10 Best Books Like Fablehaven Update 05/2022

Books Like Fablehaven

A World Without Heroes (Beyonders #1)

A World Without Heroes (Beyonders #1)

by Brandon Mull (Goodreads Author)

A routine day at the zoo ends with Jason suddenly being transported to a place unlike anything he’s ever seen, making him wish for a more unpredictable life. People in Lyrian used to be friendly to those from other worlds, but that has all changed under the wizard emperor Maldor. There is an atmosphere of fear and distrust in the wake of the emperor’s brave opponents being bought off or slain.

Jason meets Rachel, who was also mysteriously drawn to Lyrian from our world while searching for a way back home. When Jason and Rachel join forces with a few scattered rebels, they discover that their only hope of returning home is to save this world without heroes.

Adventurers Wanted, Book 1

by M.L. Forman 

Mr. Clutter’s bookshop window has a small sign tucked in the corner: “Wanted: Adventurers. Use within.” Only Alex Taylor, a fifteen-year-old boy, appears to be aware of its presence. And it’s an irresistible invitation for Alex, who’s long wished for a change in his life.

Alex is whisked away to a land of heroic warriors, mysterious elves, and hard-working dwarves when he enters Mr. Clutter’s shop.

Alex joins a group of intrepid explorers on a quest to find the legendary lair of the evil dragon Slathbog the Red, home of a legendary treasure. They’ll have to deal with dangerous trolls and bandits along the way, as well as the living dead and undead wraiths, and seek out the Oracle’s guidance in her White Tower along the way as well.

Alex’s journey takes him to faraway lands where he encounters people who teach him the importance of character traits like courage, honour, and friendship.

YA epic fantasy series Slathbog’s Gold is the first book in a new series by a major new talent in the genre. (less)

Red Riding Hood

by Sarah Blakley-Cartwright

A young girl’s body is found in a wheat field. Claw marks are clearly visible on her skin. The Wolf has shattered tranquility with his savage prowess.

It is Valerie’s responsibility to solve the long-running mystery of her village’s most fabled resident’s death at the hands of the fabled monster. When it is revealed that the werewolf has taken up residence among them, the entire hamlet is cast as a suspect. She wonders if her secret love, Peter, is responsible for the attacks on her town. Henry, is that her fiancé? Can you think of someone even closer?

Valerie asks her grandmother for help as the men of the village search for the beast. With the help of Valerie’s red cloak, Valerie is guided through the web of deception that has been the foundation of her town for so long. Will Valerie be able to identify the werewolf in time to save the town?

In this new interpretation of a classic fairy tale, the happy ending may be difficult to come by.

Rogue Knight (Five Kingdoms)

Rogue Knight (Five Kingdoms)

by Brandon Mull 

Fablehaven #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Fablehaven and Beyonders series returns with another “fanciful, action-packed adventure” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

When Cole Randolph’s friends were kidnapped on Halloween, he had no choice but to head to The Outskirts to save them. Now he’s caught in limbo, torn between the worlds of waking reality and dreamlike fantasy, between life and death.

His search for his long-lost friends has brought him to the land of Elloweer. On his journey to find Honor’s sister with the help of new friends Twitch and Jace, Cole becomes an ally of the resistance movement.

Elloweer, on the other hand, is unstable. A mysterious foe is obliterating towns, and there are no witnesses or survivors to corroborate this claim. And the “Rogue Knight,” an infamous rebel known throughout the kingdom, is upsetting the balance of power.

As their pursuers close in, Cole and Mira are forced to use an intriguing new form of magic in order to stay safe. Cole and his companions face peril at every turn as they attempt to outmaneuver the High King, who will stop at nothing to reclaim what he has lost. […]

The Storm Crow

Author Kalyn Josephson

Magical, elemental Crows abound in Rhodaire, a lush tropical kingdom, until the Illucian empire invades and wipes out everything.

Princess Anthia is in a deep state of depression as a result of what happened that terrible night. After their mother’s death, Caliza, her older sister, is in charge of running the kingdom.

Dragonsong

Author Anne McCaffrey

The books on my “formative fiction” shelf don’t have to be masterpieces or even particularly good; they just have to have a meaning that changed me or helped me see the world in a new light. Dragonsong, fortunately, is also an excellent book of its genre.

The greatest…

The Wishsong of Shannara

The Wishsong of Shannara

Author Terry Brooks

The Four Lands are being terrorized. The Ildatch, an ancient tome of evil spells, has awoken from its slumber and dispatched its foul Mord Wraiths to bring about the final doom of mankind. A descendant of Jerle Shannara is once again required to assist Allanon, ancient Druid Protector for the Races. Brin,…

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Boxed Set

Author Rick Riordan

Readers, please be aware of the following:

Rick Riordan’s books are arranged in chronological order:

For starters, there’s Percy Jackson’s Heroes of Olympus, then there’s Trials of Apollo and Magnus Chase.

(Or, if you can’t remember, click here &… )

Lodestar

Lodestar

Author Shannon Messenger

In this thrilling fifth book in the best-selling KEEPER OF THE LOST CITIES SERIES, dark schemes unfold and Sophie’s loyalty is tested to the limit.

Lost Cities have changed since Sophie Foster’s return to them. War looms large over her glimmering world, and the threat of…

The Scions of Shannara

Author Terry Brooks

I’d like a way to rate the book, as well as a way to rate the specific copy that I received. I’ve got the audio from OverDrive, but the gain is so low that even with my speakers turned up to maximum and the audio controls on my computer cranked all the way up, I could barely hear anything…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.