6 Best Books Like Lone Survivor Update 05/2022

The Rider

Book by Tim Krabbé

Dutch journalist Tim Krabbé (born April 13th, 1943) is also a chess player and novelist. Amsterdam is where Krabbé was born. His work has appeared in nearly all of the country’s major publications. For his novel De Renner (The Rider), first published in 1978 and translated into English in 2002, Matt Seaton of the Guardian wrote: “Nothing better is ever likely to be written on the subjective experience of cycle-racing.” In the English-speaking world, Krabbé is best known for his 1984 novel Het Gouden Ei (The Golden Egg), which was adapted into a critically acclaimed Dutch film in 1988 and for which Krabbé co-wrote the script. In 1993, an unsatisfactory remake was released in the United States. His first novel, De grot, was published in 1997 and later renamed The Cave. Een Tafel vol Vlinders, his “Boekenweekgeschenk” from 2009, is a fine example of this.

Cycle Of Lies: The Fall Of Lance Armstrong

Book by Juliet Macur
Juliet Macur is a journalist from the United States.
The son of Catholic Polish immigrants, Macur was raised in Bridgewater Township, New Jersey and graduated from Bridgewater-Raritan High School West. In 1992, she graduated from Barnard College at Columbia University with a bachelor’s degree in History and Politics. The Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism awarded her a master’s degree in 1997.

Columbia University rowing team captain Macur was in college. Rowing for the New York Athletic Club was a major part of her life after college. Then she became a sports journalist, covering Bill Parcells, the Jacksonville Jaguars, the Olympics, and motorsports, among other things.

The Cartel

Book by Don Winslow

Author and political activist Don Winslow was born on October 31, 1953, in New York City, and is best known for his crime and mystery novels. California is the setting for many of his works. The private investigator Neal Carey appears in five of his novels. With Shane Salerno, he co-wrote the screenplays for Savages, Satori, and other film adaptations of his novels.

Winslow was born in New York City on October 31, 1953. He grew up in Perryville, a small beach town in Rhode Island, just north of the village of Matunuck. His mother was a librarian, and his father was a non-commissioned officer in the United States Navy who would tell stories and invite Navy friends over to tell more. They influenced Winslow’s decision to pursue a career as a storyteller. At the University of Nebraska, he studied African history with a concentration in politics.


Book by Sándor Márai

Hungarian author Sándor Márai wrote the 1942 novel called Embers. ‘Candles burn until the end,’ is the title in its original Hungarian form. When an elderly general from military school invites a former classmate to dinner, it begins to feel like a trial for the friend, who hasn’t been seen in public in 41 years, due to his erratic behavior. In 2001, the book was translated and published in English for the first time.

“Embers is a brilliant disquisition on friendship,” the reviewer wrote in her 2002 review for The Observer. “Elegiac, sombre, musical, and gripping,” she added. Continued Shapiro’s musings: “The grandeur and sharpness of Jean Renoir’s 1937 movie masterpiece La Grande Illusion, with which it shares in both oblique and pronounced ways, some of its substance. ”

The Sound Of Things Falling

Book by Juan Gabriel Vásquez

This novel by Juan Gabriel Vásquez, Colombian author Juan Gabriel Vásquez, is his third novel. The book, which was first published in Spanish in 2011, focuses on Colombia’s illicit narcotics trade. It was awarded the Alfaguara Prize in 2011. It won the 2014 International Dublin Literary Award for an English translation by Anne McLean in 2013.

The novel’s narrator, Antonio Yammara, a law professor, tells the story through his eyes. In the 1990s, the city of Bogotá is in ruins as a result of the drug wars, and in the past, the drug trade seems to be woven into the fabric of everyone’s existence.

Yammara begins the text by describing his childhood. He began his career as a university professor and met Aura while teaching her. She became pregnant as a result of her sex exchange with Antonio in exchange for better grades in his classes. In a local pool hall, Ricardo Laverde, an ex-con, often runs into Antonio. Antonio is intrigued by the man’s mysterious past as soon as they start playing pool together. But even though Ricardo claims to not be friends with Antonio, they begin to confide in each other as their relationship develops. Ricardo is on a mission to locate a cassette player after receiving an enigmatic cassette. Listening to the tape, he breaks down in tears. He takes off down the street, with Antonio following him closely. As they get closer to the pool hall, a motorbike rides down the curb and opens fire on them. Both Ricardo and Antonio are slain in the attack. As a result of Ricardo’s death, Antonio is unable to focus on anything else in his life. His relationship with Aura quickly breaks down, and he begins to be afraid of the neighborhood around the pool hall. Maya, Ricardo’s daughter, gets in touch with him and shares some of her father’s backstory. Antonio evades Aura’s notice by fleeing from his home in order to pursue this lead. He finds out that Ricardo was a pilot who was sentenced to 19 years in prison for smuggling drugs into the United States. She had returned to the United States when Maya was 18, and died in a plane crash when she tried to visit Maya and Ricardo after he was released from prison. Maya’s mother Antonio and Maya’s romance develops into something more sexual as the story goes on. Maya had no idea who Antonio’s relatives were back in Bogota. When Antonio returns home, he finds that Aura and the baby have left him, as well.

The House Of The Mosque

Book by Kader Abdolah

Dutch-language novel “The House of the Mosque” by Iranian author Kader Abdolah (Dutch: “The House of the Mosque”) was published in 2005. The House of the Mosque was released in English in January of this year.
Following a family’s journey through the Shah Mohammad Reza Pahlavi regime, 1979’s Iranian revolution, and the Khomeini government’s establishment, the book ends after the death of Khomeini. To counteract the harrowing events that the protagonists face as the revolution unfolds, the story is a “semi-mythical narrative… bearing a ‘flying carpet’ element of fantasy.”

For the most part, the action takes place in a large house attached to the Friday Mosque in Senejan, a fictionalized version of Senjan, now an area of Arak in Iran, which is three hours away by train from Qom. Similarly, Kader Abdolah was born and raised in a house in the same neighborhood. Many names and places are changed in the novel’s depiction of true historical events, making it appear that the book is not an accurate account of the historical situation. Aqa Jaan, the film’s central figure (“Dear Master”, a title often given to the male head of a household in Iran). Author Shahbal is embodied in Shahbal, his cousin’s son and the mosque’s muezzin (Shahbal is called the “narrator” of the story in the cast of characters). Kader Abdolah, like Shahbal, was involved in leftist political movements during the Shah and Khomeini regimes and fled Iran in 1985 to settle in the Netherlands. The author, in contrast to Shahbal, did not commit any murders; instead, he used his pen to avenge the deaths of his brother and sister. Even though Shahbal killed Khalkhal, a fictionalized version of Sadeq Khalkali, who was Khomeini’s “hanging judge,” the real Khakhali died in 2003 of old age.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.