8 Best Books Like Mistborn Update 05/2022

Best Books Like Mistborn

Looking for books like Mistborn?

Ash falls from the sky. Unnatural mist clouds the night. Evil is everywhere, threatening to stifle all life in the lands of Scadrial. This is my own version of the book blurb that describes the opening to Brandon Sanderson’s epic Mistborn series. It is hard to believe the first book, The Final Empire, came out in 2006.

Since then Sanderson has written so much more and even cobbled together a companion linking the two original Mistborn trilogies together. This is an author who is verbose to say the least. If you’d like to understand him a bit better, I highly recommend the excellent Writing Excuses podcast which he co-created and hosts with a number of other highly successful writers.

If you’re done with the Mistborn series but are looking for similar titles, then some of the following recommendations may sate your fantasy appetite.

Books like Mistborn

The Magician’s Guild (Book 1 of the Black Magician Trilogy), by Trudi Canavan

The Magician’s Guild (Book 1 of the Black Magician Trilogy), by Trudi Canavan

Mistborn books, for example, are jam-packed with magic, betrayal, quests, and huge stakes. The story of Sonea remains the central focus of Canavan’s novel, in contrast to Sanderson, whose writing has been criticized for being “out of control.” Despite being raised in the slums, Sonea is well-versed in the ways of magic in a world full of them.

After throwing a stone through a magician’s barrier, she inadvertently injures the magician behind it. The adventure begins. Sonea’s natural magical potential must be quickly learned and controlled if she wants to avoid being caught by the powerful Magician’s Guild.

On the surface, Canavan’s story appears to be much more straightforward than Sanderson’s saga. It is, in a sense. The Magician’s Guild, on the other hand, gives equal attention to the people who inhabit it as well as the setting. Because Sonea is such a likeable character, even those who have never read fantasy before will feel at home in her world. Recommended for both Sanderson fans and non-fans.

The Blade Itself (Book 1 of The First Law), by Joe Abercrombie

Like the Mistborn series, you don’t expect a comparison to be made between it and a book that is gritty, dark, or even amusing. In Sanderson’s epics, humour is present, but Abercrombie sprinkles it with glee throughout The Blade Itself.

When one of the main characters is named Logen Ninefingers, a notoriously brutal barbarian whose good fortune is about to run out, you know you’re in for a good read. It isn’t just Logen’s story that is intertwined with that of Captain Jezal d’Luthar and Inquisitor Glokta, but the two characters’ stories are intertwined as well, and you can’t help but be drawn in.

Making things even more difficult is the presence of a wizard and the worst assistant a person has ever encountered in a game like The Blade Itself.

Magic, backstabbing, and cinematic action fans of Mistborn will enjoy this richly imagined and surprisingly gritty world.

Graceling, by Kristin Cashore

Graceling has already been discussed in a previous article, but in light of books like Mistborn, it deserves to be included again. Interested readers will be drawn to any story about an eight-year-old girl who has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since childhood.

It’s hard to forget the brutality and romance in Graceling’s richly imagined medieval-style world. It’s a bit of an understatement to say that it blends genres. Katsa, despite her naivete, is a formidable foe.

There is magic, battles, and desperate situations, but the story is not as epic as Mistborn or The Wheel of Time.

Although Graceling has received some criticism for its depiction of a “strong, female character,” there is no denying that the book has its share of admirers.

However, this is a well-written fantasy that combines romance and violence with a dash of whimsy.

Even though I didn’t want to see Katsa fall in love with Prince Po (I don’t think it’s necessary for her arc), I did enjoy reading the story all the way to the end. Worth a look if you’re looking for books that are similar to Mistborn.

No, I haven’t read it yet. We’ve compiled a list of other books that are similar to Graceling.

The Black Prism, by Brent Weeks

The Black Prism, by Brent Weeks

It’s not uncommon for books like Mistborn to feature characters you love and characters you hate. You can’t help but enjoy reading about Guile in The Black Prism, even if you want to smack him in the face. The prism is Guile’s guile. The world’s most powerful person.

Emperor and high priest Charming, knowledgeable, and capable. However, Guile is aware that he will die at some point in the future. That was enough to catch my eye. Imagine being able to predict when you’ll die? When Guile discovers he has a son living in another kingdom, the stakes are raised.

A son who was raised by his father, Guile, after the war. Our anti-hero must make a difficult choice about the safety of a long-cherished family secret. Weeks’ use of sexist female stereotypes in The Black Prism made me want to slam my head against the wall.

It’s possible to overlook tropes like this in fantasy from the 1950s and 1960s, but it’s not acceptable in modern fantasy. What’s the point of finding out which women are the most beautiful? Despite her wrinkles, a forty-year-old female character must be described as “still beautiful.” Even though some have argued that it’s in keeping with the world that Weeks has created, it’s an odd choice in an otherwise interesting story.

This novel does have a winner in Weeks’ ingenious clever magic system, despite some narrative bumps. It may take some time, but once you figure it out, you’ll be beaming from ear to ear. Mistborn fans will love The Black Prism.

The Deed of Paksenarrion (Omnibus), by Elizabeth Moon

When reading books like Mistborn, it’s common practice to practice pronouncing character names. As a result, Paksenarrion Dorthansdotter is introduced to us simply as Paks. She is the daughter of a simple sheep farmer who longs for adventure but is told she can only work as a farmer her whole life.

When Paks’s father arranges a marriage, Paks decides to join a mercenary company on her own. In the course of her journey, she encounters dwarves, elves, and humans. Several books in this series were released between 1988 and 1992, and this is the first one.

It’s a fun fantasy novel that doesn’t feel dated at all in the way it’s written. Paks’ departure from the mercenary company in books two and three makes these books impossible to put down.

Moreover, if you’ve ever wanted to know all about the daily life of a paladin, you’ve found your drug in The Deed of Paksenarrion.

The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

Throughout books such as Mistborn and The Name of the Wind, strange names and even stranger settings abound. There has never been another wizard like Kvothe before. It’s not about Kvothe right now, though. When Kvothe tells the story of his rise and fall to the position of Chronicler, it’s done in a very poetic style.

In reality, Kvothe has been reduced to the position of innkeeper, but the tale he tells is anything but ordinary. Since its publication, Kvothe’s story has gained widespread acclaim, garnering both positive reader reviews and nominations for numerous literary awards.

Character, plot, and setting all work together seamlessly in Rothfuss’ novel, but none of them takes center stage. The Name of the Wind may be a joy to read because of this unique combination of elements.

At times, I got lost in Kvothe’s story and his rise to wizardly power before ultimately falling from grace. However, the telling of the story is what makes this novel stand out.

Here we have a storyteller who is aware of the potency of his words. In doing so, he creates a novel that gently guides you through Kvothe’s life, holding your hand the entire time. This was an excellent read.

If so, congratulations! We’ve compiled a list of other books that are similar to The Name of the Wind.

Assassin’s Apprentice (Book 1 of The Farseer Trilogy), by Robin Hobb

Assassins with magical powers? Yes, please include me. The Farseer Trilogy’s first book introduces us to Fitz, a royal bastard exiled to the outside world before returning to court to train as an assassin for the royal family. Because the story is told from Fitz’s point of view, we get a closer look at his character as a result of this.

Critics of the first-person narrative have harsh words for Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice, but he manages it with ease. They feel like real people thanks to her portrayal of Fitz’s interactions and relationships with other characters. Those are all indications of high-quality writing, I believe. It’s easy to feel for Fitz as he struggles against the rigid rules and procedures of the courtroom.

There are many fantasy tropes in Hobb’s work, but she doesn’t rely on them; rather, she uses them as a framework for the development of her characters and the plot. The Farseer Trilogy is a great follow-up to the Mistborn series.

The Eye of the World (Book 1 of The Wheel of Time), by Robert Jordan

What better way to end than with a series that Brandon Sanderson himself finished? While the middle of the Wheel of Time series is rightly criticized for being “a bit saggy,” the first few books are fantastic.

A naive young man is taken under the wing of a more experienced and powerful mentor as they embark on an epic journey in The Eye of the World. Even though The Eye of the World borrows a lot from other fantasy works, it does so with reverence and childlike glee that can’t help but make you laugh.

For some reason, I was drawn to the original cover art because it was so over-the-top and silly. The Eye of the World, like The Sword of Shannara, begins a little predictably, but soon deviates from its preconceptions to chart its own path.

The Eye of the World is a must-read for any fan of the fantastical genre. Take a chance and see what happens.

Is this a series you already know and love? A variety of books that are similar to A Wizard’s Tale can be found on our list.

For a long time to come, fantasy fans will remember the Mistborn series as one of the best. Sanderson’s obvious love of the genre is on display in this book. Epic fantasy novels like Mistborn, like the ones listed above, are known for their sense of humor and good times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.