11 Best Books Like Kite Runner Update 05/2022

Books Like Kite Runner

The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini, is a literary masterpiece and one of the most intense novels ever written. It’s incredible to see how this book plays with the reader’s emotions as it tells an unforgettable story of friendship, betrayal, and redemption. One of the most popular books is The Kite Runner and it deserves all the attention it receives. Were you captivated by Amir’s tale? If so, allow me to suggest some additional reads that you might enjoy.

In the event that you enjoyed The Kite Runner, the following titles may be of interest to you:

1. The Pearl That Broke Its Shell by Nadia Hashimi

The Pearl That Broke Its Shell by Nadia Hashimi

As a tale of powerlessness, fate, and the freedom to control one’s own destiny, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell is an unforgettable read. It has the emotional resonance of Khaled Hosseini’s works in its story of Rahima’s coming-of-age and her finding hope in an age-old strange Afghan custom. Rahima’s story is one that will keep us riveted until the end.

2. Shantaram by Gregor David Roberts

This gripping story takes place in the seedy underbelly of present-day Bombay. This book is written by Lin, an Australian convict who escapes maximum security prison in order to live in a city where he can be completely unnoticed. Slums on fire and opulent resorts; infatuation and torture in prison; gang wars and Bollywood blockbusters; spiritual gurus and mujaheddin guerrillas – this massive novel spans the breadth of human experience and is driven by a deep, abiding love for India. Based on the author’s own life, this is an exceptional debut.

3. The Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

Geisha memoirs tell the story of a young geisha who lived in Japan at the time the book was written in the 1920s. Chiyo, a young girl from a peasant family, is sold into the life of a geisha by her family. It explores the secluded world of geishas and sheds light on Japanese society just before World War II. An unforgettable piece of literature, it combines the elements of romance, sexuality and suspense in equal measure. He manages to tell a story with historical context while also keeping the focus on the protagonist, which is typical of Hosseini’s work.

4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief, a World War II novel set in Nazi Germany in 1939, is one of the best. Award-winning author Markus Zusak has given us one of the most enduring stories of our time with a child protagonist in superbly crafted writing that burns with intensity. Even more intriguing is the fact that Death Himself tells the tale. The Kite Runner and The Book Thief share many of the same moral and philosophical quandaries.

5. Secret Daughter by Shilpi Soumaya Gowda

There are many ways in which our choices and families can affect us, as well as how love is powerful in a variety of ways. This is the story of three women, Somer, Kavitha, and Asha, who all live in different parts of the world but are bound together by destiny. Khaled Hosseini’s style can be compared to this heartfelt tale.

6. The Colour of Our Sky by Amita Trasky

Two childhood friends whose paths cross one fateful night in 1993, one fighting to survive in the human slave trade and the other determined to save her. This is a heartbreaking and beautiful portrait of an unlikely friendship set against the horrific backdrop of human trafficking. It is a tale of love, betrayal, and redemption that stands the test of time. If you’ve seen The Kite Runner, Amir and Hassan, then you’ll recognize this couple.

7. The Stationery Shop of Tehran by Marjan Kamali

An Iranian love story that took place in 1953 is the subject of this piece. Roya and Bahman are destined to be together until they are torn apart for unknown reasons. She finally receives an answer to her question, fifty years after she first asked it. The Stationery Shop of Tehran, a historical coming-of-age novel, is one of those books that give us characters that we will always treasure.

8. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne

Bruno, the nine-year-old son of a German Commandant, is the narrator of a story by John Boyne. This book will re-create the horrors that befell the unfortunate people who lived in the concentration camps, as well as the way the well-to-do tried to ignore what was happening in those camps. In The Kite Runner, Bruno and Schmuel’s friendship is likened to that of the two characters.

9. The Bee Keeper of Aleppo by Christy Lefteri

When a mother is overcome by grief and her husband refuses to give up on them, this is a love story that will stay with you for a lifetime. The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a powerful testament to the triumph of the human spirit, with its heartfelt, compassionate, powerful, and beautifully written prose. The Kite Runner’s distinctive style is evident in this novel.

10. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist is another book that has philosophical elements similar to those found in The Kite Runner. A young shepherd named Santiago sets out to Egypt in search of treasure after having a dream about a treasure chest. In addition, this is Coelho’s most popular book.

11. And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

If you’re a fan of The Kite Runner, you’ll probably enjoy this third novel by Hosseini. This is the story of Afghan siblings Abdullah and Pari. From Kabul to Paris to San Francisco, Khaled Hosseini writes about the bonds that bind us, the ways in which we help those who are in need, the ways in which our decisions have reverberated throughout history, and the ways in which those closest to us often surprise us. We are emotionally exhausted at the end of And the Mountains Echoed, which is a heartbreaking novel.

It’s impossible to compare any of these books to The Kite Runner, but at least some of them have a similar style. The Kite Runner is one of my favorite books, but do you know of any others?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.