6 Best Books Like Maze Runner Update 05/2022

Books Like Maze Runner

In YA literature, The Maze Runner has become nearly as recognizable as The Hunger Games. The adrenaline rush of Thomas Dylan’s attempts to escape a dangerous maze while he tries to recover his memory is irresistible! Many readers have been searching for more books like The Maze Runner because of its popularity.

The story of Thomas and his fellow ‘runners,’ as they are known, has already been made into a film and a trilogy of books. There are many modern dystopian fantasy novels, such as “The Maze Runner,” which are popular with readers.

6 Books like The Maze Runner

Legend, by Marie Lu

Legend, by Marie Lu

Legend, Lu’s best-selling novel, is the first book you will find if you search for books like The Maze Runner. Legend begins as a ‘whodunnit’ in a future where the western United States has split off and renamed itself ‘the Republic.’

15-year-old June is the main character and a member of a select group of well-to-do citizens. When June’s brother, Metias, is murdered, she meets Day, a fellow slum-born 15-year-old. Things get interesting. If you’ve ever read a good thriller story you know that things don’t always go according to plan.

It’s not a new trope, but when done well, characters from two different worlds still work. A great place to begin your search for books like The Maze Runner’s is Legend, which blends themes of vengeance, survival, and the truth.

Is this your first time reading it? We’ve compiled a list of books that are similar to Legend.

Tunnel in the Sky, by Robert A. Heinlein

A half-century before dystopian young adult novels like The Maze Runner were even a glimmer in a publisher’s eye, Tunnel in the Sky shaped what was then known as “juvenile fiction.”

Teleportation may have prevented Earth’s overpopulation in the future (Star Trek fans should be energised). When there are too many people on the planet, they are taken elsewhere and given new lives.

High school student and future professional colonist Rod Walker must first pass a final survival test as part of his advanced survival class: survive on an alien planet for at least two days on a scale of one to ten.

Although the plot of Tunnel in the Sky was written 69 years prior to the release of The Maze Runner, the two novels share a similar story line. Rod, like Thomas, is thrust into a hostile new environment and instructed to make the best of it.

Rod, like Thomas, soon wonders if the survival test is hiding something more sinister than it appears. If you’re looking for books that are similar to The Maze Runner, this is a great option.

Across the Universe, by Beth Revis

Across the Universe, by Beth Revis

Even if you’ve read books like “The Maze Runner,” you have to give props to “Godspeed,” which takes place on a spaceship. The ship’s name alone evokes a sense of intrigue and foreboding.

During Godspeed’s journey toward an Earth-like planet, 17-year-old Amy has been frozen in cryogenic suspension with her parents and 100 other interplanetary settlers. Amy, on the other hand, has been woken up early to help solve a murder mystery before the killer strikes again and dooms the entire ship.

First in a well-received trilogy, Across the Universe is part thriller, part ‘whodunnit’, and part coming-of-age story. The publisher launched a copy of Across the Universe into space when Shades of Earth (the final book in the series) received more pre-orders than the other two books combined.

If you’ve ever wondered about the morality of sending books into space, Across the Universe is a good place to start.

Nemesis, by Brendan Reichs

To some extent, reading books like The Maze Runner can make you feel demoralized and beaten. Those are the kinds of things that tend to happen in death, crumbling societies, and post-apocalyptic worlds. Nemesis, on the other hand, adds a welcome dose of mystery and the paranormal.

We meet Min at the outset of the story, an ordinary teenager in an ordinary world. Except for the fact that every two years on her birthday, the same man arrives and brutally murders her. You’d think that would be the end of the story… The crime has been completely erased two hours later, when Min wakes up in a clearing outside of her hometown.

When we’re transported into the life of Noah, a young man living across the valley plagued by nightmares of death, murder, and disaster, things get even stranger. To keep you guessing until the very end, Nemesis is a thrilling mystery ride that will keep you guessing until the end.

Divergent, by Veronica Roth

Divergent, by Veronica Roth

You can’t discuss books like The Maze Runner and leave out Divergent, so I’m going to do it for you. Roth’s dystopian trilogy, which was published in 2011 and came out just a few months after The Hunger Games, holds up well when compared to other titles.

Dividing society into personality types is a fun way to control society, and Tris’s discovery that she is different from other faction members keeps the story interesting throughout.

Many of the themes found in The Maze Runner are also present in Divergent, including mystery, hidden truths, and other such concepts. After their release, the books were well-received and the films, despite receiving some negative reviews, were a financial success. If you haven’t already, I recommend checking out Divergent, which is a well-known comparable title.

Lord of the Flies, by William Golding

It’s not difficult to locate books like The Maze Runner, but I’m astonished at the number of lists that omit Lord of the Flies. The plot and characters quickly drew me in, even though I was only supposed to be reading it for an English GCSE.

A group of schoolboys are stranded on an island after an accident and must learn to survive on their own. Initially, they are ecstatic. A completely uninhabited island awaits discovery and personalization. When a power struggle breaks out, the story quickly turns from a simple fairy tale into a terrifying nightmare.

Despite the fact that there are many memorable moments in this novel, it’s best for you to read it and decide for yourself. Lord of the Flies is a classic for a reason: it’s macabre, fascinating, and filled with characters you’ll believe are real.

Is this your first time reading it? You might also be interested in these other titles that are similar to Lord of the Flies:

The Maze Runner is a thrilling ride that appeals to adults of all ages, young and old alike. If you’re looking for books that are similar, these picks should keep you busy for a while.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.