9 Best Books Like Red Queen Update 05/2022

The Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard drew readers in from the beginning to the end, culminating in War Storm. It’s thrilling and inspiring to follow Mare’s journey as she takes control of her life and discovers a greater purpose. I’ve met people who had never picked up a book before this series came along at the right time for them. If you’re one of those people, finding books like Red Queen will help you keep your momentum going. Finding out what made the show unique is an important task for everyone.

It’s common for Red Queen’s attributes to be thrown around like confetti: The X-Men meets Game of Thrones and the Hunger Games. “Graceling” meets “The Selection” There are two kinds of people in the world: those born with the color red, and those born with silver, who are endowed with supernatural abilities. A red-blooded girl who discovers her deadly power is disguised as a long-lost Silver princess and engaged to a Silver prince in order to hide her true identity. Followed by a series of shocking revelations and betrayals. I can’t think of any other books that come close.

So, if you’re looking for fast-paced, action-packed books about teenage girls with supernatural abilities who are leading revolutions, I have you covered. There are a lot of books like Red Queen that share at least some of the appeal of the series. Below are a few subheadings.

Books Like Red Queen With Royal Intrigue

The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection’s premise alone convinced me to read the entire series. The Bachelor, but with a royal twist and a dark future. One could argue that The Bachelor is already a dystopian reality show. I’d have no problem with that.) The Selection features an American Singer, who is vying for the heart of Illea’s prince while secretly wishing for another young man in a lower caste than her own.. We’ve got a few more suggestions for anyone who finds this book particularly engrossing.

The Belles by Dhonielle Clayt

Even though I live in a dystopian capitalist hellscape where everything is rotten to the core, there are times when I yearn to read about beautiful people and opulent settings. The Belles spins that idea into a luscious series of books. Camellia is a Belle, which means she has the ability to bring beauty to a world that is otherwise drab. As she strives to earn the Queen’s favor, she discovers that her abilities are far more potent than she ever imagined. How willing she is to keep this gilded universe spinning is up to her.

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

I find it endearing how gloomy many nursery rhymes are. The gloomy nursery rhyme foreshadows the story in Three Dark Crowns. When it comes to the three Black Witches of the title, they’re all very attractive. Triplets approaching their sixteenth birthday are the focus of this now-defunct series. Competition for the title of queen will begin on that date. As a result, one of the sisters has a distinct advantage over the other two. However, the plot twists and turns in a more complicated manner.

Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan

First in a trilogy about three castes in a world with a king who is looking for consorts. There is some sexual violence in the story, but it is handled very delicately. New recruits have arrived at the opulent palace, including Lei, a country girl from the lowest caste. When she meets Wren, a fellow consort, a sapphic romance begins. This love will give Lei the courage she needs to discover her own personal power and meaning in life.

Books Like Red Queen With Rich World Building

The Tiger at Midnight by Swati Teerdhala

As the first in a trilogy, The Tiger at Midnight is heavily influenced by South Asian mythology. Ephraim’s assassin, Esha, is retaliating for what she believes was taken from her during the royal coup. This realization dawns on her when she meets with a soldier for the ruling regime, Kunal. This is the book for you if you’re looking for a forbidden love story with plenty of banter and an examination of the ethics of war.

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

The Folk of the Air series features a compelling depiction of the fae realm in The Cruel Prince, the first book in the series. There are also well-developed characters because it was written by Holly Black. The High Court of Faerie kidnapped Jude and her sisters, all of whom were mortals. There is a misconception that Jude wants to flee, but in reality, she wants to be a part of something greater than herself. Despite Cardan’s hatred of mortals, we all know the line between love and hate can be a little blurry.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Red Queen has been promised by Peacock, so if you’re waiting for that, Netflix has a season of the Grishaverse waiting for you there. Get started on the Leigh Bardugo path with Shadow and Bone. An orphan named Alina is the focus of this fantasy series, which is set in a Russian-influenced world. Her actions put the world’s order in jeopardy because of a gaping rift filled with monstrous monsters. The more Bardugo delves into the lives of the characters who inhabit this world, the more fascinating it becomes.

Books Like Red Queen With Dystopian Resistance Plots

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Solitary confinement due to one’s inability to be touched is a bit much for those of us who became touch-starved during the pandemic. Juliette is fortunate to have met Adam, who is completely invulnerable to her powers. She discovers that she is not a monster after all when he leads her to a revolt against the dystopian regime that has her imprisoned. The now-complete series is known for its poetic similes and numerous strike-throughs in its writing style.

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

The Medio School for Girls teaches young women how to run their husbands’ households or care for their children, depending on their preference. The Handmaid’s Tale might be a bit of a comparison, but it’s accurate. Top student Daniela Varga must decide whether she wants to live a comfortable life in these clearly defined options, or whether she wants to take part in the resistance effort to bring equality in Medio. And to make matters more complicated, she has developed feelings for the other woman she will be living with once she graduates. Who can she confide in?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.