10 Best Books Like Jane Eyre Update 05/2022

Books Like Jane Eyre

The Gothic romance novel Jane Eyre, written by Charlotte Bront and published in 1847, is still a favorite among readers today. The novel’s themes include feminism, mental illness, sexuality, and religion, and it is considered one of the greatest works of 19th-century literature because of its groundbreaking nature. The bildungsroman follows the eponymous protagonist through a bleak finishing school, a job as a governess at the imposing Thornfield Hall, and finally a chance encounter with the mysterious Mr Rochester. Many people’s favorite book of all time, Jane Eyre continues to enthrall readers decades after its publication. Anyone looking for more books like Jane Eyre should consider any of the ten suggestions listed below.

Books like Jane Eyre

Villette, by Charlotte Brontë

Villette, by Charlotte Brontë

Villette, published in 1853 as Charlotte Bront’s third book, is a great choice if you’re looking for books like Jane Eyre. Villette, Bronte’s first published and unsuccessful novel, is a wonderful addition to any Gothic romance fan’s reading list.

Bronte’s greatest work, Villette, was regarded by many literary critics—including George Eliot and Virginia Woolf—as being Jane Eyre’s illustrious predecessor. As a young woman growing up in Victorian England, the story follows Lucy as she prepares to move to the French-speaking town of Villette and begin teaching at a girls’ school there. Lucy is sucked into both romance and adventure in this location.

Jane Eyre and Villette share many of the same themes, but the protagonist in Villette is much more passive. Gender roles and relationships—including female repression—are still examined in depth, while Lucy’s own psychology is also given considerable attention.

It’s a great read if you’re looking for something similar to Jane Eyre but less well-known.

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, by Anne Brontë

Anne Bronte’s 1848 novel The Tenant of Wildfell Hall is my personal favorite (and most underrated) of the Bronte sisters’ works, and it should be included in any list of Jane Eyre-like novels.

This novel-in-epistolary form is widely regarded as one of the first feminist works to be published, and it was highly controversial at the time it was published. Anne’s sister Charlotte actively obstructed the publication of Wildfell Hall after her sister’s death until 1853, making it the most politically charged of the Bront sisters’ works. Wildfell Hall tells the story of a reclusive widow, Helen Graham, who moves in with her son and a servant to an abandoned mansion.

At a time when such an event was unheard of, Helen’s escape from her abusive and alcoholic husband is revealed. A large part of Wildfell Hall’s notoriety stems from the fact that, even in fiction, the subject of marital discord was considered extremely taboo in upper-class Victorian England.

Anne Bronte’s The Tenant of Wildfell Hall is a must-read if you want to learn more about Victorian society’s social structures and delve deeper into early feminist literature.

Agnes Grey, by Anne Brontë

First published in 1847 by Anne Bronte and followed by Jane Eyre, Agnes Grey A Novel is a great choice for those looking for books with similar themes to Jane Eyre.

Agnes Grey, the title character in this bildungsroman, is a young woman trying to find a job as a governess in order to help her family out financially. A woman’s role in the workplace, as well as the deconstruction of the social class system in Victorian England, are recurring feminist themes in this novel.

With its emphasis on the precarious nature of governessing in mid-19th-century Britain, Agnes Grey is widely believed to be based on real life events. If you liked Jane Eyre, you’ll enjoy Agnes Grey even if it hasn’t received the same critical acclaim as Anne, Charlotte, or Emily’s other works (by the Bront sisters).

Wuthering Heights, by Emily Brontë

Wuthering Heights, by Emily Brontë

Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights is the second most famous novel by the Bronte sisters, after Jane Eyre.

Wuthering Heights, Bront’s sole novel, was published in 1847 and shares many plot points and themes with her sisters’ works. As a result, it actively challenges Victorian ideals of gender inequality, social class systems, and religious hypocrisy and morality.

Throughout the novel, the protagonist is Heathcliff, the elderly landlord of Wuthering Heights in Yorkshire. After that, the story delves into his personal history, including his relationships and his ups and downs as a child. Fans of Jane Eyre will enjoy Wuthering Heights, which is often referred to as both a feminist and an epic romance. Wuthering Heights is a must-read for anyone who enjoys Charlotte Bront’s most famous work.

Is this your first time reading it? For more books like Wuthering Heights, take a look at our list!

Northanger Abbey, by Jane Austen

The first novel Jane Austen ever wrote (it was finished in 1803), Northanger Abbey (1817) was only published posthumously, but it’s a great choice for fans of Jane Eyre looking for something similar.

Catherine Morland, a seventeen-year-old protagonist, is the focus of the novel, a parody of the gothic novel that was popular at the time. With the passage of time, Catherine has matured into an attractive and eligible woman who was once a tomboy in her youth. In order to take part in the “coming out” season in upper-class British society, she is invited to Bath by wealthy friends.

Despite being nearly 50 years older than Bront’s work, there are some similarities between the two works, particularly in terms of their critique of the British social class system. For Jane Austen fans, or anyone looking for a Jane Eyre-like novel, the Northanger Abbey is an excellent choice.

Do you enjoy the works of Jane Austen? Check out our list of books that are similar to Pride and Prejudice!

Rebecca, by Daphne Du Maurier

Rebecca, Daphne Du Maurier’s 1938 Gothic novel, is a fantastic choice for readers looking for books like Jane Eyre. It’s both haunting and romantic.

Maxim de Winter’s second wife, an unnamed protagonist, is the focus of this first-person narrative. The story revolves around her time at Manderly, Maxim’s estate in Cornwall, right after her marriage. It’s as if de Winter’s ex-wife Rebecca still haunts Manderly, and the housekeeper, Mrs Danvers, seems overly devoted to her.

The narrator is constantly psychologically sabotaged and gaslighted by Mrs. Danvers throughout the novel. Those who have read Jane Eyre will enjoy this chilling novel because of the psychological aspects and the effect they have on the narrator’s mental health.

Hitchcock starred in a 1940 film adaptation of Rebecca with Joan Fontaine and Laurence Olivier. Netflix is currently working on a second feature film adaptation of the book.

Is this your first time reading it? If you enjoyed Rebecca, you might enjoy some of the following titles on our list:

Mrs Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf

If you enjoy reading early feminist literature and are looking for books like Jane Eyre, then you must include Virginia Woolf’s Mrs Dalloway on your reading list.

Clarissa Dalloway, a middle-aged upper-class English woman getting ready for a party, is the focus of this stream-of-consciousness novel published in 1925. Many of the same themes as Jane Eyre can be found in this novel, despite the fact that it is written in a style that is noticeably different from that of Jane Eyre.

All in all, if you’re looking for another feminist classic like Jane Eyre, you should definitely check out Mrs. Dalloway.

A Little Princess, by Frances Hodgson Burnett

A Little Princess, by Frances Hodgson Burnett

In contrast to the previous books on this list, which were written with adults in mind, some of the ones like Charlotte Bront’s masterpiece were written specifically for children’s eyes. One such novel is A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

Sara Crewe, the seven-year-old daughter of a wealthy English Army Captain serving in British India, is the focus of A Little Princess, a touching coming-of-age story published in 1905. Sara is sent to an English boarding school, as was customary at the time, where she quickly befriends a diverse group of students who are drawn to her warm demeanor and vivid storytelling.

As a result, Sara is forced to leave her comfortable home and work as a servant at the school in order to pay for her room and board. The other servants (excluding her roommate Becky) and the school owner, Mrs. Minchin, repeatedly abuse her for several years. To get around this, she creates fantastical worlds of her own making.

A Little Princess is still regarded as a beloved piece of children’s literature, based on the theory that it was loosely based on an unpublished work by Charlotte Bront. If you’re looking for something along the lines of Jane Eyre’s first few chapters, this is a great pick.

Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, first published in 1868, is a great choice for those looking for books like Charlotte Bront’s famous work across the pond in the United Kingdom.

A tale of four sisters, the Marches: Meg (the eldest), Jo (the middle), Beth (the youngest), and Amy (the youngest). An early example of American feminist fiction, the novel opens with a scene set in 1861 in the March home in Massachusetts, just as the Civil War is breaking out. Their lack of social standing can be attributed to the fact that they are an abolitionist family who refuse to conform to the social norms of the time (such as wearing corsets).

Even though the story is told from the perspectives of the four sisters, Jo, an aspiring writer, takes center stage as the book’s most tomboyish and wild protagonist. The novel, like Jane Eyre, explores a variety of feminist issues, most notably the place of women in society. A number of feature films have also been made based on the novel, most notably in 1994 starring Winona Ryder, Susan Sarandon, and Christian Bale. With Saoirse Ronan and Emma Watson in the lead roles, it will be adapted for film in 2019.

Is this your first time reading it? Here is a list of books that are similar to Little Women.

Anne of Green Gables, by LM Montgomery

The seminal novel Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery, another classic from the other side of the Atlantic, is a fantastic coming-of-age tale similar to Jane Eyre.

After being adopted by Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert and sent to live at their homestead in Green Gables on Prince Edward Island, this 1908 novel follows the titular character, an imaginative and accident-prone redhead orphan. After initially wanting to adopt a boy in order to help with farm labor, Matthew and Marilla fall in love with Anne and allow her to live with them at Green Gables.

An orphan, like Jane Eyre’s, who grows up with more modern ideals than the society she lives in is the focus of this novel. Despite the fact that Anne of Green Gables is not a Gothic novel, it is an excellent choice for anyone who enjoyed Jane Eyre.

If you know where to look, it’s not difficult to locate classics like Jane Eyre. Novels that explore similar themes to Bronte’s novel are well worth your time and attention.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.