8 Best Books Like Hush Hush Update 05/2022

Books Like Hush Hush

If so, we’ve got plenty of recommendations for you.

Twilight has been compared both favorably and unfavorably to the book Hush, Hush. In many ways, Nora Grey’s romance with Patch, a bad-boy fallen angel, resembles Edward and Bella’s melodramatic courtship.

In some ways, this comparison has led to Hush, Hush being labeled ‘appalling’ by some readers, while others have praised it. In all likelihood, you’re looking for more books like this one because you liked this one so much.

We’ve compiled a list of books that we think are similar to Hush, Hush.

Books like Hush, Hush

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful 1), by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful 1), by Jamie McGuire

In books like Hush, Hush, having one character obsessed with another seems to be a common occurrence.

We meet Travis Maddox, a lean, tattooed bad-boy who has one-night stands with every girl on campus until he meets Abby Abernathy, the love interest of his dreams.

Abby is a bright first-year student determined to make a clean slate by being a ‘good girl.’ If you’re a Twilight or Hush, Hush fan like me, you’re going to love this book. Even if you’re not, you can’t deny its appeal to a large group of readers.

For example, many young adult readers are divided on whether Travis is truly a stalker or just a damaged young man in need of counseling in various parts of the story. It’s possible that both statements are correct based on what I’ve read, but I think Beautiful Disaster might satisfy your reading cravings if you liked Hush, Hush.

What if you’ve already read this book? Other books like Beautiful Disaster can be found on our list!

Angelfall, by Susan Ee

Angelfall is a great example of a book like Hush, Hush that plays with the supernatural.

Six weeks after the apocalypse, Penryn, a 17-year-old girl, is on a mission to find and rescue her younger sister, who was kidnapped by warrior angels and taken to their home.

It doesn’t matter what Penryn does in order to get her sister back; she’ll make a deal with Raffe, an evil enemy angel she finds broken, wingless, and alone in the ravaged streets. Intriguing and well-written, Angelfall is well worth reading.

Aside from the characters being believable, the plot is engaging, and the protagonist isn’t constantly pining after the antihero’s ‘bad-boy.’

This isn’t the first book or television series to focus on the post-apocalyptic world of angels, but Angelfall gives us relatable characters to root for.

Daughter of Smoke & Bone, by Laini Taylor

As a fan of books like Hush, Hush, which play around with the idea of an angel-vs-demon war, I’ll always be interested in reading about it.

There is a lot more mystery in Daughter of Smoke and Bone than in any of the other books on this list. Karou, a blue-haired orphaned adolescent on a quest to uncover her mysterious past and discover how and why her hair turns blue, gradually introduces us to the supernatural world.

The richness of the book’s depiction of Marrakesh and Paris can be seen on every page of the book.

With Karou’s magical portals, we’re quickly introduced to her as a’supernatural’ character. Karou is eventually introduced to an angel named Akiva, and she discovers more about herself than she bargained for.

The religious mysticism, fantasy, and teen romance all come together in Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Fans of Hush, Hush will love this.

Fallen, by Lauren Kate

Fallen, by Lauren Kate

The tropes of doomed love and forbidden love abound in books like Hush, Hush. Fallen is not an exception.

Luce Price is desperate to learn more about Daniel Grigori, the aloof and mysterious boarding school student she first sees. Even if you’re not a fan of Hush, Hush or Twilight, you’ll be able to figure out the rest of the plot from here on out.

There can be no doubt about it: Luce’s determination is fueled by the fact that Daniel doesn’t want anything to do with her. Fallen is a YA novel that isn’t trying to shock you with the truth.

Forbidden love, angels, reincarnation, and romance are all themes that fall perfectly into place in Fallen.

Beautiful Creatures, by Kami Garcia

In books like Hush, Hush, everything seems to be coming to an end. Every page of Beautiful Creatures is filled with the sense that Ethan and Lena’s world is coming to an end.

Set in the southern town of Gatlin (I think it’s Georgia), the story follows Ethan as he becomes smitten with newcomer Lena when she arrives in town. I assume this is the same Gatlin.

In fairness to Ethan, Gatlin has been dubbed the most boring town in the world, so you can’t really hold him responsible. Just about anyone can figure out that Lena doesn’t fit the mold of the typical teenage girl. Things are about to get more complicated for Ethan as a result of the prevalence of magic.

Despite the supernatural events, I found this to be a sweet YA romance novel. When Ethan first meets the new girl, it will be familiar to anyone who has ever had a crush on a classmate.

Seeing the connection between Ethan and Lena brings back memories of how important friendships and love were to us as children.

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green

There is a gem by John Green hidden away from Twilight and other popular books like Hush, Hush. Fans of Hush, Hush will recognize the doomed romance element, but this film also has a firm grasp on the realities of adolescent love.

On the first page of a book about a teenager dying of cancer, it’s hard to tell if you’ll like it or not. Despite this, I was unable to put this book down from the moment I started reading it.

Every other YA paranormal romance is trite in comparison to Hazel and Gus’ tragic story. Any cancer survivor can empathize with Hazel and Gus’ plight, as can anyone who has ever been touched by the disease. In addition, anyone who has ever been in love will be able to identify with Hazel and Gus.

The plot is tragically eloquent without being overly sentimental. It’s hard to imagine Hazel, Gus, and their friends as anything but a typical group of teenagers: angsty and hopeful, but also hopeful and innocent. My personal favorite on this list is The Fault in Our Stars. Start here if you’re looking for a book that’s similar to Hush, Hush.

Have you read and enjoyed this heartfelt novel before? More books like The Fault in Our Stars can be found on our list!

Unearthly, by Cynthia Hand

Unearthly, by Cynthia Hand

Books like Hush, Hush incorporate dramatic flourishes and the supernatural into their stories. At first glance, the unearthly does not appear to be any different.

Clara Gardner, a young adolescent who has just discovered she is part angel, is the protagonist of the story. Prior to encountering Tucker, another so-called “dark” bad-boy who seems to appeal to Clara’s sinister side, Clara’s dreams lead her to her new school and the boy of her dreams.

Consider that even though Unearthly is a young-adult romance, its characters are better-developed and more rounded than those in other stories. These three characters are more than two-dimensional cardboard cutouts who are desperate to die for each other in hopelessness.

When you consider that they talk to each other frequently and aren’t just drawn to each other because of the plot, their relationships are more believable.

Unearthly stands out among the many YA angel novels currently available (no pun intended).

Shiver, by Maggie Stiefvater

For centuries, werewolf tales have been reimagined with the tragic endings of doomed romance.

In Shiver, we meet Grace, a young girl who has grown up observing the wolves that live in the woods behind her home. She’s drawn to a wolf with yellow eyes, but she’s not sure why.

It’s obvious that this isn’t your average wolf.

Most of the year, Sam is a wolf, but during the summer, he gets to live as a human for a few months. If you enjoyed Hush, Hush, you’ll be able to figure out the rest of the plot from this summary.

There is a sizable audience for books like Hush, Hush and others like it, even though I find the trend of young adult protagonists being drawn to ‘bad-boy’ supernatural characters increasingly amusing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.