8 Best Books Like Ranger’s Apprentice Update 05/2022

Books Like Ranger's Apprentice

Fantasy, adventure, and magic are all present in Ranger’s Apprentice, a series that keeps both young and old readers on the edge of their seats. Check out these other intriguing titles if your reader has already finished the series and enjoyed it (all titles linked).

Brotherband Chronicles

Brotherband Chronicles

They’re outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the rest of the gang are the bad boys no one wants to hang out with. As any fan of Ranger’s Apprentice knows, the Scandinavians are renowned for their physical prowess. They’re not like that. However, this does not imply that they lack abilities. And they’ll need all the courage they can muster to face off against the Wolves and the Sharks in the ultimate race at sea. Playing in the icy waters is a dangerous endeavor for anyone who isn’t a fan of the sport. Author John Flanagan, whose books have sold millions of copies around the world, has created a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens. It is certain to excite fans of Ranger’s Apprentice as well as a whole new generation of readers who are only now discovering the books in this series, as Book 1 of The Brotherband Chronicles is full of seafaring adventures and epic battles.

Spirit Animals

The same ritual is performed by cloaked strangers in the presence of four children who live in different parts of the world. As if by magic, four dazzling flashes of light burst forth, revealing the unmistakable forms of mythical creatures such as wolves, leopards, pandas, and falcons. These children’s lives and the world’s have been forever altered.

At age 18, every child is required to find their spirit animal, which is an extremely rare and powerful connection between humans and animals. The world is about to be ravaged by a dark force that has risen from long-forgotten lands. The fate of Erdas has now been placed on the shoulders of four young strangers… and on your shoulders.

Discover your spirit animal and join the adventure in this book series/role-playing game hybrid.

The Beyonders

Brandon Mull’s Beyonders fantasy series gets off to a flying start with this #1 New York Times bestseller.

A routine day at the zoo ends with Jason Walker being suddenly transported from the hippo tank to a place unlike anything he’s ever seen. Jason Walker has often wished his life could be a little less predictable. The people of Lyrian once welcomed visitors from the Otherworld, but Maldor, the wizard emperor, has changed their minds since he came to power. Since the emperor’s brave opponents have been bought off or broken, the world has become one of fear and suspicion.

While trying to figure out how to get back to Earth, Jason runs into Rachel, a woman from our world who had been drawn to Lyrian for some reason. Together with a few scattered rebels, Jason and Rachel are drawn into an epic quest to piece together the word of power necessary to topple the emperor and discover that their only hope of returning home lies in saving an entire world devoid of any hero heroes.

Cry of the Icemark

Cry of the Icemark

In a sprawling fantasy filled with exhilarating action and vividly imagined characters, a brave young woman must defy an empire in order to save her homeland.

After her father’s death, Thirrin Freer Strong-In-The-Arm, the headstrong princess, takes on the role of warrior queen in defense of her homeland, Icemark, against an invading force. As a result, Thirrin’s mission is more difficult than he could have ever imagined. She will need to build a formidable army to take on her rival. As a result, she only has until spring to bring together the strange beasts and frightening creatures that live just outside her country. Thirrin’s vision and tenacity are the only things that will keep her going.


In his colony, Shade is the smallest of the silverwing bats, a runt. In the long, dangerous winter migration to Hibernaculum, millions of wingbeats to the south, he is determined to prove himself. In the middle of a fierce storm, he is separated from the others and soon finds himself on the most incredible journey of his young life. To help him find his way back to the Brightwing, Shade meets a strange cast of characters, including Marina the Brightwing bat with the strange metal band on her leg, Zephyr the mystical albino bat with the strange gift, and Goth the gigantic carnivorous vampire bat. Marina the Brightwing bat is the first of these unusual characters Shade meets. But who are your allies and who are your adversaries? Shade is going to need all the help he can get if he ever hopes to see his family again in this epic story of adventure and suspense.

The Dark is Rising

The Dark is Rising

A special birthday present Will Stanton receives on the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday is that he is one of the last Old Ones, immortals who are dedicated to preventing evil forces from taking over the world. With no time to waste, the Old Ones send him on a quest for the magic signs he needs to help them fight off darkness for all time. During the twelve days leading up to Christmas, Will’s life is filled with wonder, terror, and delight as the Darkness falls.


Eragon, a fifteen-year-old farm boy, has no idea that he is destined to become a Dragon Rider when his true identity is revealed to him. Eager to prove himself worthy of the title “king of the gods,” Eragon is thrust into a dangerous web of magic, glory, and power. Now, he has a choice that could either save or destroy the Empire.

Lord of the Rings

In the darkness, one Ring will bring them all together and bind them in the name of the Lord of the Rings. Ancient elves forged the Rings of Power, including Sauron’s One Ring, which he filled with his own power so that he could rule the world. It was taken from him, and he searched for it throughout Middle-earth, but it evaded him at every turn. It ended up in the hands of the hobbit Bilbo Baggins by accident after a long period of time. The reach of Sauron’s power extended far beyond the confines of the Dark Tower of Mordor. All the Great Rings belonged to Sauron, but he was always on the lookout for the final piece to his dominion: the One Ring.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.