7 Best Books Like Game Of Thrones Update 05/2022

Books Like Game Of Thrones

If you’re looking for more books like “Game of Thrones,” here are some suggestions:

There is a good chance you’ve seen the Game of Thrones TV series at some point in the last decade.

Despite the fact that the epic A Song of Ice and Fire book series by George R. R. Martin has yet to be completed, the television adaptation has proven to skeptics that high-brow fantasy can be just as entertaining.

Strong characters, political turmoil, and internal squabbles are just some of the elements that entice you into Martin’s world of intrigue and intrigue. They grab you by the hand (or throat) and won’t let you go. Cersei, Eddard Catelyn Tyrion Jon Bran Dany Littlefinger and more.

It’s possible to find other books like A Game of Thrones if you have already devoured Martin’s epic-to-date.

Books like Game of Thrones

The Court of Broken Knives, by Anna Smith Spark

The Court of Broken Knives, by Anna Smith Spark

The characters in books like A Game of Thrones tend to be well-developed and believable. You can both admire and despise the flawed characters in Spark’s debut grimdark fantasy. When it comes to life, there is no such thing as a useless thing. It’s impossible to read that and not feel gloomy and pessimistic.

The first chapter is bloody, and while it was difficult to follow at first, the story kept pulling me along. Characters such as Thalia, Marith, Orham, and Tobias have distinct personalities and are well-drawn. Even if you despise them for their actions, you still want to know what happens.

The inclusion of gay and bisexual characters in Spark’s debut is one of the many strengths of the book. People in the fictional world of The Court of Broken Knives are just as real and believable as people in our own. Were it not for this, fans of A Game of Thrones would be mad as hell.

The Mistborn Trilogy, by Brandon Sanderson

I recommend Sanderson’s The Mistborn if you’re looking for books like A Game of Thrones, even if you’re not familiar with his name. These books are so much fun to read that I can’t express how much I enjoy them.

Rather than rely on tired tropes, Sanderson chooses to throw as many out the window as possible in his work. In order to use the magic system on display, users must first consume metals that give them their powers before burning them. However, only a small number of ‘Allomancers,’ who are capable of igniting any metal, are given the name Mistborn.

Volcanoes spew ash into the atmosphere constantly, turning the earth brown and the sky red. Characters populating this world are driven and varied by circumstance, as you can imagine. Without giving anything away, it’s difficult to get into the story’s complex web of subplots. If you’re a fan of A Game of Thrones, The Mistborn is a must-read.

Have you already finished the series? See more books like Mistborn on our list!

The Wheel of Time, by Robert Jordan

The Wheel of Time, by Robert Jordan

When discussing books like A Game of Thrones, Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series has to be mentioned. When Jordan died in 2007, Brandon Sanderson finished the 14-volume series he had started under the pseudonym James Oliver Rigney Jr.

With each new novel incorporating elements from both Asian and European mythologies, The Eye of the World has become a fascinating look into our own history. The rich and diverse cast of characters that inhabit the world of The Wheel of Time novels, on the other hand, is what makes the show “A Game of Thrones” what it is.

As opposed to Martin’s world in A Game of Thrones, Jordan’s universe has a much larger cast. A journey more epic than any seen in Martin’s universe so far begins with Moiraine and Lan, her Warder and protector. The scope of A Game of Thrones differs from that of A Song of Ice and Fire, but neither is inferior.

In a similar vein to Game of Thrones, Amazon Prime has ordered a TV series starring Jordan’s characters and world, which will be produced by Sony Pictures Television.

Have you already read it? See our list of additional books that are similar to The Wheel of Time.

Black Leopard, Red Wolf, by Marlon James

In 2019, it was released. Unlike A Game of Thrones, Black Leopard, Red Wolf really makes you feel like you’re immersed in a world that’s both familiar and unique. Tracker is the protagonist of the first installment of a planned trilogy. He’s renowned for his hunting prowess, which enables him to track down anyone or anything.

In order to find a missing boy from the North Kingdom, Tracker is forced to break his rule of “always working alone” when he comes across other people searching for the missing child.

There is a distinct difference in tone between James’s novel and Martin’s, which focuses on African history and mysticism. In anticipation of the inevitable film adaptation, which won’t be too far away now that Michael B. Jordan has optioned the rights, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to the next in the series.

The Broken Empire Series, by Mark Lawrence

The Broken Empire Series, by Mark Lawrence

A Game of Thrones by Mark Lawrence, for example, flips the script on the humble beginnings story. Jorg Ancrath, the protagonist of our story, was once a royal prince who grew up in the lap of luxury.

He is now known as the Prince of Thorns (the name of the first book), and he leads a band of outlaws who carry out raids and atrocities throughout the land. Only his own past is sacred to Jorg, who thinks he has seen it all. Upon returning to his father’s castle, he is haunted by the memories of his childhood horrors.

My feelings about the Broken Empire series are difficult to express without becoming a fantasy fanboy. The characters in these books are both bleak and funny at the same time, and the stories are well-written and well-constructed. Definitely worth your time.

Wolf Hall, by Hilary Mantel

Why is a historical novel on this list? The answer is simple: because it’s a good read. A common criticism of fantasy books is that they don’t have any bearing on real-world events. If you have any doubts that fantasy and reality are intertwined, just read Wolf Hall, Bringing up the Bodies, and The Mirror and the Light.

All manner of political intrigue and betrayal abounds in this novel. Book like A Song of Ice and Fire are as epic and fantastical as Mantel’s tale of Thomas Cromwell’s rise to power under Henry VIII before his eventual fall from grace and death. Most of the story is told through the eyes of Oliver Cromwell, using dialect and slang typical of 16th-century England.

Through flashbacks and forwards, we follow him all the way to his position as a close advisor to the king. It’s interesting to see how his memories of being abused as a child by his father echo his reactions to more recent events. It’s hard not to be impressed by the sheer scale and imagination on display.

Although I had difficulty following the story because of the language and style, I couldn’t help but appreciate the attention to detail once I did. Pick up Wolf Hall if you’ve ever wondered what life was like in Tudor England under Henry VIII.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.