8 Best Books Like Sharp Objects Update 05/2022

Books Like Sharp Objects

However, Gillian Flynn’s novel, Sharp Objects, was only made into an award-winning television series starring Amy Adams last year. If you’ve ever seen or read the book Gone Girl, you’ll recognize the characters from Sharp Objects, which is why many people are looking for other novels like Sharp Objects to read because they have similar dysfunctional lives entangled in secrets and betrayals.

To report on the disappearance and murder of a young girl in Wind Gap, Camille Preaker is flooded with memories of the past and the real dangers that made her leave in the first place. The novels listed below, all written by women, are like Sharp Objects in that they are all psychological thrillers that make it nearly impossible to put the book down until you find out what happens next.

8 Books like Sharp Objects

Dark Places, by Gillian Flynn

Dark Places, by Gillian Flynn

In comparison to Gone Girl, Flynn’s second book, Dark Places, which will be adapted into a film, did not receive the same level of praise. Three decades after her brother allegedly murdered her family, we follow Libby Day and discover that, as with many of Flynn’s protagonists before her, she hasn’t moved on from her trauma.

Libby runs out of money and begins to doubt her memories of the night of the massacre, which sets her on a quest to find the real killer. Will she be as fortunate a second time around? After reading Flynn’s debut, Sharp Objects, I was eager to see what else he had to offer.

Skin Deep, by Liz Nugent

Nugent’s novel Skin Deep proves that this genre, which is often lacking in the quality of the writing, can be well-written and still have a compelling story. Delia Russell is seen fleeing a crime scene in Nice early in the novel. In the West of Ireland, where she grew up, she is adored by her father, an abusive man, despite his affection.

It becomes clear as the story unfolds that Delia’s superficial beauty belies her self-centeredness and narcissism, which often lead to disastrous outcomes for those around her. Similarly to Sharp Objects, the novel employs a suspenseful plot to keep its readers guessing. This is the first book in years that I’ve been able to finish in a single day.

The Rose Petal Beach, by Dorothy Koomson

One thing they all have in common is that they keep you guessing until the very end. A little more of the story is revealed with each new chapter, but it also raises more questions than it answers.

Her husband Scott has been accused of attempted rape, and Tamia is struggling to reconcile her knowledge of him with the evidence that the police have presented…. Although this novel is a bit lengthy, it’s impossible to put down because of the impact each twist has on the reader.

Platform 7, by Louise Doughty

Platform 7, by Louise Doughty

Like Sharp Objects, Platform 7 begins with a crime and follows the story of how this crime came to be throughout the novel. Lisa, the protagonist, is a ghost who is doomed to haunt the train platform where she died, as soon as it is discovered.

To tell the story of Lisa’s recovery from amnesia in death, the novel focuses on Lisa’s story of domestic abuse and gaslighting. Doughty tells a story that is both honest and engrossing about the minds of both the victims and the perpetrators of crime in his superbly written novel.

Both Camille and Lisa in Sharp Objects deal with similar traumas, only their stories are told by different people, and even though you know Lisa is dead from the start, you’re still saddened by the way her final years are depicted.

Big Little Lies, by Liane Moriarty

Despite the fact that it is now a critically acclaimed show with an all-star cast, Big Little Lies began as a novel about three Australian women and the lies they tell each other and their families on a daily basis.

A murder, like so many others on this list, is at the heart of this book’s plot, but whose murder is it? Moreover, who bears the blame? Throughout the investigation, we learn more and more about the motives of Madeline, Celeste, and Jane, while also pondering whether one of them is the victim of this crime.

Those who enjoy books like Sharp Objects will enjoy Big Little Lies’ mystery.

Is this your first time reading it? Check out our list of other books that are similar to Big Little Lies.

Before I Go to Sleep, by S. J. Watson

When Christine wakes up each morning with no memory of the previous day, her husband Mark and the notes and photographs he leaves all over the house help her re-learn her life from the ground up again.

Christine, on the other hand, learns that she has been secretly filming her life story on a camcorder and hiding it from her husband for reasons she doesn’t understand. Christine’s search for the person she used to be leads her to discover that the accident that caused her to lose her memories was not an accident at all, but rather a deliberate act.

While reading Sharp Objects, Christine comes dangerously close to the memories that have been locked away from her for so long, like so many other characters in the book.

The Woman He Loved Before, by Dorothy Koomson

The Woman He Loved Before, by Dorothy Koomson

“The Woman He Loved Before,” the second of Koomson’s novels on this list, is also a great read.” Although Eve is dead, she remains a constant presence in Libby and Jack’s relationship. This is not Libby’s first time dealing with Eve.

After learning about the tragic life that Eve’s first husband had and the unanswered question of whether or not he had anything to do with her death, Libby is left to wonder if he was somehow involved in her death.

Sharp Objects-style blunders by the protagonist bring the reader on a roller coaster ride as she stumbles into dangerous truths.

Unravelling Oliver, by Liz Nugent

Unraveling Oliver, Nugent’s second book on this list and her debut novel, is beautifully written and grabs the reader from the very first page. People who knew Oliver and Alice begin to speculate about what drove him to inflict such harm on his wife, Alice, and leave her in a coma.

As soon as Oliver says, “I expected more of a reaction when I first hit her,” the reader gains a better understanding of Oliver’s personality. With the exception of The Rose Petal Beach and Sharp Objects, where you aren’t left guessing about who Oliver is or why he attacked his wife, this book’s mystery is told through the perspectives of those who knew him.

A trip to France in his teens, as well as what happened to him at that time, are two of the novel’s mysteries that are only revealed at its conclusion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.