5 Best Books Like One Of Us Is Lying Update 05/2022

As we read books like One of Us Is Lying, we are encouraged to use our brains in order to solve the mystery. What would you do to keep your secrets hidden from the rest of the world, asks Karen McManus in this suspenseful mystery?

One of the Bayview High School students has died, so there are now four students in detention.
This is the beginning of the mystery.

Police discover that Simon was about to reveal terrible secrets about the other four students via his app the next day after he died in detention after drinking a glass of water.

Each student tells his or her own story, and the mystery is solved. You’ll love One of Us is Lying if you liked The Breakfast Club and binge-watched Veronica Mars.

When you finish a murder mystery, you might be disappointed that the story is over. There are no more secrets to uncover or plot twists to ponder, but never fear! Your next puzzle is right here, thanks to us.

Books like One of Us is Lying

One of Us is Next by Karen McManus

After a year, this book is a sequel to One of Us is Lying, but the characters are different enough that it can be read as a stand-alone.

Bayview High has information on some of the students that someone doesn’t want to be revealed in this book. Instead of being forced to play a game of Truth or Dare, as was the case with Simon in the previous book, this person will give the victim a chance to hide their transgressions.

You must participate in the game if you want to keep your darkest secrets hidden.
It’s hard to go wrong with One of Us is Next if you liked One of Us is Lying and want to read more about the students of Bayview High.

Heist Society, by Ally Carter

In the spirit of Oceans Eleven, may I recommend Heist Society as a book similar to One of Us is Lying?
Katarina Bishop, the daughter of a thief, is a teenager. Her childhood was a training ground for how to pull off a masterful robbery.

When a powerful mobster accuses her father of stealing his priceless works of art, she is forced to assist him in the investigation. A heist of her own must be organized, planned, and carried out in the next two weeks. She needs to track down the thief and snatch the paintings back. Check out this book like One of Us is Lying if you enjoy it when a plan comes together.

Stormbreaker, by Anthony Horowitcz

Anthony Horowitcz’s novel, Stormbreaker, was a New York Times bestseller in 2001 and is part of the Alex Rider series. In 2006, a film adaptation was made.

Alex Rider lives with his uncle, Ian Rider, and his housekeeper, Jack Starbright, whose parents have died. Alex becomes suspicious when his uncle, who he believes to be a banker, is killed in a car accident. In addition to Ian’s lack of a seatbelt, his office had been thoroughly cleaned.

Discovering that his uncle had been assassinated, Alex learns that his uncle worked for MI6. Herod Sayle, the inventor of the Stormbreaker computers, has expressed a desire to place them in British schools, and MI6 is looking to bring Alex on board to assist in their investigation. As they believe Sayle intends to use his computers to murder thousands of children, they require him to go undercover. I highly recommend Stormbreaker if you enjoy books like One of Us Is Lying and are looking for more teenage mystery stories.

Truly Devious, by Maureen Johnson

Look no further than this multi-award-winning debut novel from the Truly Devious series if you’re looking for more books like One of Us is Lying. On the first day of classes at Albert Ellingham’s private school in 1936, his wife and daughter were kidnapped from the school grounds. Truly Devious signature on the riddle was the only clue. Their disappearance remained a mystery for all these years.

When Stevie Bell, a crime-loving first-year student, arrives on campus, she immediately sets her sights on solving this cold case.

True Devious strikes again before Stevie can begin her investigations! A second murder has been committed. This novel, which is similar to One of Us Is Lying in tone and setting, will keep you guessing until the very end.

Undead Girl Gang, by Lily Anderson

Undead Girl Gang, like One of Us Is Lying, takes a detour into the Wiccan world, so you can expect a little magic with your mystery.
The mean girls at Fairmont Academy are no different from those at any other high school, but when two of them are found dead and the circumstances are suspicious, someone must investigate.

It’s hard not to like Wiccan Mila Flores, who wears Doc Martens and has an air of mystery about her. June and Dayton, two of the school’s most infamous bullies, committed suicide by hanging. Riley, Mila’s best friend and fellow Wiccan, drowned in a nearby creek just a few days later. A suicide pact is widely believed to have taken place between Mila and the other students, but Mila is confident that they are wrong.

Mila uses a spell to bring back her friend in order to discover the truth. Inadvertently, she brings back the other two girls as well, which is a problem. After seven days, everyone must face the reality that they have been assassinated and must accept their own mortality.
I’m baffled as to why no one follows Mila’s example. Get your hands on Undead Girl Gang if you’re a fan of the idea of bringing back the dead to solve their own murders.

White Rabbit, by Caleb Roehrig

This is Roehrig’s second novel, and it revolves around the relationship between Rufus and Sebastian, who are both grieving and dealing with coming out.

Sabastian, Rufus Holt’s ex-boyfriend, broke his heart and now he’s ready to move on. However, Sabastian returns and says that they ‘need to talk’ before departing.

Then April, Rufus’ half-sister, calls him with a panicked message. Something terrible has happened at a party, and she needs his assistance.

After arriving to find April holding a knife next to Fox Whitney’s bloody body, Rufus must decide whether or not she is telling the truth. Whoever killed Fox is on their tails and they’ve got one night to get it figured out! Like One of Us Is Lying, this suspenseful novel will keep you guessing until the very end.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.