8 Best Books Like Into The Wild Update 05/2022

Books Like Into The Wild

It is well-known that many travelers around the world identify with the protagonist’s desire to give up material possessions and are fascinated by his attempts to survive in the wild. Ten books like Into the Wild share similar characteristics with Jon Krakauer’s book and are essential reading for anyone who enjoyed either the book or the movie.

Books Like Into The Wild

Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer

Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer

It’s always best to start with other books written by the same author when looking for another book like one of your favorites, like The Kite Runner or Looking for Alaska. A good place to start looking for more books in the same vein as Into the Wild is Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air.

For Krakauer, the 1996 climbing season on Mount Everest was the most dangerous of his life. It examines the factors that led to eight deaths on Mount Everest that year, as well as the possible impact that climbers’ desire to reach the summit has on safety measures. Into Thin Air is a must-read for fans of Krakauer’s writing style and a fascinating look into the commercialism of climbing Mount Everest, despite a lot of criticism from other people involved.

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

If you’re looking for more books like Into the Wild but with a focus on long-term traveler self-discovery journeys, then Wild by Cheryl Strayed is a must-read.

With no previous hiking or outdoor experience, the story of Cheryl Strayed’s journey across the Pacific Crest Trail is depicted in the film Wild. Because of a period of drug abuse that began after the loss of loved ones, she felt compelled to make the trek. The narrative jumps back and forth between the hike and memories from the author’s past.

It’s a well-told tale that deftly balances the physical hardships of such a long hike with Strayed’s personal struggles and the trail’s role in helping her move on. Reese Witherspoon portrayed Cheryl Strayed in the 2014 film adaptation of Wild.

Check out our books likeWild page for more book recommendations!

A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail by Bill Bryson

With its emphasis on survival, A Walk in the Woods is an excellent follow-up to Into the Wild for those who enjoy books with that theme. Hiking the Appalachian Trail was a life-changing experience for Bill Bryson, who wrote an autobiography about it. It goes into great detail about the history of the trail as well as the author’s personal experiences while hiking it.

Bill Bryson fans won’t be surprised to learn that this book is written in a much lighter tone than Into the Wild, and CNN even named it one of their favorite travel books ever written.

The Beach by Alex Garland

The Beach by Alex Garland

The Beach by Alex Garland is a must-read for readers looking for more books like Into the Wild because the protagonist wants to give up material possessions and travel off the beaten path.

In the film, Richard, a British backpacker, finds a map to a hidden island in Thailand and discovers an untouched paradise where a group of backpackers live isolated from the rest of the world. The Beach has a worldwide cult following amongst backpackers. Next, the story follows the power struggles and interpersonal relationships between islanders and how their idyllic world begins to fall apart.

On the Road by Jack Kerouac

If you’re looking for more books like Into the Wild, pick up a copy of On the Road, an American classic that has inspired countless travelers to hit the road.

After World War II, Sal Paradise and Dean Moriarty set out on a cross-country road trip in an attempt to understand what it was like to be a post-war generation in the United States, focusing on the impact of jazz music and drug use. Readers who enjoyed Into the Wild will get a kick out of the story’s emphasis on the protagonist’s rejection of society.

The novel On the Road by Jack Kerouac is widely regarded as one of the most important works of the Beat Generation, despite the fact that it was written as a work of fiction. Time Magazine included it in their list of the 100 best novels of all time.

Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl

Despite the obvious differences in setting, Viktor Frankl’s Man’s Search for Meaning explores many of the same themes as Into the Wild. Autobiographically based on Frankl’s own experiences in a Nazi concentration camp, the book was published just after the end of World War II in 1946.

Life in the camp and how a person’s mind can cope with such hardships are the main themes of this book. Following Frankl’s time in the concentration camp, the second part of the book examines his psychological theories.

If you enjoyed the philosophical aspects of Into the Wild, then Man’s Search for Meaning is a must-read for you as well. Unquestionably one of the most influential books I’ve ever read, I keep returning to it for new insights.

Touching the Void by Joe Simpson

Touching the Void by Joe Simpson

Simpson and his climbing partner Simon Yates’ ascent of Peru’s Siula Grande is the subject of this gripping true story, Touching the Void. On their nearly fatal descent, they are depicted as they struggle to descend the mountain while Simpson is injured and their food and water supplies are dwindling.

The classic mountaineering tale Touching the Void is a must-read for anyone who enjoyed the survival aspects of Into the Wild. On PBS’s list of the best documentaries of all time, the book was also made into a 2003 documentary.

Walking the Amazon: 860 Days. One Step at a Time. by Ed Stafford

When Ed Stafford set out on the first ever foot-based expedition through the Amazon, Walking the Amazon tells his story. To get to the Amazon’s true source, Stafford began his journey in April 2008 and ended up walking for nearly two and a half years through the jungle.

The journey was an incredible achievement, and Stafford writes beautifully about the mental and physical challenges he faced while relying solely on the land for his daily needs during the 2.5 years he spent on the road. Deforestation and local tribes are also mentioned in this article.

In addition to being one of the most remarkable journeys in human history, Stafford’s journey was documented by Discovery Channel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.