7 Best Books Like Good Omens Update 05/2022

Books-Like-Good-Omens

With the same book and TV preferences as mine, watching Good Omens was both bittersweet and uplifting at the same time. On the one hand, it fulfilled every expectation I had for a story. This series made me laugh so hard and care so much about the characters that I’ve never experienced before. When I finished the book and finished the last episode, I felt a void in my TBR shelf that no book could fill. Because of this, if you’re a fan of the book, you don’t have to leave the library or bookstore a broken person.

These seven books, like Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s comedic depiction of Armageddon, have a similar feel.

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris

Many of us are familiar with the trickster god Loki thanks to the Marvel cinematic universe. What about the Norse legends from his perspective?? The Norse gods’ rise to power, culminating in Ragnarok, is chronicled in the Gospel of Loki, which features a witty narrator who points out all the myths about Asgard that were wrong. If you believe you can rely on him. Like Good Omens, this book focuses on Loki’s childhood as a Jotun-born and the end of the world in a tongue-in-cheek manner.

Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams

Good Omens is a great place to start looking for a book with a similar sense of wonder and British humor, but you can’t go wrong with anything by Douglas Adams. However, I believe that the Dirk Gently series is the best comparison of his work. There are few detectives who have the training and experience necessary to investigate the gruesome murder of an academic ghost, a dead cat, and the poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge. With the help of private investigator Dirk Gently, we can demonstrate the interconnectedness of all things. To say the least, things can get complicated when you consider how intertwined the known universe really is. Dirk Gently has a lot on his plate right now. Can he solve the mystery, save the world, and still have time for pizza?

One Hundred Apocalypses and Other Apocalypses by Lucy Corin

After watching Good Omens, you’re still hungry for more apocalyptic material. Lucy Corin imagines the end of the world in a hundred different ways in this collection of short stories, some of which are pages long and others just a few sentences long. It’s possible to think of some as actual Armageddons, while others are the end of the world as we know it for a single person. Throughout human history, people have imagined many different ways of dealing with the apocalypse. These tales, which attempt to foretell the end of the world, are equal parts thrilling and somber.

The Epic Crush of Genie Lo by F.C. Yee

When it comes to losing, Genie Lo is not your average person. Like many high-achieving teenagers, she’s determined to get into Harvard University—even if it means working herself to death taking notes, playing volleyball, and studying for the SATs. However, this was prior to the invasion of Chinese mythological monsters into her hometown in the Bay Area. A mysterious transfer student who claims to be Su Wukong’s reincarnation, Quentin, is now Genie’s new partner in combat.

The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett

The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett

Try Terry Pratchett’s 40-plus-novel Discworld series now that you’ve had a taste of his writing! In the first novel, we follow Rincewind, a “wizzard” full of anxiety and cynicism whose magical abilities are less than stellar. It’s a city that no one in their right mind would ever want to visit: Ankh-Morpork. It’s not until one does that one realizes that. The Agatean Empire’s Twoflower hires Rincewind to show him around as a tour guide for his trip to the dangerous and fascinating sights.

Agatean Empire’s declaration of war on Ankh-Morpork can only be prevented by Rincewind’s intervention when Twoflower is in danger. But he has no idea that his and everyone else’s fates in the Discworld are predetermined by a board game in which Fate and Lady Luck participate.

Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life, Vol. 1 by Bryan Lee O’Malley

For the most part, Scott Pilgrim’s life has gotten more and more tense. When he’s not slacking off as the bassist in the band Sex Bob-omb, he’s 23 years old, unemployed, and living off the couch with Wallace. When Scott first meets the mysterious delivery girl Ramona Flowers, he has to fight her seven evil ex-boyfriends in order to get her heart. Scott’s entire life is thrown into disarray as he takes on a variety of quirky ex-girlfriends in final boss-style battles. First in a five-part series, this hilarious and fast-paced graphic novel follows Scott on his quest to go out with Ramona and make some awesome music. The Scott Pilgrim series, like Good Omens, features characters who are both lovable and ridiculous in equal measure.

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

The situation in England’s magical community is at an all-time low. Magicians in England have been reduced to mere academics who write more papers than they perform magic. Mr. Norrell, on the other hand, is a history buff who cherishes books and is dedicated to preserving and restoring the world’s literary heritage. Norrell reluctantly accepts Jonathan Strange as a student when a promising rival magician emerges. Both have very different ideas about what magic should be and how it should be controlled, though. Jonathan risks not only his friendship with Norrell, but also the fate of his realm when he becomes captivated by the legend of the Raven King, a boy raised by fairies who goes on to become the legendary ruler of England and Faerie.

Readers who enjoyed books like Good Omens might enjoy some of these other titles as well, whether they’re based on Norse legend or feature magical realms transported by interstellar turtles. After a long day at work, curl up with one of these eight magical fantasy novels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.