steffi is mute and Rhys is deaf. Rhys is her sign language partner at school because she has some knowledge of the language. Slowly but surely, this extraordinary partnership blossoms into a passionate relationship.

While working at an animal shelter part-time, Steffi hopes to become a veterinarian in the future. Will she be able to overcome her fear of speaking to strangers and pursue her dream of attending college?

In this book, like Everything, Everything, you’ll be hoping and praying for Rhys and Steffi to win. Love conquers all.

The Rest of the Story, by Sarah Dessen

However, Emma Saylor has fond memories of her mother telling her stories about the lake where they once lived. When Emma Saylor spends the summer with her late mother’s family, she discovers a new side of herself.

Roo, a childhood best friend who she hasn’t seen in years, helps her unearth details about her family’s past. Emma’s three-week stay at the lake is suddenly cut short when their friendship blossoms into something more.

Over time, we learn new things about our family history, some of which may surprise us, and others of which we’d prefer to forget. Family dynamics are examined in greater detail in this section.

If you’re looking for something to read while relaxing on the beach, this is an excellent choice.

It Only Happens in the Movies, by Holly Bourne

To find love in a novel like Everything, Everything, Audrey must overcome her past and her parents’ divorce. In the beginning, the story arc is similar to that of a typical romance novel, but Bourne defies some of the conventions. There aren’t any spoilers in this article!

Audrey, who works at a local independent cinema, has been deeply affected by her mother’s breakdown as a result of their divorce. After watching countless romantic comedies, she knows exactly what it’s like to experience true love for the first time.

Harry, a new employee at the cinema, introduces himself to her while she’s at work. Rose-colored glasses readers will see their journey through the prism of a romance novel; however, the outcomes are not always what you’d anticipate.

It Only Happens in the Movies is a good choice if you prefer your romances with a healthy dose of realism.

The Geography of You and Me, by Jennifer E Smith

The Geography of You and Me, by Jennifer E Smith

The moment Owen and Lucy first meet in an elevator during a power outage, they immediately feel an inseparable bond.

The story begins in an apartment building in New York City, where it is told from both perspectives. This magical night is sparked by a city-wide power outage, which brings our main characters together in a way they’ll never forget.

Though life separates Owen and Lucy as they pursue their own stories from Edinburgh to Prague, they never forget their first meeting and send each other postcards and emails whenever they remember to.

No matter how far apart you are, can you have a long-term relationship? It gives us all hope that the answer is a resounding “yes!”

If I Stay, by Gayle Forman

One day Mia and her family are involved in a car accident, and this book tells the story of their ordeal through the eyes of a teen. The condition of Mia’s younger brother is critical, and her parents are both gone.

She can see and hear everything that’s going on, including herself on the operating table, but she has no sensation in her hand being held by her boyfriend, Adam, during her out-of-body experience.

Mia examines her life from a distance in a series of flashbacks in If I Stay, which tells a moving story about young love, family, and death. What happened before and how she’ll get through if she decides to go back is something she’ll have to face.

Like Everything, Everything, this novel should be on your bookshelf or e-reader if you like to live in the in-between of smiling and crying.

Every Day, by David Levithan

An award-winning YA novel, this book about first love features a main character who is neither male nor female and changes bodies every day. The book is similar to Everything, Everything in that it also features a main character who has an unusual disability: he is neither male nor female.

When he transforms into Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon, he breaks all the rules he’s learned about not interfering or becoming too attached to the people in his ‘hosts’ lives. When he realizes he has no real identity, A begins to look for ways to be with Rhiannon even though this affects the bodies he inhabits in the future.

If you enjoyed Every Day and would like to know what it was like for Rhiannon, you can read Another Day, the sequel to Every Day. Another book, Someday, explores the question of what makes us human.?

You need to avoid focusing the narrative on the problems but instead let the story emerge from the adversity when writing about any kind of disability, whether physical or otherwise. They may be struggling to overcome difficulties in these books like Everything, Everything, but the stories here are poignant, funny, and skillfully told. Love, as we all know, is a powerful force.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.