10 Best Books Like Smile Update 05/2022

Books Like Smile

Graphic novelist Raina Telgemeier is one of the most popular. Readers adore her work, and librarians tell me that titles like Smile are frequently requested. No matter if you want to encourage your children to read more non-graphic middle grade novels like Smile, Guts, and Drama or just want them to read more graphic novels like Smile, Guts, and Drama, this book list will help you do just that.

For the sake of ease, I’ve broken this list into two sections, each with five titles. Choose from a variety of graphic novels, such as Smile, to get started. If you’re a Raina Telgemeier fan, look for some good middle-grade non-graphic novels.

Graphic Novels Like Smile

All’s Faire in Middle School

All's Faire in Middle School

by Victoria Jamieson

Vega’s parents run a renaissance fair, and Impy works as a squire to assist them. Although she feels right at home at the fair, she isn’t so sure about tackling the challenges of middle school. It is Impy’s mistakes that lead to a lack of confidence and alienation from her peers. However, she puts in the effort and learns to make better decisions as a result.

Be Prepared

by Vera Brosgol

Based on the author’s own childhood memories, I found this graphic novel to be hysterically funny. Vera’s Russian immigrant family’s inability to keep up with the Joneses makes it difficult for her to blend in with her peers. As for the new Russian summer camp, she has high hopes for it. Even after a rocky start, Vera is able to use her unique combination of interests, personality, and intellect to make the most of her time at summer camp.

Stargazing

by Jen Wang

Aw, this was a wonderful story. A single mother and her daughter, Moon, are welcomed into Christine’s mother’s guest house. In spite of their extreme differences, Christine and Moon discover that there is more in common between them than they had previously thought. In the near future, Moon will reveal a secret to Christine, a secret that will shock everyone.

New Kid

new kid

by Jerry Craft

It wasn’t long after I brought this book home from the library that my son became obsessed with reading it over and over again! It’s not a surprise to me, since reading it made me realize just how complex this tale is! For art-loving seventh-grader Jordan, it’s a new school and a new experience. There is much to discover in Craft’s story, even if you read it more than once.

This Was Our Pact

by Ryan Andrews

Ben and his pals have come to an agreement on this. When the lanterns are released into the river for the annual Autumn Festival, they will be followed to see where they go. If the legend is true, they want to find out how it works. However, one by one, the children begin to walk away from the pact, leaving only Ben and Nathaniel. But they keep going and what they come across is truly magical.

Novels to Read After Smile

Dear Sweet Pea

by Julie Murphy

Parents of Sweet Pea, who are divorced, share custody of their daughter by living next door. While Sweet Pea’s friendships are in flux, a neighbor asks her to take care of her mail. She can’t help but respond to a few letters from her neighbor, who is an advice columnist. Because of this, she gets herself into a bit of trouble. Both amusing and heartwarming.

Roll With It

Roll With It

by Jamie Sumner

Ellie’s passion is baking. Aside from the fact that she has to see doctors more often than she would like because of her cerebral palsy, her mother is overprotective. Her grandfather is suffering from dementia and so Ellie and her mother have decided to move in with their elderly relatives to help. The transition to a new school signifies a new beginning for Ellie, as she meets new people and begins to feel a sense of belonging. Roll With It is a wonderful book that tackles a wide range of issues while maintaining a sense of humor and likability.

Stanley is likely to be alright.

through the authorship of Sally J Pla

While reading this book, I couldn’t stop laughing. Anxiety and a sensory processing disorder plague Stanley Fortinbras. Even worse, he has been known to pass out on occasion. However, he has a passion for comics trivia and overcomes his fears to join his eccentric new neighbor on a massive comics trivia treasure hunt. Stanley works hard to overcome his difficulties in order to win the day in Trivia Quest.

The First Rule of Punk

by Celia C. Pérez

Children who enjoy graphic novels will enjoy Pérez’s book because it features text interspersed with collage illustrations and excerpts from Mal’s zines, a format that will appeal to readers who enjoy books like Smile. Mal is a self-described punk, but her mother and the school administration don’t get it. So Malgoes out to try and persuade them.

Pie in the Sky

Pie in the Sky

by Remi Lai

You’ll laugh out loud and cry with Lai’s story of a boy and his mother and younger brother who move to Australia. Jingwen, an 11-year-old Chinese boy, is depicted in comics as he struggles to learn a new language and adapt to a new culture. Grieving over the death of his father, Jingwen and his younger brother enjoy baking cakes together. This is a fantastic book.

Liar (The Scarab Beetle #2)

by C.L. Stone

A liar is even more depraved than a thief.

Finally, Kayli Winchester can put her criminal past behind her and live a law-abiding life. Now that she’s had enough of being the bad girl, she’s going to be the good girl.

There is still no word on the whereabouts of Wil. Her search for him leads her to Marc, Raven, Axel Corey and Brandon, all of whom have been kidnapped. No, these aren’t just good-hearted thugs with bad motives. To put it bluntly, they’re thugs. But she’s needed by criminals.

Kayli joins them on a search for a missing girl in Florida as a ruse to draw them away from her brother and learn more about this so-called Academy. Kayli is willing to go to any lengths to protect her brother. She’ll track down the group’s capo. She’ll find out what they’re up to. She’ll work her way into their organization. Moreover, if anyone tries to put her brother or herself in danger, she’ll set them on fire.

However, her defenses begin to fray when she finds herself in the middle of a love triangle with five of her hot Academy teammates.

There is a possibility that she wasn’t meant to be the “good girl.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.