6 Best Books Like Michael Vey Update 05/2022

Books Like Michael Vey

If so, do you want to learn more about other authors like Michael Vey?

Who hasn’t fantasized about being a superhero at some point in their lives? Richard Paul Evans’ Michael Vey series of young adult novels allows the reader to experience this fantasy through the eyes of the protagonist, Michael. Superpowers may sound like a fantasy, but the reality is quite different.

Awkward teenager? That’s what people think of Michael. He’s a skinny kid who gets bullied all the time. The only thing that sets Michael apart from the rest of the group is that he was recently diagnosed with Tourette’s syndrome.

Michael, on the other hand, has a secret. When he discovers that the most beautiful and popular cheerleader at his high school also has an electro-magnetic power, the action quickly escalates.

You may be interested in some of the following recommendations if you’ve read the Michael Vey series and are looking for similar thrills.

Books like Michael Vey

The Accidental Hero, by Matt Myklusch

The Accidental Hero, by Matt Myklusch

Michael Vey’s books are all about giving a poor teen a miraculous superpower. ‘ Jack Blank is our hapless hero in The Accidental Hero.

All Jack knows is the dreary existence of the orphanage in which he was born and raised. When a robot from one of his comic books shows up and tries to kill him, everything changes quickly for the worse. It’s then that an Imagine Nation representative shows up.

Both incidents demonstrate to Jack that he is not your typical youngster. Incredibly powerful, he hails from the Imagine Nation and has the potential to save the world. This is a fast-paced and enjoyable book, apart from the unsubtle ‘Imagine Nation.’

12-year-old Anyone who has ever experienced feelings of isolation and bullying will be able to relate to Jack. The use of comic book concepts and making them real is what sets this apart. Suitable for any young adult who craves a fantasy world to escape into.

The Flame of Olympus, by Kate O’Hearn

Greek mythology is one of my favorite literary periods, and books by Michael Vey satisfy my craving for this genre.

Flame of Olympus is a fast-paced YA novel that incorporates some of the most memorable characters and creatures from Greek mythology into a fantastical tale of adventure for teens. Our heroine Emily’s life is turned upside down when the mythical winged horse Pegasus crashes onto her New York City roof.

It’s Emily’s fault that Pegasus has to land, but she’ll forgive the author if she uses Roman gods instead of Greek ones here because the Romans stole the Greek gods.

There are monsters galore in The Flame of Olympus, as well as a shadowy government agency intent on dissecting Pegasus, and two characters who have a great chemistry. Look no further than this modern-day retelling of an ancient myth.

The Awakening, by Michael Carroll

The Awakening, by Michael Carroll

In the books of Michael Vey, superheroes are often pitted against impossible odds. After a major battle, superhumans died or disappeared a decade ago in The Awakening. There are persistent rumors that survivors have assimilated back into society. Enter Danny and Colin, two 12-year-olds who find themselves in the midst of more than puberty at this point in their lives.

Faster than light, Colin’s physical strength grows exponentially as a result of his training. Other ominous figures, in addition to their parents, are well aware of Danny and Colin’s location.

The story’s success is based on a 12-year-old boy’s understanding of his own thoughts. When I was a 12-year-old, many adults were viewed in a simplistic manner. It’s possible that nuance and subtlety aren’t strong points in this story, but that’s not the point.

It does, however, have entertaining descriptions of how Danny sees the world while traveling at light speed, as well as compelling antagonists determined to bring our heroes to justice. Suitable for any young adolescent who has ever wished they had superpowers.

The Unwanteds, by Lisa McMann

Many adult readers have expressed their displeasure with books by authors like Michael Vey. As if a middle-grade story about superpowered boys and girls was written just for them, they appear to be misinformed. Like Michael Vey’s books, The Unwanteds are aimed at young adults and middle grade readers.

At the age of 13, every child in the land of Quill will be categorised as either Wanted, Necessary, or Unwanted. Alex, Aaron’s twin, is our narrator. It is Alex’s fate to die at a young age, as opposed to Aaron, who has been deemed ‘Unwanted.’ However, instead of the death farm, Alex is transported to a fantastical location known only as ‘Artimè.’.

Magical abilities are encouraged in Artimè for Alex and other Unwanteds. Alex and Aaron are twins, but it’s unusual for twins to be referred to as the same. They soon find themselves in a magical battle to save Artimè.

It follows Michael Vey’s “ordinary boy discovers superpower” formula, but in a fantasy world. It’s a great book for middle-schoolers.

The Eye of Minds, by James Dashner

The Eye of Minds, by James Dashner

Action-packed and creepy, James Dashner’s YA thriller follows in the footsteps of Michael Vey. Another Michael is the focus of The Eye of Minds, but this Michael is a gamer. Virtual reality (VR) worlds like the Oasis from Ready Player One are the norm for gamers in Dashner’s world, and Michael is no exception.

As long as you’ve got the money, VirtNet is a truly immersive experience. Even more fun can be had if you’re a hacker like Michael. It’s only when a single gamer takes control of VirtNet that other players are held hostage. As a result, in the real world, gamers held hostage are deemed brain dead.

According to the government, the only hacker capable of stopping this rogue hacker is Michael. The popularity of stories set in virtual worlds is rising steadily. This is a fantastic mystery filled with thrills, terror, and action, with a satisfying conclusion for anyone who has ever played a video game.

If only to pick up on the subtle hints Dashner scatters throughout the story, I would gladly read it again.

Virals, by Kathy Reichs

Like Michael Vey’s books, a lot of these stories are heavily based on other works. From the Bones books and TV series, Virals literally spins off a series of stories.

Our main character, Tory Brennan, is Temperance Brennan’s niece. Unlike Bones, this story focuses on Tory and her teen sci-fi fanatic friends and what happens to them. Tory and her pals discover a new virus strain after rescuing a dog being tested for medical purposes.

Reflexes and acuity are heightened to the point where they become animalistic. Also, just in time for the gang to use their new abilities in solving a cold case murder, provided they survive. This clever, witty, and educational novel in the slipstream genre combines science fiction with mystery and fantasy. If you’re a fan of Michael Vey, you’ll love Kathy Reichs’s series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.