10 Best Books Like Little Women Update 05/2022

Books Like Little Women

I first fell in love with reading LITTLE WOMEN, along with such classics as PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, JANE EYRE, and THE SECRET GARDEN. Finally, there’s a new miniseries based on the classic novel by Louisa May Alcott, produced by BBC and Masterpiece Theatre! You can share my excitement by checking out this list of 12 books I’ve read that are perfect for fans of Little Women, or you can read them on your own until the show premieres. We’ve got witty, up-to-date retellings of classic tales. You can read fascinating books about the life of Louisa May Alcott. We’ve got enticing tales of sisterhood on our hands. We’ve got everything a LITTLE WOMEN fan could possibly need.

The Spring Girls by Anna Todd

The Spring Girls by Anna Todd

For the four sisters in this modern-day adaptation of Louisa May Alcott’s LITTLE WOMEN, they are all searching for the blueprints to life. In their new home on a New Orleans military base, the four Spring Girls—Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy—have established themselves as a formidable force. With their father on a tour of duty in Iraq and their mother keeping a secret, the two children’s fears are remarkably similar. All of their futures will be decided in a single year, as they struggle to build lives they can be proud of while rising out of their humble circumstances.

The Pursuit of Love by Nancy Mitford

The Pursuit of Love by Nancy Mitford, a perennial bestseller, is a classic romantic comedy about adolescence and first love set in a world of privilege and eccentricity. There are seven Radlett children and Linda is their most beautiful and wayward one. She first falls in love with a stuffy Tory politician and then a passionate Communist. Finally she falls in love with the French duke Fabrice. Anyone who is a fan of Amy March will enjoy this book.

The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott by Kelly O’Connor McNees

THE LOST SUMMER OF LOUISA MAY ALCOTT tells the story of the woman who created LITTLE WOMEN in a richly imagined and beautifully written manner. Retracing the steps of Louisa May Alcott’s 22-year-old self, Kelly McNees weaves together fact and fiction in her new novel, which takes place in 1855. While stuck in New Hampshire, Louisa meets Joseph Singer and finds herself torn between the love of her life and her dreams of becoming a writer.

Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells

Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells

As a novel about four Southern women’s lifetime friendship, DIVINE SECRETS OF THE YA-YA SISTERHOOD brilliantly explores women’s friendship, the often-rocky relationship between mothers and daughters, and the healing power of humor. Is there any reason why you haven’t met the Ya-Yas yet? As with the March sisters, I’m sure you’ll enjoy the Walker sisters as much.

The Little Women Letters by Gabrielle Donnelly

The lives of three of Jo March’s passionate, spirited descendants are reimagined in this delightful story. Lulu can’t help but feel like the failure of the Atwater family as her older sister plans her wedding and her younger sister prepares to launch a career on the London stage. As luck would have it, Lulu comes across a box of letters written by her great-great-grandmother Josephine March. But can the words of her great-great-grandmother help Lulu find a place for herself in a world so different from the one that Jo knew?

The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown

Despite their closeness, the March sisters had their share of fights (as seen in the famous scene where Amy burns Jo’s writings). The Andreas family is reunited when three sisters who care about each other but don’t really like each other return home to their childhood home in this charming novel. Which of my three older sisters, one of whom is a homebody and the other two of whom are extroverts, could possibly have anything in common? Even a book can’t save them from the pain of their parents’ deterioration and personal disappointments, which is why they’ve turned to fiction in the first place.

The Tumbling Turner Sisters by Juliette Fay

If you were to combine LITTLE WOMEN and WATER FOR ELEPHANTS, you would get this book. They set off on an unexpected journey in 1919 in a last-ditch attempt to save their family. Teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, as well as recently widowed Nell, discover a new sense of freedom while riding the train from town to town with performers as varied as their acts. As a result, young women are exposed to risks and unexpected twists of fate that they could not have predicted.

Little Woman in Blue by Jeannine Atkins

May Alcott, Louisa May Alcott’s sister, is depicted in this fictionalized account as a seamstress who sews blue shirts for Union soldiers but longs to paint a masterpiece and fall in love. He or she is hurt by her sister Louisa’s depiction of her as “Amy,” the youngest of four sisters who sacrifices her desire to succeed as an artist in LITTLE WOMEN, which is a hugely popular book. May, a self-confident artist determined to make a name for herself, decides to leave Massachusetts in search of a place where she can paint and keep her wedding gown.

The Girls At the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine

It’s just Jo, “The General” to her 11 siblings; they don’t have any other mother figures to lean on. When they leave their father’s Manhattan townhouse for the speakeasy each night, she is the one who gives the all-clear signal. It is only when they work together that they are able to evade their controlling father. In an air raid, Jo comes face-to-face with a bootlegger from her past, and the girls are forced to separate. It is a heartwarming tale of friendship, love, and freedom, like LITTLE WOMEN.

Forgotten Country by Catherine Chung

For anyone who wept when Beth March died, this is a story of sisterhood. Every generation in FORGOTTEN COUNTRY, a family loses a daughter. Consequently, her grandmother explains the family curse the night before Janie’s sister is born and instructs Janie to keep her sister safe. In the present day, Janie sets out to find Hannah, who has mysteriously cut all ties and vanished. To begin, she must face her family’s painful silence, the truth behind her parents’ sudden move to America 20 years earlier, and her own conflicted feelings toward Hannah….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.