8 Best Books Like Frankenstein Update 05/2022

Books Like Frankenstein

A novel that many consider to be the very first science fiction story was written by Mary Shelley when she was just 18 years old. Furthermore, her book’s influence on the horror genre can’t be overstated, and has inspired numerous films, plays, and stories. However, even though it was published anonymously in 1818, the novel’s enduring popularity makes it one of literature’s true classics. Shelley’s themes in Frankenstein continue to be used by contemporary authors to this day. Check out other books like Frankenstein if you’re a fan of Victor Frankenstein and his monster.

R.U.R (Rossum’s Universal Robots)

R.U.R (Rossum's Universal Robots)

by Karel Capek

A century after Mary Shelley’s novel Frankenstein, R.U.R. had a massive impact on popular culture, as well. Another first in this novel’s canon is the use of the word “robot” for the first time. When humans create robots, they hope that they will one day be able to lead a utopian life. Humans eventually stop reproducing when they lose their sense of purpose as a result of this. As with Frankenstein’s monster, the robots will eventually turn on their creators. It is, however, left to the robots to learn the secret of self-duplication after their creators are killed.

Man Made Boy

by Jon Skovron

Man Made Boy by Jon Skovron is a good choice for fans of Frankenstein who want something a little more heartwarming and less spooky. Boy, a seventeen-year-old boy, is the protagonist of this story. He lives in the catacombs beneath Times Square with a slew of other monsters and creatures as the son of Frankenstein’s monster and the Bride of Frankenstein. To earn a living, these mythical and magical creatures perform as a theater troupe, but Boy and his parents are shunned by the other members of the troupe because of their scientific nature. The boy is unable to bear this treatment any longer and decides to flee, but he encounters even more difficulties in the process. Fans of monsters will enjoy Man-Made Boy, which features memorable characters and heartwarming moments.

The Island of Doctor Moreau

by H.G. Wells

The Island of Doctor Moreau, in contrast to Frankenstein, is about a man who attempts to create new life forms by fusing together the bodies of men and animals from various cadavers. Edward Prendick, who is shipwrecked and left on a remote island, tells the story. Soon after arriving on the island, Prendick discovers that the island is home to Dr. Moreau, who was once considered a genius for his twisted experiments until they were uncovered. Prendick’s situation worsens when he learns that Moreau intends to add him to his gruesome collection. When Prendick has no other choice, he flees into the jungle, where he finds all of Moreau’s anthropomorphic creations.

Spare and Found Parts

Spare and Found Parts

by Sarah Maria Griffin

Frankenstein builds a mate for his monster out of spare parts and an artificial brain, a concept that was first introduced in the novel and then expanded upon in the film adaptation, Bride of Frankenstein. After surviving a devastating epidemic, everyone in the city of Spare and Found Parts by Sarah Maria Griffin has lost body parts. To distinguish herself from everyone else, she is the only one to have biomechanical limbs but no biomechanical heart. After finding a mannequin hand washed up on the shore, Nell, driven by loneliness, devises a plan to construct her own companion. Her quest also leads her to uncover some disturbing secrets about her hometown and her late father, which is unfortunate because she lives in a society that now shudders at the mere mention of modern technology. Despite the grim, dystopian setting, the story has a strong Frankensteinian feel to it.

This Monstrous Thing

by Mackenzi Lee

In Mackenzi Lee’s novel, This Monstrous Thing, the Mary Shelley novel Frankenstein not only serves as inspiration, but also plays an important role in the plot. Clockwork-powered society is the norm in this alternate fantasy world. To make matters worse, after Oliver Finch’s death a young mechanic named Alasdair Finch takes matters into his own hands and uses clockwork pieces to bring his brother back from the dead. Even though Alasdair is able to bring Oliver back to life, he discovers that the man his brother once was has returned in monstrous form. As a result, the townspeople see the brothers as a real-life version of Dr. Frankenstein and his monstrous creation, Frankenstein’s monster.

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein

by Kiersten White

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Kiersten White is one of the most popular retellings of Frankenstein. Elizabeth, a character who played a more passive role in the original story, now has a story of her own, one that is rich in emotion. When Elizabeth was a child, she was taken in by the Frankenstein family and later became Victor’s fiancée, as fans of the Mary Shelley novel will recall. This book chronicles her unwavering will to live in the face of the world falling apart around her due to Victor’s irrationality. The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein pays homage to the original novel while also serving as a stand-alone work of fiction.

Jurassic Park

Jurassic Park

by Michael Crichton

Science gone awry doesn’t get better than a person cloning dinosaurs and losing control of massive, ferocious animals eager to reclaim their position in the food chain. Current issues, such as the dangers of capitalism, are addressed in Michael Crichton’s 1990 bestseller. The clones aren’t made for research, but for the amusement park that gives the book its title to profit from their commercial exploitation. An expert in science fiction stories, who had previously dabbled in Frankenstein’s monster themes in his 1972 novel The Terminal Man, penned Jurassic Park. It’s true that Jurassic Park is one of Crichton’s best-known books; it was made into a movie directed by Steven Spielberg in 1992. (and a long film franchise that continues today).

The Monster Men 

by Edgar Rice Burroughs

Edgar Rice Burroughs, a pulp-fiction author best known for Tarzan of the Apes and John Carter of Mars, created two iconic literary characters. However, he was also a prolific sci-fi/horror filmmaker, and one of his best known works is this adventure that sounds like a cross between Frankenstein and The Island of Dr. Moreau. On an island off the coast of Borneo, two scientists created a humanoid being known as Experiment Number Thirteen. There is a rebellion against the experimenters, and the 12 previously created monster-men go on a series of jungle adventures. This is one of the earliest examples of a story in which the creature is a hero rather than a terrifying foe. We get a good mix of action, horror, and romance in the end. Enjoyable, I think.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.