8 Best Books Like Restart Update 05/2022

Books Like Restart

Slacker

Slacker

Gordon Korman

The hilarious and fantastic story of an underachiever who achieves far more than any overachiever could ever imagine is brought to you by the New York Times bestselling author of Swindle and Ungifted. When Cameron Boxer isn’t avoiding homework, hanging out with his friends, or playing video games in his basement all day, he’s doing what he loves. It’s not too difficult for him to get away with it until he gets so engrossed in one game that he nearly sets his house on fire. Oops. As a last resort, Cameron and his friends invent a fictitious school club to give the impression that they are doing good deeds rather than lazing around. What’s the problem here?? There are a few kids who believe that the club exists, and Cameron is the club’s president. The beaver named Elvis is at risk of extinction, and Cameron will soon be a part of a mission to save him. In the process, he makes some new friends and some powerful new adversaries. It’s going to take all of his slacker skills to win this round for the guy who never cared about anything‚Ķ

Ungifted

Gordon Korman

One of Gordon Korman’s best-known books for children was Ungifted, published in 2012. Alternating perspectives are used to tell the story. Donovan Curtis, a troublemaker, is at the center of the story, caught up in a massive practical joke gone horribly wrong. Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a school for gifted and talented students, after the superintendent caused an accident. In order to stay out of trouble and help the students of ASD, Donovan spends the rest of the book using his unique abilities to help them.

The Unteachables

Gordon Korman

Gordan Korman, author of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day, returns with a new middle-grade novel about what happens when the worst students in the school are assigned to the worst teacher. The Unteachables are a well-known group of outcasts, criminals, and academic failures. Such as Aldo, who has a problem controlling his anger, Parker, who is unable to read, Kiana, who doesn’t belong in this class at all, and Elaine, who is completely out of place. In order to keep the Unteachables separate from the rest of the student body, they have been placed in room 117 with Mr. Zachary Kermit, Greenwich’s most burnt-out teacher. Cheating scandals have ruined his career, and he still feels the sting of it to this day. He’s finally one year away from early retirement after years of phoning it in. And then there’s Mr. Kermit. The Unteachables had no idea they’d be assigned a teacher with a worse attitude than they had. And Mr. Kermit never imagined he’d be interested in returning to the classroom. Room 117, on the other hand, will experience chaos, destruction, and perhaps even a chance for redemption over the course of a school year.

This Can’t Be Happening at Macdonald Hall

This Can't Be Happening at Macdonald Hall

Gordon Korman

There is no way this can be happening at Macdonald Hall, the title of Gordon Korman’s novel published in 1978. In addition to being the first book in the series, it was also Korman’s first published work. Mr. Hamilton, his English teacher, was the inspiration for this piece.

Karen’s Witch

Ann M. Martin

A new spin-off of The Babysitters Club features Karen Brewer, Kristy’s little stepsister, who lives next door to Mrs. Porter, a long-haired woman who wears black robes and has a wild gray hairstyle. Midnight, Mrs. Porter’s black cat, is her constant companion in the garden, where she appears to be working at all hours. As much as she knows it’s wrong, Karen is determined to prove Mrs. Porter’s accusation that she is a witch by the name of “Morbidda Destiny.” Karen is convinced that Mrs. Porter is holding a witches’ meeting at her house, and she wants to join in. Is Karen going to be enchanted? Or will she have the courage to finally send them away?

Supergifted

Gordon Korman

Author Gordon Korman returns with the highly anticipated sequel to his #1 New York Times bestselling novel, Ungifted. Noah Youkilis, Donovan Curtis’ best friend, has one of the highest IQs in the world, making him a supergifted person. All Noah wants after spending so many years at the Academy for Scholastic Distinction is the chance to fail. “Hashtag” Taggart, Donovan’s alpha jock, and cheerleading captain Megan Mercury are two people Noah is sure to offend as soon as he arrives at school. Donovan’s support for Noah puts him in the crosshairs of Hashtag’s wrath. Because of Hashtag’s involvement, Donovan is forbidden from telling anyone about the freak accident that makes him a hero. That should be the end of the matter. As a result, Noah steps in and transforms into “Superkid,” turning him into something of a school titan. This sequel to the viral hit Ungifted pokes fun at our preconceived notions about what it means to be intelligent, heroic, and popular. And it’s possible that it got to him.

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus

Dusti Bowling

With a positive outlook and a dry sense of humor, the reader will remember Aven long after the final page is turned. -School Library Journal’s Autumn 2017 Kids’ Indie Next List – Reading the West Book Award Winner for Children’s Books – School Library Journal Best-selling novel for middle-grade readers about a girl born without arms and a boy with Tourette syndrome navigating middle school, disability, and friendship while solving a mystery in a western theme park. Now available as paperback edition. An alligator wrestling match or a wildfire in Tanzania, Aven Green loves to tell people, but the truth is that she was born without arms. When her parents accept a job at Arizona’s dilapidated Stagecoach Pass, a Western-themed amusement park, Aven knows she’ll be asked this question time and time again. She meets Connor, a classmate who also suffers from social isolation due to his disability, and their new lives take an unexpected turn when they discover a room at Stagecoach Pass that holds more secrets than Aven ever imagined. A mystery, helping a friend, and confronting your deepest fears are all difficult. But Aven is about to discover that she can do it all, even if she doesn’t have her arms.

Mighty, Mighty Construction Site

Sherri Duskey Rinker

The best-selling book in the United States Any time of day or night is a good time to introduce young children between the ages of 2 and 5. An emphasis on teamwork, friendship, and cooperation: At long last, the team behind the international bestseller Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site has released a follow-up novel. To complete their most difficult task yet, all of the favorite construction trucks are back at the big construction site and will need the assistance of some new construction friends. The Mighty, Mighty Construction Site teaches children that when they work together, even the most difficult task seems manageable. The ideal book for children who are learning to work and play together, make new friends, and overcome challenges. It’s a great choice for both family and school story time. It was created by Sherri Duskey Rinker and Tom Lichtenheld, the authors of New York Times bestsellers Goodnight, Goodnight, and Steam Train. Construction site fans everywhere can look forward to an exciting follow-up to the critically acclaimed first film in the series with “Mighty, Mighty Construction Site.” Suitable for children and their construction vehicle-obsessed parents to read and enjoy at any time of the day or night. You can expect to see familiar faces like Dump Truck, Excavator, Cement Mixer, Bulldozer, and more – but you’ll also get to meet some new ones, like Skid Steer and Backhoe. One of the best books for a family read-aloud Colorful illustrations, rich vocabulary, and easy-to-follow rhymes make this book a joy to read aloud. If you have a child who isn’t able to read yet, this book is for them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.