10 Best Books Like Sarah J Maas Update 05/2022

Books Like Sarah J Maas

I’m here to meet you all! Since there isn’t a Top Ten Tuesday this week (it’s on break), that got me thinking about coming up with my own! I’m a big fan of recommending books based on what other people enjoy reading.. One of my students is a big fan of Kasie West, so I’m constantly introducing her to other contemporary young adult romance authors like Sarah Dessen.) Because I know many of you are huge fans of Sarah J. Maas, I thought I’d see if I could dig up a few other titles that you might enjoy! (Authors may appear multiple times.)

1. The Gold Seer Trilogy by Rae Carson

The Gold Seer Trilogy by Rae Carson

Even though it seems odd, I can assure you that it works. The first book in the series, Walk on Earth a Stranger, tells the story of a girl who can sense gold during the American Gold Rush. The backstory of Lee, like many Maas heroines, is horrific and she must rely on her own wits and instincts to survive. Slow-burning romance and a touch of fantasy abound in this historical drama series. I thoroughly enjoyed the story, which deals with more than just love.

2. Ruined by Amy Tintera

Last year, I was blown away by a fantasy novel. Following the brutal murder of her parents, Em infiltrates the enemy kingdom as the prince’s betrothed in Ruined. Em is a reincarnation of Celaena Sardothien (Throne of Glass). Bold battles and alliances between unlikely allies are promised, as well as unforgettable characters in this fantasy.

3. The Remnant Chronicles series by Mary E. Pearson

Detail and length are two hallmarks of Maas books. The Remnant Chronicles are longer than any Maas book. Kiss of Deception, the first book in the series, is nearly 500 pages long, and the length only increases from there. Rival kingdoms, assassins, princes and princesses, and major battles are all part of this series. Moreover, it’s exceptionally well-written in the sense that the characters feel like real people you meet on a daily basis. I can’t get enough of them.

4. The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon

The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon

I’m sure most people have heard of Outlander, either because of its recent rise to fame or because I’ve been talking about it so much lately, but I’m going to bring it up again. During World War II, an army nurse named Claire Randall accidentally travels back in time to the year 1743, where she must use her cunning and cunning to survive in a political and brutal environment where a single slip-up could lead to her death. As a result of their length and quality, the books are a joy to read. At this point, Claire and Jamie are real people to me. Even the supporting cast members are related.

5. The Splintered series by A.G. Howard

In the event that you’re on the lookout for a wacky fantasy, this is it. a new take on the classic tale of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland It is the story of Alyssa, whose family has always been drawn to Wonderland or madness. Splintered is the story of Alyssa (sometimes both). In addition, Lewis Carroll’s Wonderland is a far more sinister and dangerous place in the real world.

6. The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa

The fey are a recurring theme in Maas’s books, so I decided to include a tale about them. The first book in the series, The Iron King, tells the story of a human girl who becomes a pawn in a fey power struggle. Despite the fact that she isn’t as powerful as Maas’s characters, there are still plenty of battle scenes, plot twists, and brilliant characters to be found.

7. The Fire and Thorns series by Rae Carson

The Fire and Thorns series by Rae Carson

This is, in my opinion, the best of Maas’s work that I’ve read. After an arranged marriage, Princess Elisa finds herself as the new queen of a country she doesn’t feel qualified to rule. This series has it all: daring twists, fearsome foes, spells, explosive character growth, and shocking turns. This series is a must-read if you haven’t already done so.

8. Penryn & the End of Days series by Susan Ee

With this pick, I took a different route. The antagonist in most of Maas’s novels is a terrifying and seemingly unbeatable foe. I’m stumped as to what else would qualify. This is the beginning of the story of Penryn, the teenage girl who will do whatever it takes to get her disabled sister back from the angels who kidnapped her. It’s insightful and well-written, but it also creates a terrifyingly believable dystopian world that examines human nature as humanity crumbles.

9. The Pledge series by Kimberly Derting

I decided to take a different path here. The Pledge introduces us to a world of oppressive rulers and distinct social classes. Fights and magic are featured in the story, as is a heroine who must outsmart some very dangerous adversaries.

10. Defy series by Sara B. Larson

The Throne of Glass series is reimagined in a more sentimental vein in this book series. In order to escape the terror of being a woman in a man’s world, Alexa disguises herself as a boy (Alex) in the story Defy. She joins the King’s Guard and begins to reveal her secrets as a skilled fighter. In many ways, Alexa and Celaena are very similar characters, but this book places a greater emphasis on romance than Maas’s other works.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.