16 Best Books Like Slaughterhouse Five Update 05/2022

Books Like Slaughterhouse Five

Cat’s Cradle

Cat's Cradle

Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut’s Cat’s Cradle is a satirical postmodern novel with elements of science fiction. This is Kurt Vonnegut’s fourth novel and was published in 1963. It explores and satirizes issues relating to science and technology, as well as religion and the arms race. In 1971, the University of Chicago awarded Vonnegut his master’s degree in anthropology for Cat’s Cradle, after initially rejecting his original thesis in 1947.

The Sirens of Titan

Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.’s 1959 novel The Sirens of Titan is a humorous work of science fiction. Free will and omniscience are central themes in his second novel about the purpose of human history. A Martian invasion of Earth is a major plot point.

Catch-22

Joseph Heller

Author Joseph Heller’s Catch-22 is an American satirical war novel. First published in 1961 was the novel he began writing in 1953. An important work of literature from the twentieth century, it employs a non-chronological, omniscient third-person style of narration to tell the story from multiple characters’ points of view. This timeline moves in sync with the plot because the various storylines aren’t chronologically related.

Fahrenheit 451

Ray Bradbury

When Guy Montag, a fireman, becomes disillusioned with his role of censoring literature and eliminating knowledge in the dystopian novel Fahrenheit 451, he quits his job to devote himself to the preservation of literary and cultural works.

Slapstick

Slapstick

Kurt Vonnegut

Science fiction novel Slapstick, or Lonely No More! by American author Kurt Vonnegut. In 1976, Vonnegut wrote this book, which depicts his views on loneliness, both on an individual and societal level.

Hocus Pocus

Kurt Vonnegut

What’s the Hurry, Son? or Hocus Pocus. is a Kurt Vonnegut novel published in 1990.

The Catcher in the Rye

D. Salinger

Originally serialized in the New Yorker from 1945 to 1946, J. D. Salinger’s story “The Catcher in the Rye” was published as a book in 1951. As a critique of society’s superficiality, it has become a favorite of young readers, despite the fact that it was originally written for adults. It’s been translated into many languages. A total of more than 65 million books have been sold over the course of the last decade. Holden Caulfield, the novel’s protagonist, has become a symbol of teen rebellion. Throughout the book, the reader will encounter themes such as innocence, belonging, betrayal, and sex.

Bluebeard

Kurt Vonnegut

Bestseller Kurt Vonnegut’s 1987 novel Bluebeard: The Autobiography of Rabo Karabekian. Rabo Karabekian, a fictional abstract expressionist painter who first appeared as a minor character in Kurt Vonnegut’s Breakfast of Champions, is depicted in his later years in this first-person narrative. The story’s events are eerily similar to those in Charles Perrault’s fairy tale of Bluebeard. Only once does Karabekian refer to this relationship in the novel.

Nineteen Eighty-Four

Nineteen Eighty-Four

George Orwell

George Orwell’s dystopian novel Nineteen Eighty-Four: A Novel, commonly referred to as 1984, is a classic work of literature. Secker & Warburg published it in June 1949 as Orwell’s ninth and final book that he wrote while he was still alive. At Barnhill, a farmhouse on the Scottish island of Jura, Orwell spent most of his time writing the story, which he did even as he battled severe tubercular disease. It’s a book about the consequences of government overreach, totalitarianism, widespread surveillance, and the repressive regulation of everyone and everything in society in Nineteen Eighty-Four.

Jailbird

Kurt Vonnegut

Originally published in 1979, Jailbird by Kurt Vonnegut is a novel by the author. One of the film’s central characters is a man recently released from prison after serving time for his part in the Watergate scandal. Walter F. Starbuck’s current situation is revealed in the novel, which then goes back to tell the story of his first two days out of prison. Through Walter F. Starbuck’s rambling biographical sketches of the various characters referenced in the novel, Jailbird focuses on American labor movement history, while also highlighting flaws in corporate America, the American political system, and the American red scare of the late 1950s. Vonnegut’s character Kilgore Trout, who writes science fiction novels and short stories, makes a brief appearance in Jailbird. “Kilgore Trout” is revealed to be a pseudonym for a character in prison, which contradicts the autobiographical details of Trout’s life as outlined in earlier and subsequent Vonnegut novels. However, in this appearance,

Deadeye Dick

Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut’s novel Deadeye Dick was published in 1982.

The Things They Carried

Tim O’Brien

In The Things They Carried, Tim O’Brien tells the story of a platoon of American soldiers fighting in Vietnam. On the 23rd Infantry Division, where he served, he wrote his third book about the war.

The Grapes of Wrath

The Grapes of Wrath

John Steinbeck

John Steinbeck’s realist novel The Grapes of Wrath was first published in the United States in 1939. Among its many honors, including Steinbeck’s Nobel Prize in Literature in 1962, were the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize it garnered for fiction.

Welcome to the Monkey House

Kurt Vonnegut

In August 1968, Kurt Vonnegut published Welcome to the Monkey House, a collection of 25 short stories. Satire and Vonnegut’s unique edge abound in these stories, which range from wartime epics to sci-fi thrillers. Human nature and current society are often depicted as intertwined in the stories.

Animal Farm

George Orwell

“Animal Farm” by George Orwell was first published in the United Kingdom on August 17, 1945, as an allegorical novella. An animal rebellion is depicted in the book, in which a group of farm animals seek to create a society where all animals are equal, free, and happy. In the end, the rebellion fails, and the farm is returned to its pre-Napoleonic state, ruled by a pig named Napoleon.

Go Set a Watchman

Harper Lee

Harper Lee’s prequel novel to To Kill a Mockingbird, which won the Pulitzer Prize, is called Go Set a Watchman. Many passages from this book have been used in the original novel To Kill a Mockingbird, despite the fact that the publisher originally marketed it as a sequel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.