12 Best Books Like Lord Of The Rings Update 05/2022

Even though the Lord of the Rings trilogy is considered by many to be the pinnacle of the mainstream fantasy genre, modern readers are always on the lookout for new works in the genre like it. Books like Lord of the Rings are useful to have around, even if you’re not interested in Frodo’s journey. In the list below, you’ll find a variety of books and series that explore everything from magical worlds to adventures with a ragtag group of misfits.

1. Aurora Rising by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristof

One student named Tyler is forced to relegate himself to the academy’s lower ranks after his heroic deed causes him to be late for graduation. This puts him in the midst of the scum and filth that make up the rest of the cadet body. A startling mystery involving telekinesis, conspiracy, and a girl who has been in cybersleep for hundreds of years quickly brings the group together. Unexpected heroes and battles between good and evil are promised in this book, the first of a series.

2. Legend of Drizzt: Homeland by R.A. Salvatore

Salvatore is a household name among sci-fi and fantasy devotees, with more than 40 published works to his credit. The first book in the Dungeons & Dragons Forgotten Realms series introduces readers to Drizzt, an elf raised in an evil society who is now a main character in the Dungeons & Dragons Forgotten Realms series. Hardcore fantasy fans will be satisfied, while newcomers to the genre will find this an excellent introduction.

3. A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin

A Wizard of Earthsea, on the other hand, is more like The Hobbit in that it tells the story of Ged, a young wizard who must overcome the consequences of his arrogance and ignorance. If you haven’t read Le Guin’s other works, you’re missing out. Her world-building prowess is breathtaking, and she does it effortlessly.

4. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

There are so many thorny plot lines in this series, which run for chapters and even several books, that you’d never expect them to cross paths at all. The Martial Empire’s main protagonists are slaves Laia and Elias. They begin to investigate the forces of evil that drive the brutality they live in, discovering a unique mix of unsavory people and ancient magic. Choose this series if you want to immerse yourself in a fantastical world, and if you enjoy listening to audiobooks, I highly recommend doing so!

5. The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

Another must-read author is N.K. Jemisin, whose bio describes her work as “decolonized fiction, for our postcolonial world.

On a far-future Earth, continents have merged into a single mass, and the world is wracked by earthquakes and volcanic eruptions. A person’s reputation can either be enhanced or tarnished based on their ability to harness the Earth’s energy and prevent earthquakes from occurring. To date, this book has been praised for its unique magic system and inventive narration. An additional star for the story’s lasting power, as one reviewer put it.”

6. Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

In the same vein as Lord of the Rings, where the appeal is the unlikely hero, this story stands on its own two feet. Zacharias and Prunella are seen as outsiders because of their race and sex, but they are capable of bringing magic back to England. Regency-era politics are woven into the magical world and witty characters for an enjoyable read.

7. The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

It all begins with The Demon King, a novel that follows four separate protagonists as their stories intertwine. As Han and Raisa establish their points of view in a series that builds to an action-packed climax, we’re introduced to various clans and classes. Topics such as the desire for a sense of belonging and control over one’s own destiny are reflected in queendom, wizardry, and magical amulets.

8. The Deed of Paksenarrion by Elizabeth Moon

Start here if you’re looking for books that are similar to Lord of the Rings in general. High-fantasy elements abound in The Deed of Paksenarrion: humble beginnings, magical gifts, and an earthy setting similar to that of Middle-earth. Although the story is familiar, many readers have noted that Paks and her journey feel unique, remarkable, and rereadable because of the book’s choice to star a teenage girl as the protagonist.

9. Sabriel by Garth Nix

Sabriel is a young woman who sets out on a journey to find her father, who has gone missing. Her revelations force her to confront a world she has been shielded from as she enters the Old Kingdom. Any reader, regardless of their interest in Lord of the Rings, will appreciate the inventive world building we encounter as we follow Sabriel, and any reader will be glad to have met the tough and relatable protagonist.

10. Dragonsong by Anne McCafferty

Dragonsong is a worthwhile read at a time when “Mother of Dragons’ ‘ memes and merchandise are everywhere. As a musical heroine, Mellony flees to honor her thwarted love of music by training a troupe of nine fire-breathing lizards to sing. The fact that her new charges may be able to save Mellony’s world is incredible in and of itself.

11. The Dragon Sword and Wind Child by Noriko Ogiwara, translated by Cathy Hirano

It’s an epic tale of reincarnation and a battle between the forces of light and darkness, but it’s also a tale of a teenage girl who discovers that she is a priestess of a Japanese goddess who has been reincarnated as the Dragon Sword. Many readers of The Lord of the Rings will enjoy the book’s reluctant protagonist and the conflicted feelings of being torn between light and dark (although it is interesting to note that in this book, good and evil do not simply translate as light and dark).

12. The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu

The Grace of Kings, which has been praised for its levity, thoughtfulness, inclusiveness, and epic scope, is well deserving of its many honors. When the dust settles, Kuni and Mata find themselves leading two separate groups, each with a different vision of how to proceed in the fight against tyranny. Tricky deities and mythic plot developments set it apart from The Lord of the Rings, but the film’s hunched-over perspective, which allows the viewer to see almost the entire world, is reminiscent of Tolkien’s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.