5 Best Books Like Sapiens Update 05/2022

Books Like Sapiens

If you’ve already read this book or are familiar with its content, I’ve compiled a list of books that are somewhat similar to Yuval Harari’s impressive work and might be of interest to you.

Cosmosapiens: Human Evolution from the Origin of the Universe by John Hands

Cosmosapiens Human Evolution from the Origin of the Universe by John Hands

‘If we accept the limitations of science and reasoning, we can reach a satisfying and even profound understanding of the universe and how it works, always regarded as provisional but nonetheless providing a satisfactory worldview and foundation for action.’ Hopefully, when I move on to the evolution of matter, science will have greater explanatory power.”

The course of human development has always been a subject of debate. In spite of the fact that some people have always been curious about its existence while others have spent far too much time trying to find an answer, it has always been hidden within various theories and scientific research.

‘Who are we?’ and ‘Where do we come from?’ are two questions that Cosmosapiens by John Hands addresses. There are numerous developments and investigations suggested by John Hands in response to this question. He also asserts that science has the capacity to answer such questions. Highly recommended for anyone interested in modern evolution.

The Art Instinct: Beauty, Pleasure and Human Evolution by Denis Dutton

When it comes to the humanities, “the arts emerged spontaneously in similar forms across cultures, employing imaginative and intellectual capacities that had clear survival value.”

A beautifully thought-out book that explores the relationship between art and human civilization, as well as the ebb and flow of artistic skills throughout history.

As a philosopher of art, Denis Dutton argued that people do not simply acquire cultural art; rather, it is instilled in them as a result of their own evolutionary adaptations. An esoteric belief system that most people are unaware of. Dutton encourages the reader to think of art as an inherent character, which is a new way of looking at it.

Dutton appeared to have spent a considerable amount of time debating the various theories of art put forth by thinkers as diverse as Aristotle, Kant, Clive Bell, and Michel Foucault over the course of his career. To keep the reader’s attention for as long as possible, he based this book entirely on the engrossing concept of ‘Darwinian Theory of Beauty’.

The Book of Humans: A Brief History of Culture, Sex, War and Evolution of Us by Adam Charles Rutherford

This Is How We Got Here: Adam Charles Rutherford’s Selected Writings on the History of the Human Race

Book of Humans: A Brief History of Culture, Sex, War, and Evolution of Us by Adam Charles Rutherford.

The size of our brains is out of the ordinary. This means that our brains have an extremely high density of connections between cells and an increase in the surface area of our brain’s cortex, which is associated with modern behavior. However, we’re not necessarily at the top of all the metrics that can be applied to brains.”

This book examines the evolution of humanity. It’s a study of a transformation that gave a common ape the ability to create tools, music, science, art, and engineering. Humans have gained so much from our intelligence since we were just animals, and we are now the most advanced species on the planet.

A lot has been learned in the fields of genetics, evolutionary biology, and archaeology, but there is still a lot that we don’t know about. Starting with a look at our similarities and differences with other primates, such as apes, the book provides us with a wide range of topics to consider.

Scientist and author Adam Rutherford has written an engrossing book that anyone would enjoy reading.

A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson

A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson

This book by Bill Bryson is called A Short History of Nearly Everything.

“It’s remarkable to us because of how well it worked out.” You, I, and the ground we stand on might not exist if the universe had formed differently, if gravity were slightly stronger or weaker, or if the expansion had proceeded slightly more slowly or swiftly.

Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything takes us back in time to the beginning of the universe. It discusses the big bang’s impact on the formation of our universe and our very existence. No ifs, no buts are mentioned in this book; instead, the facts about human survival are presented. It focuses on atoms, matter, the solar system, our planet, its current state, and Darwin’s theory of evolution, among other things.

Intricate in the sense that it’s like re-reading science in high school, but with a slew of new details and insights. The author also points out that we humans have become impatient when it comes to progress. The modern world is constantly improving, but it’s up to us to see how far we’ve come. An excellent resource for those who are interested in science, I think.

The Big Bang To Black Holes: A Pictorial History

Steven Pinker’s book Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress

Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress by Steven Pinker

When it became clear to the Enlightenment thinkers that conventional wisdom could be wrong, they turned to scientific methods like skepticism, fallibilism, open debate, and empirical testing as a model for how to obtain reliable knowledge.

One of the best books I’ve ever read on social philosophy. This isn’t just a personal favorite of mine; it’s also a favorite of Bill Gates. Instead of how we see and seek enlightenment with the underlying ideals of reason, science, and humanism, Pinker writes an incredibly well-researched book on enlightenment and its ideals.

In order to convey the truest meaning of progress, he has employed a wide range of insights. “Fundamental progress” rather than “definitive progress.” In addition to health, wealth, inequality, the environment, peace, and democracy, he provides an extensive list of facts. It’s clear that Pinker’s inferences are based on his interest in intellectual history and politics, which includes diplomats to environmentalists, which shows the breadth of his thought process in writing this book.

Even though I’ve reached the end of my list, the lessons I’ve learned are priceless. You should read them all because each one is as fascinating as it is instructive in its own way. I hope you do. If you haven’t already, please continue reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.