10 Best Books Like Gideon The Ninth Update 05/2022

Books Like Gideon The Ninth

I’ve had a new book obsession for the past few years thanks to a single book that I read. I feel compelled to spread the word about it, and I’ve already read it a few times. After finishing a book, I’ll often go back and reread it right away! Tamsyn Muir’s Gideon the Ninth is the most recent in this series. Honestly, I’ve never come across anything like it! And I get a lot of requests to recommend more books like Gideon the Ninth because so many people enjoyed it!

The short answer is that there are none. Snarky, queer, and glorious space mystery: Muir’s award-winning book. Harrow, a sadistic necromancer and Gideon’s lifelong adversary, is the focus of the story. If she joins Harrow in the First House, Gideon will be released from her dreary death planet and given eternal life by the Emperor’s side as a reward for her service. If you’re looking for a novel that’s a little bit different and a little bit fun, this one is the one for you.

Because I’ve done my research, I can recommend a slew of books that feature elements of Gideon the Ninth and are well worth your time. I’ve read Gideon the Ninth nine times already! Last year, I even had the honor of writing a series of book reviews for Tor on the subject. So if you’re looking for more books like Gideon the Ninth, the following list is a great place to start. If you’re reading this, I’m going to assume you’ve already read Gideon and don’t mind a few minor spoilers.

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

Mahit Dzmare accepts the position of Teixcalaanli Empire ambassador. Her arrival is met with a political storm, and she discovers that her predecessor may have died of suspicious circumstances. In order to keep the peace and maintain order, Mahit must find a way to rein in the chaos.

Middlegame by Seanan McGuire

If the WTF-ery is your favorite part of Gideon, you’ll love this! The story of twins Roger and Dodger, who were raised separately but can still communicate psychically, is an apocalyptic coming-of-age tale. James Reed, a strange alchemist who believes the twins are the key to his immortality, created them through alchemy. Though they’re undecided, the twins may be willing to assist him.

The Murders of Molly Southbourne by Tade Thompson

A lot of the time, Gideon’s Harrow is a literal bloody mess, due to the stress of bone magic. Molly is a young girl whose blood causes murder in this gripping novella. Because a new Molly emerges from her blood every time she bleeds, the real Molly is forced to kill them all. Having this issue is a real bummer! In spite of her best efforts, Molly is unable to remain completely bubble-wrapped throughout the course of the day.

All Systems Red: The Murderbot Diaries by Martha Wells

All Systems Red The Murderbot Diaries by Martha Wells

Gideon was hilariously sarcastic throughout the series. A badass warrior who just wants to be left alone is one of my favorite recent series. Although it claims to dislike humans, this robot is a snarky, self-aware security robot that still devotes its time to protecting them. When it’s not defending humans from harm, it relaxes by watching its preferred shows on the internet.

This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone

If you enjoyed Gideon the Ninth’s story of former enemies becoming lovers, you’ll love this novella! Time-traveling agents Red and Blue, on opposing sides in a war, are the protagonists of this story. They, on the other hand, find themselves falling in love with one another over time. More great LGBTQ fantasy novels can be found on this list.)

The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins

Like Gideon the Ninth, this is one of my favorite books, and there is nothing else like it. You’ll love it if you’re a fan of nonsensical violence and humor in a fantasy setting! Siblings are raised in an infinite library by Father, who may or may not be God, in The Library of Mount Char. He, as well as both of them, are unquestionably immortal. They begin to disintegrate when their father goes missing, forcing them to solve the mystery before the most dangerous of them takes control.

The Monster of Elendhaven by Jennifer Giesbrecht

The Monster of Elendhaven by Jennifer Giesbrecht

More eerie magical happenings and fraught interpersonal relationships await you right here! After the North Pole split in two, a town calledElendhaven appeared on a black moon. This gothic grotesquerie is about the town. It’s no secret that Johann, a lanky monster-man who emerged from the depths of the sea, enjoys killing people. However, when he joins forces with a weak but vengeful magician, they can inflict double the damage.

The Tiger’s Daughter by K Arsenault Rivera

Also, this book features an all-star warrior teaming up with an over-the-top princess! This creeping darkness is eroding the boundaries between the Qorintribes and the Hokkaran empire. In order to halt the onslaught of evil, the two women foretold at birth will have to unite. A legendary Qorin soldier and an overly-spoiled goddess of war can’t work together, can they?

Titus Groan: Volume 1 of the Gormenghast Trilogy by Mervyn Peake

The Groan family, who live in a castle, is the subject of this gothic fantasy classic. Lord Sepulchrave, the 76th Earl of Groan, is in charge of the Groan family. As the story unfolds, the Lord’s twin sisters become even more enraged by the birth of their heir, Titus. Basically, Modern Family meets the Addams Family meets Downton Abbey in this one-off. As a result, everyone has a spooky good time.

The Supernatural Enhancements by Edgar Cantero

As a final recommendation, if you enjoyed Gideon’s first house and enjoy stories about a house filled with secrets and ghouls bent on your demise, I suggest The Supernatural Enhancements. When the last of the Wells family members passes away, the ominous Axton House estate in Point Bless, Virginia’s woods is passed down to A., a distant European relative. In addition to the house, A. is given the ghosts and supernatural events that accompany it.

Even though there is no book like Gideon the Ninth, you’ll find plenty of other works with similar themes that will bring a smile to your face. A few more ideas to get you started: This book, in which clones on a spaceship must band together to figure out who is murdering their previous selves, is a great fit for fans of Gideon the Ninth’s locked room/remote mystery elements. Malinda Lo’s Huntress is another WLW book about lesbian necromancers wielding swords. Get your hands on Neon Yang’s The Tensorate series if you’re a fan of imaginative fantasy that will captivate your heart and mind. In addition, Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen’s The Rabbit Back Literature Society, about a well-known children’s book author and a secret society with many, many secrets, is a must-read for fans of the bizarre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.