6 Best Books Like Shatter Me Update 05/2022

Books Like Shatter Me

Shatter Me fans, have we got a recommendation for you!

Romance has an undeniable appeal to young adult readers. Young adults, perhaps more than anyone else, are learning how to take their first tentative steps in romantic relationships. When it came to romantic dystopian fantasy, no one in the publishing industry knew what they were missing until Shatter Me filled that gap.

Writing by Mafi is… crazy. The writing style resembles that of a journalistic piece, with entire sentences omitted. It’s like a rough draft that hasn’t yet been edited. Isn’t that what matters? However, Shatter Me has its flaws, but overall it’s a great film! My interest was piqued by the story of Juliette, a girl who can’t touch or be touched without accidentally killing people.

However, if you’ve already read it, you might be interested in these books that are similar to Shatter Me.

Books like Shatter Me

Shadow and Bone, by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone, by Leigh Bardugo

Young female protagonists with special abilities are a common theme in books like Shatter Me. When Alina Starkov and her best friend are being attacked, she discovers a power and uses it to save their lives in Shadow and Bone. The Grisha, an elite magical unit known for their combat prowess, naturally accept Alina into their ranks.

There’s more to Alina than meets the eye, and as the Shadow Fold threatens to engulf the land, she’ll have to face monsters both within and without. In this story, Alina’s world is a fascinating one. Creeping darkness, spitting out monsters and more, is an effective way to creep across the land.

There are some similarities to other YA novels, but Bardugo’s writing is clear and the characters are interesting enough to keep you engaged in the story. Those who enjoyed Shatter Me will enjoy this book.

Under the Never Sky, by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky, a title that shares some similarities with Shatter Me, is easier to read. With its dystopian science fiction setting, the protagonists are young adults, so it can be labeled as young adult literature.

Having spent her entire life under the protective dome of Reverie, Aria sets out to find her mother when she goes missing. When she meets Perry, a wild savage who is also on the hunt for a mate, things begin to escalate.

Interesting world-building (what is the Aether, exactly?) and action. Likeable characters and an intriguing plot make Under the Never Sky worthwhile reading. However, for younger readers, the romance is perfectly pitched to captivate readers’ hearts and minds.

Cinder, by Marissa Meyer

Cinder, by Marissa Meyer

Romance, fantasy, science fiction, and dystopian setting are all genres that Shatter Me falls into. This and more are met by Cinder. A futuristic retelling of Cinderella, complete with cyborgs and a shadowy threat lurking on the moon, awaits your attention.

When it comes to the original fairy tale character Cinder is based on, she has a lot more control over her destiny. For starters, Cinder is a gifted mechanic who, despite being a second-class citizen, does more than marry a handsome prince.

Her destiny is in her hands, and in this genre, it’s refreshing to see a female protagonist who isn’t just in love with the upper-class prince charming and happily ever after. The world is harsh and the stakes are high in this future, but Cinder is a brave and resourceful hero who can handle anything.

Have you already read it? Try some of these Cinder-esque reads, too!

Storm and Silence, by Robert Thier

Shatter Me is one of the few books of its kind that takes place in the past. We are transported back in time to 19th century London in Storm and Silence. Our heroine, Lilly Linton, aspires to be more than a wife and mother. Women in the Victorian era weren’t allowed much freedom, and Lilly is no exception.

A powerful British Empire figure, Mr Rikkard Ambrose, hires Lilly as his secretary. The conflicts in this book are well-drawn. Lilly longs for the independence to live her own life as she sees fit. A woman’s voice should be heard and she deserves the same treatment as a man. Despite this, she can’t help but be drawn to Ambrose.

At this point, it would have been easy to put the book down and stop reading, but the story’s characters were what kept me going. Remarkable characters are Lilly Ambrose and Rik Ambrose.

Some of Lilly’s decisions irritate me, and Ambrose comes across as an egotistical jerk who doesn’t care about anyone but himself. Despite this, they both have weaknesses in their battle for power. With this pairing, they have managed to create a dynamic that is both explosive and highly entertaining.

A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas

Shatter Me and other books like it are filled with romance and the supernatural, from Victorian England to faeries and magic.

The gloom of A Court of Thorns and Roses is a welcome respite. If she is found guilty of the murder of a Faerie, Feyre will be sent to a magical kingdom to stand trial. While there, she begins to see that her captor is more complex than she initially thought (or his green eyes in this case).

Feyre finds herself on a quest to break an ancient curse before she loses something she’s come to love as her feelings for him evolve. A fairy tale fantasy romance at first glance, but as you read further you’ll discover a lot more. Backstabbing politicians are just some of the faeries.

As a hunter and an artist, Feyre is more than just another swooning girl in need of rescuing. On the other hand, Tamlin is an incoherent jumble of conflicting emotions: cold and unyielding while also terrified and exposed.

The romance isn’t overpowering, and though this is a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast, it’s more sophisticated and nuanced than most.

Have you already read it? Find more books like A Court of Thorns and Roses on our list of recommended reads!

Legend, by Marie Lu

Legend has already been discussed, but it’s worth mentioning here because it shares some characteristics with Shatter Me. At war with neighboring countries, the autocratic Republic operates a social structure in which the upper echelons of society are dominated by wealthy families, while everyone else lives in poverty.

June is at the very top, and Day is at the very bottom. Two people who would have never met if June’s brother, Metias, hadn’t been killed. June sets out to exact revenge on Day, but it turns out that he is not the person she believes he is. I can see why this book has been so popular.

At the time of this writing, the United States is in a state of turmoil, and the lies and outright refusal to accept facts can be found throughout Legend. You can tell Lu is writing from the heart because of his own personal experiences. This is a fantastic read.

Have you already read it? We’ve compiled a list of books that are similar to Legend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.