8 Best Books Like Five Feet Apart Update 05/2022

Books Like Five Feet Apart

Most of us like stories about young love, but when something or someone gets in the way of that love, it makes for an unforgettable tale. Because of this, many readers are eagerly awaiting books like Rachel Lippincott’s Five Feet Apart.

On the basis of a real couple, Five Feet Apart tells the story of a couple with late-stage cystic fibrosis. As a result, Will has signed up to participate in a clinical trial for the treatment of lung disease. There is a high risk of contamination, which could jeopardize their chances of getting the help they need.

After spending most of her life in and out of hospitals, both Will and Stella are eager for a more normal life, but are aware of their limitations.

When you’re done reading this heartbreaking tale, you’ll be grateful for all that you have in your life.

Check out the list below to see if any of these books are similar to Five Feet Apart.

Books like Five Feet Apart

Five Steps to Happy, by Ella Dove

Five Steps to Happy, by Ella Dove

If you enjoyed Five Feet Apart, then Five Steps to Happy should be a logical next step for you to read.

When Heidi’s world is shattered by an accident and she becomes an amputee, she tells a heartbreaking story of the hardships and changes she must endure.

Heidi’s new roommate, Maud, becomes her confidant, and things begin to improve for Heidi when Maud’s grandson visits. Is it possible that her life isn’t over?

Despite the fact that it is based on the author’s own life, this is not a biography. Instead of wallowing in self-pity, this is a story about how Heidi and her family deal with the highs and lows of their new lives together.

Everything, Everything, by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything has been mentioned before, but I don’t think I could recommend a book like Five Feet Apart without mentioning it.

Young Maddy Whittier has a controlling mother and an insatiable curiosity about the world. Maddy has a severe immunodeficiency disease that prevents her from going outside at all, so she spends most of her time indoors.

When she meets Olly, her new neighbor, she realizes she hasn’t made peace with her life yet. He’s dashing, self-assured, and just a tad crazy. Even though they can only communicate via her bubble, she longs for more: for more contact, more experiences, and more than her small world can offer.

This heartwarming and heartbreaking tale of first love, trust, and adversity will stay with you long after you close the book.

Have you already read it? Our list of books like Everything, Everything! is here for your perusal.

A Love Like This, by Maria Duffy

To what extent do you believe in the concept of “fortune?” Is fate just another word for coincidence when it comes to the decisions we make on a daily basis?

On a Dublin hospital ward, A Love Like This begins in 1985 and follows the improbable story of Will and Donna, who are destined for each other no matter what.

They share the same birthday, but their upbringings couldn’t be more different. Although they’ve crossed paths numerous times over the years, events such as an earthquake have prevented them from actually meeting.

Then, after being separated for so long, they finally meet up, thousands of miles apart. You’ve been holding your breath throughout the book, but now you’re able to let out a sigh of relief! Is there any hope for this couple to be together in the future?

For those of us who believe that if we’re meant to be together, the universe will find a way, Five Feet Apart is a must-read.

Cold Summer, by Gwen Cole

Cold Summer, by Gwen Cole

For fans of Time Travel Romance like Five Feet Apart, Cold Summer deserves a place on your shelf.

Kale Jackson has PTSD as a result of his service in World War II. The future and the present are both out of his hands, and he has no idea which is which. When an old friend comes back into his life, his mental health and his relationship with his father begin to recover from the effects of his time traveling.

After moving in with her uncle, Harper helps Kale get back to the person he used to be. Harper discovers a historical record of his death, which he hopes will allow him to return to the present.

Similarly to the plot of Five Feet Apart, the romance in this book begins awkwardly but develops organically into something more lasting as time passes.

Invisible Ghosts, by Robyn Schneider

Like me, Robyn Schneider has a wide range of favorite books, from Haruki Murakami’s “Norwegian Wood” to the Harry Potter series. Her first novel, The Beginning of Everything, was a huge success, and this is her third, including Invisible Ghosts.

A fifteen-year-old named Logan is Rose Asher’s best friend. He’s also her dead brother. When Jamie Aldridge, the popular and self-assured local girl, returns to town, she realizes what she has been missing out on by spending so much time with the ghost of her brother.

In her journey from socially awkward to social butterfly, Logan has been nothing but unsupportive. Jamie gradually wins Rose’s affections, but she’s convinced he’s hiding something from her.

This is a story about coping with grief and finding your place in the world. A second chance at friendship and romance awaits our main character in this book, similar to the one in Five Feet Apart.

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green

It’s even more remarkable when love blossoms in the most unlikely of circumstances. Teenage Hazel has been battling cancer for most of her life and has lost all hope until she meets Augustus Waters in the novel The Fault in Our Stars.

Gus is a cancer survivor and they meet at a support group. In spite of their differences, they form a special relationship. As a result of her request that he read her favorite book, they end up in Amsterdam, where they meet the author.

No matter how heartbreaking the storyline may be, Green has found ways to make it more bearable by incorporating a lot of wit into the mix.

A must-read if you enjoyed Rachel Lippencott’s Five Feet Apart and are looking for more books of the same caliber.

Have you already read it? If you enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars, you might like some of these suggestions:

Reason to Breathe, by Rebecca Donovan

Reason to Breathe, by Rebecca Donovan

The first book in the Breathing series, Five Feet Apart-esque, is out now. Why Breathe is a gripping tale of abuse, first love, and the importance of your best friend in your adolescence that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Emma Thomas is a devil’s advocate in a posh town where first impressions count for a lot.

When Emma was a child, her mother was unable to deal with the loss of her father, so she was sent to live with her aunt and uncle. Sara, her best friend, helps to make her home life bearable.

It’s a good thing that Evan Mathews moves into town because it makes her realize that she deserves love and happiness.

This book, like Five Feet Apart, will leave you breathless until the very end if you can handle reading about abuse without wanting to tear the pages apart.

We Come Apart, by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan

Previous novels by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan each received honors for their authors. They join forces in this book, just as they did in Five Feet Apart. An anthology of poems, We Come Apart is written from multiple points of view in a fluid narrative.

It is Nicu’s father’s wish that he return to Romania to marry, so he has brought the Romanian immigrant here to England.

Abuse and misery abound in Jess’s household.

While Nicu is enthusiastic, he is also somewhat awkward.

She defies authority.

To be with Jess is all Nicu wants in the world.

Nicu is off limits to Jess.

As a result of their shoplifting arrests, they form a close friendship. They form a bond of safety through their shared experiences in this book, which is similar to Five Feet Apart.

The authors on this list have tackled difficult subjects like child abuse, loneliness, bullying, and even terminal illness. Like Five Feet Apart, I hope you’ll enjoy this collection of powerful books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.