11 Best Books Like John Green Update 05/2022

Books Like John Green

He is a heartfelt, heartbreaking, and wonderful writer if you’ve read any of John Green’s books. When The Fault in Our Stars brought you to tears for hours, Paper Towns made you burst into laughter in the middle of the street. I’m baffled by Green’s ability to capture the awkwardness of adolescence while also delving deep into the feelings of first love. To put it another way, his tales are nothing short of extraordinary.

Given that you’ve likely read every book Green has written, and given his recent announcement that a new book is in the works, you may be stuck for ideas on what you should check out next. There are a lot of great YA authors out there, and Green is just one of them. Many young adult authors focus on issues like friendship, high school, and loss, which are all difficult to deal with as you get older. Plus the sarcastic characters that come with it are a must-have!

You’re in luck if you’re looking to shed a few tears, laugh a lot, or even completely reshape your life with the help of an amazing novel like any of John Green’s previous works. If you’re a fan of John Green, here are 11 books you should check out.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

As with Green, Thirteen Reasons Why is sure to bring tears to your eyes. Clay Jensen discovers a strange box on his doorstep two weeks after the suicide of Hanna Baker, his high school crush and classmate. He opens the box and discovers 13 cassette tapes inside. Clay was one of many people on Hanna’s tapes who influenced her decision to take her own life. Although it begins with a bang, you won’t want to put it down until you’ve read, sobbed, and savored every word.

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

This book, Ezra Faulkner, is like Quentin from Paper Towns in the sense that he believes that everyone in life has a tragedy waiting for them. So, when tragedy strikes and Ezra’s athletic career and social life are cut short by a car crash, the young man is forced to start from square one. That’s when Cassidy Thrope enters Ezra’s life, and he immediately takes him on an adventure he never would have imagined for himself. Ezra has yet another problem on his hands — what will happen if more bad luck comes his way?

I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak

When it comes to Green characters like Pudge and Margo Roth Spiegelman, you won’t forget Ed Kennedy. Ed is a 16-year-old cab driver with no prospects until he accidentally foils a bank robbery. Suddenly, Ed is a household name. Receiving mysterious notes on playing cards, he follows the instructions and ends up hurting and helping people figure out who is writing to him. He receives. You’ll be hooked on this enigmatic and suspenseful YA novel in no time.

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I’ll Give You the Sun’s Noah and Jude twins, Noah and Jude, are two of Green’s most memorable characters. Both Noah, a 13-year-old artist, and Jude, 16, a superstitious teen, are featured in this story, which is told from two different perspectives. Once they’re able to reimagine the world and their relationship, their fragmented narrative begins to come together. With every word, Nelson paints a beautiful picture of adolescence in the minds of her readers.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

At Spokane Indian Reservation, Junior is a little out of place, and enrolling at an all-white school nearby doesn’t help matters any more. In addition to having been born with epilepsy, Junior also has the desire and courage to try something new that no one else in his life has ever done. Junior is a hero worth rooting for. If you’re looking for a novel that will make you want to devour everything Alexie writes, this one is for you.

Openly Straight by Bill Konigsberg

Since the eighth grade, Rafe, a typical Colorado teen, has been out and proud of his sexual orientation. To avoid being labeled as gay, he moves to an all-boys school in New England and decides to hide his sexuality. A teacher challenges him to write his own story, and Rafe wonders whether he’s made the right choice when he falls for a boy named Ben. For those of you who loved Will Grayson, Will Grayson, this is the book for you.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Like Green, Rainbow Rowell has a devoted following thanks to the enthralling stories she writes. Eleanor, a misunderstood adolescent from a dysfunctional family with bright red hair, prefers to be alone. In Park, the town’s newest resident, she’s the object of his admiration. After a few viewings, this sweet love story will evoke memories of your first love and all the unknowns it brought with it.

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Since she was born with cerebral palsy, Amy has been confined to a wheelchair. Matthew’s OCD has taken over his life. You’ll need a box of tissues when these two unexpectedly meet and fall in love. Ultimately, Say What You Will is a story about the meaning of life and finding love in the face of adversity.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Cult classic films are a favorite pastime for Greg Gains and Earl, his one and only sort-of friend. Rachel, the girl down the street from Greg’s house, has just been diagnosed with leukemia, so Greg and Earl decide to make a film about her. They have no idea how drastically their lives will be altered. Aside from The Fault in Our Stars, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is among the best YA books that make you cry. Andrews, on the other hand, has a similar style to Green, with characters that you won’t be able to put down.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

An Abundance of Katherines had its share of sass and awkwardness, but Anna and the French Kiss promises to up the ante. Anna’s new boarding school in Paris, France, isn’t the only new thing in her life after she unpacks her belongings. Anna has a lot on her plate right now: making new friends, avoiding a crush on the hot guy with the even hotter girlfriend, and missing her family back home. This YA novel is a classic tale of adrift in a new environment.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

The characters of Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters will be familiar to you. As well as Violet, a young woman who is constantly thinking about the future, Theodore, a young man who can’t seem to stop thinking about suicide, are central characters in All the Bright Places. On the ledge of the school’s bell tower, the two couldn’t have met at a more ideal moment. To help each other live in the present and discover what life has in store for them after all, the two must help each other live in the present and help each other find out what life has in store for them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.