15 Best Books Like Neverwhere Update 05/2022

Books Like Neverwhere

The time garden

The time garden

Edward Eager

This product may only be used in educational institutions and libraries. Wild thyme is a magical plant that propels four cousins, Roger, Ann, Eliza, and Jack, back and forth through time while they spend the summer at a beach house.

Which Witch?

Eva Ibbotson

It was published in 1979 by Eva Ibbotson and is a children’s book. Dutton Children’s Books released the first U.S. edition in 1999, which featured illustrations by Annabel Large.

Crazy Lady!

Jane Leslie Conly

Novelist Jane Leslie Conly is best known for her book Crazy Lady! for young readers. A Newbery Honor book for 1994, it was released in 1993.

The Great Fire

The Great Fire

Jim Murphy

As a story for children and young adults, The Great Fire by Jim Murphy explores the 1871 Chicago Fire that wiped out much of the city’s infrastructure. In 1996, The Great Fire received a Newbery Medal honor.

The Passage

Justin Cronin

Justin Cronin’s novel, The Passage, was released in 2010 by Ballantine Books, a Random House subsidiary in New York. At #3 on the New York Times best-seller list for hardcover fiction, The Passage stayed for seven more weeks. As the first book in a trilogy, The Twelve was published in 2012 and The City of Mirrors was published in 2016. Instead of being made into a movie trilogy, the novel and its sequels were turned into a Fox television series.

The Explorer

Katherine Rundell

Choice of the Parents Recommended After their plane crashes in the Amazon, a group of kids must survive on their own in this gripping new novel from Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner Katherine Rundell. They are returning to England from Manaus when their plane crashes and the pilot dies immediately upon landing. While they fend for themselves, Fred discovers an old map that leads them to an abandoned city, and a secret.

The Yiddish Policemen’s Union

The Yiddish Policemen's Union

Michael Chabon

Michael Chabon’s novel The Yiddish Policemen’s Union was published in 2007. Set in an alternate history version of the present day, the novel is a detective story about a Jewish refugee camp established in 1941 in Alaska and the destruction of the fledgling state of Israel that took place in 1948, based on these events. A large, Yiddish-speaking metropolis, Sitka, is depicted in the novel.

War Horse

Michael Morpurgo

Michael Morpurgo’s War Horse is a children’s book. In 1982, Kaye & Ward published it in Great Britain. Joey, a horse purchased by the Army for service in France during World War I, and the efforts of Albert, his previous owner, to bring him home safely are the subject of the story. Both a Tony Award-winning play and a critically acclaimed film adaptation were based on this story.

The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm

Nancy Farmer

One of the most popular Nancy Farmer’s children’s science fiction novels is “The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm.” A Newbery Honor was bestowed upon it. Afrofuturism is a major theme in the novel, which takes place in Zimbabwe in the year 2194.

American Gods

American Gods

Neil Gaiman

Author Neil Gaiman’s fantasy novel American Gods is set in the United States. As the story revolves around the mysterious and withdrawn Shadow, elements of mythology from both the ancient and modern worlds are woven together.

The Sleeper and the Spindle

Neil Gaiman

This book has been nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal in 2016. They’re both at their peak as they weave together a sort of Snow White and an almost Sleeping Beauty with a spool of dark magic in their tale.

Fragile Things

Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman’s collection of short stories and poetry, Fragile Things: Short Fictions and Wonders, is available now. HarperCollins and Headline Review published it in 2006 in the United States and the United Kingdom. Reprints from magazines, anthologies, and even CD sleeves make up the majority of the stories in this collection of short stories.

Norse Mythology

Norse Mythology

Neil Gaiman

Ancient mythology has long been a source of inspiration for Neil Gaiman when creating the fantastical worlds that populate his stories. Now he returns to the source material, delivering a stunning performance of the great northern tales. Odin, the highest of the gods and the wisest of them all, is represented by Gaiman in Norse Mythology as the wisest and most cunning of the gods; Thor, Odin’s son, is depicted as the strongest and most cunning of the gods; and Loki, the trickster and greatest manipulator in Norse Mythology, is depicted by Gaiman. When Gaiman first started writing these stories, they were just short stories, but now they’ve been turned into a full-fledged novel. The first time that Thor’s hammer was stolen, he had to put on a woman’s disguise to steal it back. The story of Kvasir, the most sagacious of gods, whose blood is turned into a mead that infuses drinkers with poetic inspiration is more poignant. Ragnarok, the end of the gods and the beginning of a new era, marks the culmination of the project. It is through Neil Gaiman’s deft and witty prose that these ancient gods come to life once again with their fierce competitive natures, their vulnerability to deception (their own as well as others’), and their propensity to let passion ignite their actions.”

Anansi Boys

Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman wrote the fantasy novel Anansi Boys. Two brothers are left behind after the death of “Mr. Nancy,” an incarnation of the West African trickster god Anansi. The brothers discover each other. The book follows their journeys as they discover their shared history. Gaiman’s character Mr. Nancy appears in both American Gods and Neverwhere, despite the fact that neither book is a direct sequel to the first.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman’s 2013 novel, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, is a fantasy adventure story. Author William Morrow and Company first published this novel on June 18, 2013, following an anonymous man who returns to his hometown for a funeral and recalls events that began more than four decades before that. The book’s illustrated edition, featuring the work of Australian fine artist Elise Hurst, was released on November 5th, 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.